We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here for my birthday weekend getaway. It was our first time in New Orleans. The location of this hotel couldn't of been any better. You are smack in the middle of everything. I think the furthest we walked was to Harrah's Casino (only about 10-15 min walk) we enjoyed the nice scenery along the way. Bourbon St was only a couple blocks up and Jackson Square was practically right outside the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed talking to them. Our room was nice, I loved the balcony. We'd sit out there after spending the day sight seeing, before getting ready for the night. It was nice and relaxing. The pool looked nice and refreshing but we never got in, nor did we try the continental breakfast. I definitely recommend staying here. We are happy to have found our New Orleans hotel!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    835
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
430
972
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prosper Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for the second time. The first time was before the hurricane, so things have changed. The courtyard setting was lovely, and the location could not be beat. However, we stayed in a courtyard room, which was spacious, and somewhat updated, but the lights stayed on all night in the courtyard, and other people staying there partied literally until wee hours of the morning, and since the walls were paper thin and we were right on the courtyard, we could hear everything. Sometimes the conversations were lewd and from people who had had far too much to drink. We honestly could not sleep, and went to the pharmacy to buy ear plugs. The front counter people could not be nicer, but this time the loud partiers ruined it for us. There are many other options out there, so we would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Although the courtyard rooms are more spacious, there is just too much noise in the courtyard if you...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank judyfairProsperTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After a 2-week stay here, I will never stay anywhere else when I travel to New Orleans. The location is smack dab in the heart of the French Quarter and decor and buildings are beautiful. Having stayed as far away as Slidell in the past it was wonderful to save so much time and effort to begin my tourist day. Also stumbling back to the hotel after a night of drinking feels much safer when you are in the busiest part of the Quarter. Some other guests have mentioned that the front desk staff were not particularly friendly, which I kind of liked, preferring to hang on to some anonymity ... in light of previously mentioned drunken stumbling. ;-)

Room Tip: Interior rooms are best for getting some good sleep as the surrounding French Quarter revelry can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Place d'Armes is a BEAUTIFUL hotel located on St. Ann. When walking out the front door and looking to the left, the Cafe Du Monde is within eyesight. Jackson Square is footsteps away and Preservation Hall is a block away and around the corner. To the right, 1 1/2 blocks away is Bourbon Street. What a fabulous location!!! The staff was friendly and accommodating-we loved talking to them. The continental breakfast was convenient-coffee, tea, danish, muffins, and fruit. If you prefer a heartier breakfast, restaurants were footsteps away. The courtyard in the back of the hotel was beautiful, and it offered a peaceful sanctuary to all the excitement of New Orleans. Our room was an inside room-no windows. The drawback to this is that you have no concept of time. Also, the water pressure in the shower was minimal, so washing my hair took some time. Eventually, I just ran the water through the tub faucet to finish the process. The room was clean, with VERY comfortable beds, and plenty of towels. This hotel is definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KBBtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton
Level Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Daughter, I, and my two grandkids (11), stayed here for three nights. I made reservations on line and ended up having to email them several times with questions. They were always prompt to answer and really friendly. The ladies at the reception desk however, were not friendly and never spoke to us coming/going . . . different crew I guess.

We reserved a courtyard room and were given 112, right off the pool, great location for the kids. Our room was not small and had two queen beds, desk, dresser with TV, comfy chair. There was a safe in the closet. The bathroom had a small sink area and no shelves. We would have been happy to hang our towels to dry if a long towel bar or hooks had been provided. There is a long wall that could accommodate a long bar. (There was a double hook on the inside of the bathroom door.) The shower needed a little attention, water came out in a circle and it took a while to rinse all the soap out of our hair. We had a ceiling fan and great a/c.

Breakfast was complementary and was just coffee, juices, and a few assorted sweet rolls. The Grill nearby is an excellent and inexpensive place for breakfast.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat, it is half a block from Jackson Square. They do have parking, $28/day . . . we parked the car and never needed it. We could walk everyplace.

I hope to stay here again the next time I visit New Orleans.

Sandy (in Denton)

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room near the pool . . . 112 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hoel is in a great location. half block from Jackson Square. Had a room with a balcony on St. Ann street. Was perfect. The pool/courtyard area is quiet and shaded. My only complaint (although minor) is that the front desk staff are not very friendly. On checkin little or no eye contact and very few words.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
306 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is fantastic! This was our second stay at the Place D'Armes and we were here for 5 nights. We had another courtyard room (#114). The room had 2 double beds and was a little smaller than our previous room. Definitely large enough for 2 people (4 people would be cramped). It was neat and clean and the maid service was great as usual. There was a bench at the end of each bed for our suitcases. There was a decent sized work table and enough outlets for our computer. WiFi kept going out for the first couple of days we were there, but after that it worked fine. There was a flat screen TV with 50 + channels. The room had a stale, smoky smell, but when we told the front desk, it was taken care of by the time we got back from sightseeing. The AC worked well and there was also a ceiling fan. The bathroom was a good size with room to move around, but not a lot of sink area. The biggest drawback was the bathroom vent was connected to a heat lamp, so it got quite warm if you wanted to use the vent. Breakfast was minimal - sweet rolls or croissants, coffee, milk, juice, etc. however there are many nearby restaurants that serve breakfast. We plan on staying here next time.

Room Tip: Be aware there is a charge for parking your car in their ramp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,256 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
2,519 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,623 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,159 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing