We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, SUPER ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, SUPER ROOM”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I have stayed in several hotels in New Orleans and the Place d'Armes has been, for the buck, the nicest.
The staff was absolutely the greatest.......I mean eveyone...clerks, maids, managers..everyone.
They made our trip a joy and put up with our craziness with humor and patience..

We had a balcony room, #228, and had to go up stairs behind the desk to get to it, but that just added to the charm and gave us an opportunity to get to know the staff..
Being a balcony room it could get a little loud outside, but that's just part of the New Orleans experience. We could see Jackson Square from pur balcony
If you're looking for a peaceful vacation New Orleans should not be your destination.

The courtyard and pool area is very nice and clean......

I LOVE THIS PLACE AND WILL RETURN.................

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    835
    193
    91
    66
See reviews for
428
970
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paragould, Ar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I travel quite a bit and decided on this hotel due to it's location. If you want location, this is the place to stay. I will warn you that the staff is 50/50 on being polite. Our check in was slow and they kept no records of our reservation. I didn't bring our vouchers from the website that I booked from and they were going to make me go across the street and pay to use a computer to print it. Thank goodness I had my iphone. The beds and pillows are terrible and the air-conditioning was not good. We did somehow get a balcony room (302) which was nice, but could hear every drunk making noise throughout the night. If you are a sound sleeper and beds don't matter, then stay here. You will not find a better location. You also should be warned that it is haunted, and you can google that info. I will not stay here again. It is a beautiful hotel and has a nice courtyard, but I feel that if the management would run it better it would have potential to be a 4 star hotel. I hope this review isn't to harsh, but I must say that they need to work on the updating of the bedding and rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

I had a very pleasant stay. The stay was more than helpful and the location is hard to beat being right off of Jackson Square.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Booked this 5 months ago only to be found we were placed in a terrible room. Returned from a walk around town on first evening to find an infestation of flying termites. Had to complain hard to be moved to another hotel. Was told this was the second infestation in the last couple of days. Room had a terrible musty smell. Beware!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I was traveling thru with my mom who was an original french quarter native in the 70's. I booked this room using a travel site, not really knowing what i was getting myself into but hoping to pick somthing my mom would just love. It was golden! The location was right smack dab in the middle of it all, just a short walk from Burbon st for those partiers, close to the cathedral, river and of course Cafe du Monde. It's nice to be able to walk everywhere! We took a ghost tour and the hotel was actually highlighted on the tour, another thing i didn't realize...i'm a scardy cat so i had trouble sleeping after hearing that (nothing scary happend tho :)

The only negative I had was the windowless rooms, i guess i just like to have natural light, but other than that it was the topping on the cake of my week in New Orleans

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merapi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed here for three nights and it was not bad at all. The room was very clean upon entering. The only thing we had trouble with was exchanging our towels. The first day we asked they were never changed out,it was not until the second day that we got new towels which was okay but be sure not to place "do not disturb" sign on outside of door if you are awaiting anything. The maid told us to put it on the do not disturb side and that she would bring us new towels but never did. I think they get confused of which rooms need what, you are safer placing the maid service needed sign if you need anything.

The night before we were to check out the receptionist arranged for our taxi in the morning. It was 28.00 flat rate which was excatly what it should be. That was a great relief not to have to wake up early to call for one yourself!

The hotel is in a great location, and all was well. It was alittle musty smelling but then again its over 100 years old, and we had an inside room so we somewhat expected that.

Our only complaint was that you could hear your neighbors through the wall..... so sleep with the tv on if you happen to get stuck being booked near people who come in all hours of the night and want to make some noises you don't want to hear. It is new orleans though so you can only expect so much quiet. The pipes also make a wierd noise when the people above you run their water.

For the rate we paid, the eagerness of the staff to assist us with anything we needed, and the location you can't go wrong here. If you want to play it safe then get an outside room with a window, and follow my advice with the door hanger for maid serivce/do not disturb.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hthrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Just off Jackson Square and within very easy walking distance to Cafe DuMonde, the location is perfect. However, when booking be sure to secure a room with a balcony to the street or that accesses the relaxing courtyard. They have older rooms at the very back at the hotel that looks out onto nothing but a wall and requires a torturous climb up narrow stairs. The better rooms can be accessed by an elevator. They serve breakfast (croissants and coffee) and make newspapers available.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckRutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,251 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
2,511 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,141 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,620 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing