We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old southern charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford,BC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Old southern charm”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and i stayed at Place D'Armes for 4 nights. It is very centrally located in the French Quarter. It is close to everything! 2 minute walk to Royal St, 2 minute walk to Decatur St/Jackson Square and a 4 minute walk to Boubon St.We stayed in an interior room at the front of the building on the second floor right above the breakfast area. It was spacious and had 2 arch windows for great people watching. We never heard any noise from the breakfast room below. The people across the hall from us were very loud but when staying in a very old/historic hotel, this cannot be avoided i suppose. The courtyard and pool were amazing! The front desk staff were very friendly. There are so many different styles of rooms to choose from and many say that this place is haunted. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachele777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    832
    189
    91
    66
See reviews for
425
960
90
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

PROS:
This charming hotel is absolutely beautiful! Rooms where beautifully decorated (we had an interior windowless room as this is all they had left when booking and where pleasantly surprised). The grounds and pool are lovely beautiful to sit in for breakfast.
Breakfast is perfect, OJ, coffee, croissants and pastries & fruit-perfect start to the day authentically French style.
Location is second to none! I would definately stay here again if only for the outstanding location which pretty much made our 2night trip!

CONS:
Service was very poor. Check in staff made us feel like a complete inconcenience & where pretty much no help in advising us about NOLA.
During check out we stored our luggage and when we returned it was understandably busy-it just meant we had to wait on the bell boy to get our bags for about 20mins. We still tipped him and he looked at our tip & rolled his eyes-unnecessarily rude.
We arrived approx 4pm & left approx 3pm and left our car in their car park. We where very surprised to hear we owed an extra $18 ontop of the 48hr parking we had already paid. Appparently on the day you check out the parking runs out at 1pm-so watch this guys! Just another bug bear (signs state parking is charged hourly or 24hourly).

All in all the location outweighs the negatives and we where still glad we stayed here. They just need to sort out their staff& parking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbo1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic. It's located right by the Cathedral and is close to everything. The one and only down side I encountered was the shower. Poor pressure, poor drainage, and the hot water was not easy to come by. As long as you're not expecting perfection you'll be very happy with your stay. Check-in is not until 4pm... which sucks, but they will gladly stow your luggage for you and deliver to your room after you check in. We were able to take advantage of the day thanks to their great service and hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern side are more quiet and also give you a breath taking view of the cathedral, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I took my adult son to New Orleans for his first trip there, so we decided to stay in the middle of the French Quarter. When I found that the Place d'Armes was right next to Jackson Square, I knew this was the perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chip102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights during July 4th weekend. The location of the hotel is excellent, thus the two stars. The expression "first impressions are lasting ones" was so true in this case. Upon arrival, we were greeted by an abrasive woman named Dionne who was very unfriendly and unwelcoming. We had an additional person with us, as my husband and I were originally scheduled to go but he could not attend. Dionne was snappy and appealingly hostile while she barked at us the additional cost for the extra person. That wasn't a problem, we expected this. The additional fee was $20/day. Then they wanted to charge $20/night for a fold out bed. If there is an additional charge form an extra person, doesn't that include sleeping accommodations for that extra person. In addition, the "free wifi" was horrible. We were never able to get a connection in the hotel.....not even in the lobby. We couldn't even make calls from our room (or the hall) on our cell phones. We went to the lobby to use the computer , and the "nice" young lady working this time told us that she couldn't even get connected half the time.....smh. Our room was so small. It was supposed to consist of one King or Queen bed, it was neither; it as more like a full size. Once we got there, we requested a refrigerator because we were told we could not request one prior to arrival as it was a first-come first-served. The refrigerator was brought into our room later but it had a horrible smell and it remained as warm as it was when they brought it to us, the entire weekend. The two bell men that helped us (sorry, I don't remember their names) were quite helpful and tried to makeup for the horrible taste our first impression of this hotel left.
Oh, and the housekeeping staff.....questioned us when we requested additional towels. And woke us up early on Sunday morning to ask about cleaning our room. When we inquired if they could come back a little later as we were just getting up, the young lady said to us in a belligerent tone "What time ma'am because we get off early on Sunday and we are trying to get out of here. Our jaws hit the floor, never having encountered such a nasty attitude and response to such a request before. We asked then if she could just leave towels since we were not prepared at that time to leave the room. We were told we would have to sign a form stating that we asked for towels only......wow!
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I cared about and I will be sure to never book it again for myself and/or my family and friends.

Room Tip: This hotel was supposed to have free wifi included but it never worked the entire time we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, General Manager at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hotel made every attempt to satisfy. Additional persons charge (more than 2 persons - $20) is standard and published. Guest was unhappy with that matter - tainted other aspects of the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We got one of the pricier suites with two beds so our friends could stay with us. We saw roaches in our room, and one area of the closet actually had a large accumulation of roach droppings. The room we got was very far away from the front desk building. We had to walk in the rain to get to the parking garage. We had asked for extra towels and never got them. The concrete and grounds in general have hills and drops everywhere – everyone in our group almost tripped and fell multiple times because there is no markings when the concrete dips down. The floors in our room creaked and had dips and them, and the air-conditioner wasn't able to keep our room cold enough. The bathroom did not have ventilation, so when ever we took showers half of the room steamed up and got very hot. Not impressed at all with this stay. 2 nights, parking for 2 cars in a run down roach infested hotel should not cost over $500.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derbychick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, General Manager at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hotel is not aware of any insect issues - takes great care with housekeeping and safety. The hotel facilities are historic (circa 1890-1910) including 5 separate buildings that surround a lovely lush courtyard and swimming pool area. Because of the age of the areas, they do include many changes of elevation - actually one of the most appealing aspects of the hotel for most visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

...a winner. Showed up for a week in NOLA woth my sister on my birthday. The front desk brought a bottle of champagne to the room with compliments and a nice note. I had a window room at a great rate on the third floor. The balcony was accessible and though I tookthe stairs most of the time, the elevator was reliable and close. Room was clean and very comfy.

My sister claims hers was haunted and as a skeptic I was just taking it in stride. However, her room definately had a chair with a mind of its own and a photogenic ghost. I think humans cause enough of their own troubles and ghosts certainly do not need to do anything to help us but if this hotel even made mischevious specters feel comfortable and aren't even trying to do so, imagine what you will feel like.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippie558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing