We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #33 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

we stayed in this hotel only for 1 night, our last night in NOLA. we really loved it. The building is modern with wifi etc.. but has managed to keep all its classic charm. Our room was small and had no windows but it was very cozy and clean. The staff was nice, valet parking was a bit pricey. The location does not get any better than this, right in the middle of the french quarter, walking distance to Bourbon street and lots of attractions but not so close that is isn't loud or obnoxious when your relaxing or trying to sleep. The other great thing about this hotel is the court yard. Tons of plants, a pool and table to sit at, we really enjoyed sitting there for a drink, beautiful to look at and a great atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff was great, hotel older but well kept. I love the quarter and stayed out most on each night, I got a interor room, [no windows,] room was darl all day and perfect for sleep and rechargeing for the next night on Bouborn St. Great value, and would recomend to anyone for a pleasent stay in The Quarter

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our family of 4 enjoyed 5 nights here. The location was terrific for being able to have some or all of us stop back at the room between activities, and even hang out in the room while waiting to be seated at a restaurant. I'm a light sleeper, but the room was really quiet. The courtyard was beautiful, and a nice "room extender". We ate even ate a take out lunch there one day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Not a cookie cutter chain type hotel. Our room was elegant and everything about the hotel was utterly charming. We did hear a lot of street noise first thing in the morning but after all, we were in the heart of the French Quarter. Staff, from the front desk clerk to the guys who parked our car, were courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. You can then see all the action in the quarter. Avoid the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

April - 2014. We traveled with a group renting 4 rooms. Every room was different. We were on the ground floor back in a corner with a King bed. Smelled a bit musty initially, but, once we got the air going it was fine. The room was pretty average. Kept very clean. Room 2 - 3rd floor was very small, barely room for a bed. Room 3 - 3rd floor had a small office area off the bedroom which was very nice. Room 4 - 3rd floor had 2 double beds and a fireplace and was a very large room. 3rd floor had access to a public balcony. The Courtyard was amazing. Plenty of room to sit around and visit. The staff was very accommodating. We would stay here again.

The location was great. We were able to walk everywhere. Very near to Jackson Square and St Louis Cathedral.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 324PamC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in a courtyard room (225) April 14th – 16th. The room was nice, clean and big, and the bed was comfortable. The room was quiet overnight and we slept well, but it’s not good for a lie-in as the church bells ring early in the morning. The hotel is arranged around a few small courtyards and one big courtyard with pool. There are a lot of trees, so it’s green and looks inviting as a place to sit and relax. Unfortunately, the weather wasn’t that great when we were there, but I can imagine in the summer sitting in one of the courtyards and having a swim in the pool would be lovely. The location is perfect, right on Jackson Square, and a lot of bars and restaurants are in easy walking distance. For breakfast there were pastries and coffee, if you need a more substantial breakfast there a lot of other options nearby. The price was affordable when we were there, but it varies a lot depending on what’s happening in the city (e.g. festivals, conferences). We would consider staying here again if the price is right, especially in the summer so we can take advantage of the courtyard and pool.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet overnight. This hotel is especially a good option in the summer, when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is beautiful. If you want to stay somewhere with that French Quarter feel, this is a great choice. There courtyard is gorgeous and peaceful. There's a small pool we weren't able to use because of the weather; a little too chilly yet for swimming. They offer valet parking. No in and out privileges, but that's the norm for the area hotels. You don't need your car anyway in this location. You can see St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square, which is basically right outside the door, from the third floor balcony. Bourbon Street is literally steps away, and it is a quieter section than in the heart of Bourbon, yet very close to the action. The location is perfect. We walked to most of the sites we wanted to see, including Cafe Du Monde which is so close you can almost taste the powdered sugar. The streetcar was a few blocks away. Location, location, location. I can't say it enough. Yes, the rooms are on the small side. But what do you expect from a classic hotel in the French Quarter? Great service, great stay. We will stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank brookers528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,356 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,667 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,146 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,254 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing