We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

I had a very pleasant stay. The stay was more than helpful and the location is hard to beat being right off of Jackson Square.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    835
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
430
972
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Booked this 5 months ago only to be found we were placed in a terrible room. Returned from a walk around town on first evening to find an infestation of flying termites. Had to complain hard to be moved to another hotel. Was told this was the second infestation in the last couple of days. Room had a terrible musty smell. Beware!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I was traveling thru with my mom who was an original french quarter native in the 70's. I booked this room using a travel site, not really knowing what i was getting myself into but hoping to pick somthing my mom would just love. It was golden! The location was right smack dab in the middle of it all, just a short walk from Burbon st for those partiers, close to the cathedral, river and of course Cafe du Monde. It's nice to be able to walk everywhere! We took a ghost tour and the hotel was actually highlighted on the tour, another thing i didn't realize...i'm a scardy cat so i had trouble sleeping after hearing that (nothing scary happend tho :)

The only negative I had was the windowless rooms, i guess i just like to have natural light, but other than that it was the topping on the cake of my week in New Orleans

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merapi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed here for three nights and it was not bad at all. The room was very clean upon entering. The only thing we had trouble with was exchanging our towels. The first day we asked they were never changed out,it was not until the second day that we got new towels which was okay but be sure not to place "do not disturb" sign on outside of door if you are awaiting anything. The maid told us to put it on the do not disturb side and that she would bring us new towels but never did. I think they get confused of which rooms need what, you are safer placing the maid service needed sign if you need anything.

The night before we were to check out the receptionist arranged for our taxi in the morning. It was 28.00 flat rate which was excatly what it should be. That was a great relief not to have to wake up early to call for one yourself!

The hotel is in a great location, and all was well. It was alittle musty smelling but then again its over 100 years old, and we had an inside room so we somewhat expected that.

Our only complaint was that you could hear your neighbors through the wall..... so sleep with the tv on if you happen to get stuck being booked near people who come in all hours of the night and want to make some noises you don't want to hear. It is new orleans though so you can only expect so much quiet. The pipes also make a wierd noise when the people above you run their water.

For the rate we paid, the eagerness of the staff to assist us with anything we needed, and the location you can't go wrong here. If you want to play it safe then get an outside room with a window, and follow my advice with the door hanger for maid serivce/do not disturb.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hthrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Just off Jackson Square and within very easy walking distance to Cafe DuMonde, the location is perfect. However, when booking be sure to secure a room with a balcony to the street or that accesses the relaxing courtyard. They have older rooms at the very back at the hotel that looks out onto nothing but a wall and requires a torturous climb up narrow stairs. The better rooms can be accessed by an elevator. They serve breakfast (croissants and coffee) and make newspapers available.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckRutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

This boutique hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter, walking distance to all the major attractions which tipify the New Orleans French Quarter. Although the building shows its age, it is well maintained and a true value for anyone interested in being in the heart of the French Quarter. There is a small swimming pool within the quaint courtyard which is lushly landscaped with many plants and some magnificent magnolia trees. While there is no restaurant on the premises, a continental breakfast is served int he morning and excellent restaurants are steps away. The staff is always friendly and helpful making for a very comfortable stay.

Having lived in and visiting New Orleans many times, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasGirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orelans, LA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This hotel far exceeded our expectations, even by locals' standards. It was more convenient, authentic and charming than most of the five star New Orleans hotels.

We stayed on a Thursday night because we had an early photo shoot in Jackson Square on Friday. As the Place d'Armes is right across the street and gets great reviews we thought we'd give it a try. We are both from New Orleans, but neither of us had stayed at this hotel before. We wanted a balcony room so we could take some pictures with the cathedral in the background.

Our first experience with the hotel was the night bellman, Robert. He was possibly the nicest and most positive person on the face of the earth. We weren't in the best of moods when we arrived late after a full workday and a long drive, but by the time we got to our room, his attitude had completely turned ours around.

The room was much larger than we had expected with very high ceilings, perhaps 15'. Floor to ceiling windows, great morning light. Our room also had a small alcove with a large mirror and table by a window where my wife could get ready. The large balcony was fantastic with a great view of Jackson Square. It was perfect for breakfasting in the Quarter. It felt like living in the French Quarter. The room was immaculate. The bathroom was clean with a good shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Surprisingly, the room was extremely quiet and allowed us to get a good night's sleep (although granted it was a Thursday night in summertime, which is typically slow for New Orleans). The lush tropical courtyard was very peaceful. Parking, which is usually a problem in New Orleans, was convenient and reasonable. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolasgirl504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,255 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
2,519 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,623 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,158 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing