We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel's location made it great for Mardi Gras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel's location made it great for Mardi Gras”
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We have a 4 yr. old and were looking for a place to stay for Mardi Gras in the 20-26 Feb. range. It was about a month before Mardi Gras and most hotels were sold out. My partner didn't want to hear the noise of partying at night in the Quarter, while I wanted to be close to Jackson Square, Cafe du Monde, and the flea market, and I thought it'd be nice to be within walking distance of Bourbon St. or areas of the Quarter where we'd get to hear music, see people's costumes, and take part in the revelry of the street. So the Place d' Armes met our needs perfectly for location--in the heart of the Quarter with Jackson Square just steps away--but we could get a room at the back of the building, facing a narrow back courtyard, so we heard little of the noise of the street. The room had interior brick walls, a fireplace and a nice big window. It did seem somewhat small (especially small bathroom) but it fit the bill for charm and for being a nice, quiet retreat, just a tad bit darkish in terms of lighting. The breakfast was average (adding fresh fruit or cereal would do a lot) but some other places didn't even include breakfast so at least we had our croissant or roll or whatever we had in the morning--and the o.j. was good. We also liked getting a copy of the newspaper in the breakfast room each morning. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the extra security provided at the front door was reassuring during the Mardi Gras time. The hotel is not swank but is charming and low-key, with a lovely, lush garden around fountains in the courtyard. We'd definitely stay here again, particularly during Mardi Gras, when we'd especially want to be in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friend84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    822
    189
    90
    66
See reviews for
418
950
90
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and again we had a wonderful time. We always request the same building - the 3rd floor of the building facing Chartres.

If you are expecting a fancy hotel with all the amenities...this is not the place for you. So don't stay there and complain about it later. It does have free wi-fi and all the usual items one expects in a hotel room. The buildings are 1800's & 1900's so you will find brick interior walls and it can get muggy in your room. The rooms we have stayed in had fans and a/c (although a bit noisy) but it worked well to move the air around and keep it cool. There are signs of mice (holes chewed, not droppings!!) , but most of the buildings and residences in the French Quarter have them. It's part of the territory!!

There are some interior rooms - meaning no windows. Our room during our last stay was a double room with a small room on the other side of the entry door (open, no doors). We needed a roll-away and this small room, under the window, was the only place to put it. Our guest who slept there got quite warm at night since the fan is over the double bed as is the a/c.

We were steps away from the balcony that looks onto the beautiful courtyard, however, with no chairs on this 3rd floor balcony we preferred to sit on the Chartres St. balcony. Be aware that these are 'shared' balconies on this side. So don't expect privacy - keep your blinds closed and be a tolerant of those who choose to have coffee or a drink sitting outside listening to the music in Jackson Square. (We had someone come out at 9pm and tell us to move because they could see us outside!).

The staff is wonderful and very helpful. From the desk clerks, valets, bell staff, grounds crew and maids, everyone made our visit even more delightful. Remember, If you want to have a friendly hotel staff, be friendly to them! We heard some wonderful stories and were given great advice on places to go that were beyond the average tourist spot.

The continental breakfast is basically coffee, tea, croissants and orange juice. Not impressive, but it's free, the oj is great, and beignets every day can get to be a bit much!

The history of the hotel - a former boarding school that burned down on a Good Friday killing the occupants - is very interesting. We first heard it on a Haunted History Tours (ask for Jonathan or Brent or Tina). We had several 'experiences' both stays: the smell of fire, the elevator in our building tends to act up (a floor button goes on, elevator stops, no one is there and several times as we got in before we even pressed "3" it went on for us - no one was on the 3rd floor waiting). There is an interior stairwell in this building that is steep, circular and a bit dark - late one night we decided to take these stairs and my daughter and her friend were both pushed. Not hard, more of a 'move out of the way' type of push. We, like others including some staff, have heard children laughing, talking late at night and there were no children near us. Supposedly a man with a beard, hat and 1800's style clothes has appeared to some; we've yet to see him. But we never felt afraid during any of this - if we did, we wouldn't go back! The hotel doesn't really advertise themselves as haunted and it took a few conversations with the bellman to get him to confess his experience. Just know, it's an old building and things have happened there!

It is situated perfectly, right next to Muriel's restaurant (also haunted!). If you go out on either the St. Ann or Chartres St balconies you can view part of Jackson Square and watch the vendors ply their wares and the musicians serenading. Because of it's location, you feel fairly safe walking late at night, although don't try it alone!

There is no room service, however, the desk clerk will give you a list of places who deliver to the hotel.

It is a wonderful hotel to experience the French Quarter from. Which is why I've already made our reservations there for Halloween 2009.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gia0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Wonderful time. We asked for the same room as previous stay and happy with the room.
The staff was wonderful this visit. We traveled with an elderly gentleman this time and the location just can't be beat for ease of walking distance to the best of the Quarter.
St. Patrick's Day a very wonderful front desk staffer gave our elder friend a ride to Pat O's. He asked for a cab and as she was leaving for the day she dropped him off at the front door of Pat O's. Just can't say enough for the kindness, assistance and friendliness of the staff there.
We will absolutely come back next year.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bskthound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed at the Place D'armes during March Break 2008. We booked an interior room with no window. I was not overly worried about this as I knew we would be out touring all day, we really just wanted a place to sleep. When we arrived, I immediately noticed an odor in the hallways and common area. I truly cannot describe it, but it was not pleasant, also not really unbearable. Our room was of an adequate size but was not clean. The carpet was old, stained and smelly. The whole room had a musty smell. If we had had a widow to open, it would have been much better, it generally needed a good cleaning and airing. I really should have gone immediately and asked to be upgraded or moved, but I am generally not a complainer. The bed was not comfortable, very saggy in the middle and an old mattress. By the time we left four days later, I had a serious lung infection which the Dr says was due to mold/fungus. It would clear somewhat during the day when I was out, only to return with a vengeance at night. My advice- if you book this hotel, insist on a window. It is in a perfect location for the Quarter, the courtyards are beautiful, you won't need a car at all. Tours depart within walking distance, lots of restaurants, the location is perfect! If they gutted and cleaned the interior rooms, replaced the mattresses and soft furniture, they would be just lovely. They have work to do however.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seek2know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

My husband and I stayed there for a few days during mardi gras and we enjoyed it! The room overlooked Chartres street and there was a balcony right outside our room which made it feel like our own! Surprisingly there wasnt any noise to disturb us during the night so we slept well! The bathroom was clean as well. We did have a problem with the cleaning service since they didnt come everyday that we were there and we had to call for extra soap etc but that wasn't a big deal cause we were there for a short period! The carpet int he rooms and the hallway seemed to need updating though, since it appeared very old...

The courtyard and tiny pool added to the quaint ambiance of this hotel! One of the ladies at the front desk was very friendly and helpful which we appreciated since we are not from the US!

I wished the breakfast offered healthier options though, like one fruit and toast or cereal...

The location was the best, easy to get to restaurants etc We enjoyed our stay in New orleans, loved the restaurants especially Acme Oyster House, Cafe du Monde, Angeli's, LA Pizza Kitchen and the Gumbo Shop!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ADM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We were not impressed by the lack of friendliness of the staff, but hotel was more than adequate, with wonderful location. The courtyard is just beautiful. I would probably stay again, thanks to the location.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texarkanababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. You can't beat the location. Just steps from the famous Jackson Square and central to everything in the French Quater. Very quaint with cute courtyards and nice rooms. We had a nice sized King Room with a 4 poster bed and very large tub. Our only complaint was that the free wifi did not work inside our room, so I had to go sit out in the courtyard to access it. (And it just happened to be freezing cold during our stay.) The courtyard was nice but could have used a bit of trimming and the pool was dirty, even though it was too cold to use anyway.

The free breakfast consisted only of croissants and danish with coffee and juice. Nothing to write home about, but the hotel is just down the street from the famous Cafe Du Monde, so you hop over there for beignets and cafe au lait. We also trecked over to Johnny's Po Boys for some great breakfast subs.

The service was fine, we had no issues. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
1,191 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
592 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
2,427 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
2,972 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#55 of 161 in New Orleans
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing