We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Beautiful as Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #33 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2006

We have been staying at the Place D'Armes for 18 years. We were so glad to see it weathered the storm in fine shape. We had a beautiful, large courtyard room on the back courtyard (circular fountain). The breakfast croissants were fresh and delicious-so nice not to have to worry about breakfast, although the Cafe DuMonde is a few blocks away.

Please see our pictures-the Place is an authentic NOLA experience. The staff is helpful and friendly, too.

Always our first choice in New Orleans,

Janet and Bruce from Michigan

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mitla96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
There are newer reviews for Place d'Armes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,136 - 2,142 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2006

A group of us stayed there after delivering donated emergency vehicles to Mississippi. We had no reservations, we just drove up to it late one night. What a lucky find. The location can't be beat, you can walk everywhere in the French Quarter. The staff is friendly and helpful. They also have a garage which is a plus if you are driving. The hotel is charming. Parts of it are two hundred years old and its interior courtyard is lovely. Staying there gives guests a special insight into what actually living in the Quarter must be like. Rooms are spacious and done nicely, but be sure you get one opening onto the courtyard or the balcony, not an interior room with no window. I much preferred it to some chain hotel, especialy for staying in New Orleans where antiquity is such a big part of the draw.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunnyflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 27 December 2005

Once again my family and I had a wonderful experience staying at the Place d'Armes. Seeing as this was my best friend's first trip to N.O, I was anxious to show off the hotel that I had always raved about. Needless to say, she was over the moon with the Place and can't wait for her next visit; summer of 2006, here we come!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2005

I am from New Orleans and came back home to survey the damage to my home. After a terrible day trying to clean up my home, I came to the French Quarter on a rumor that the Place D'Armes was open. I went right in, and got a room. The hotel looks fabulous and has had a thorough cleaning! Very little evidence of the hurricane(the courtyard is a little more bare now-tree damage) but still is manicured and gorgeous! The staff were all wonderful, kind, caring, and considerate! My whole stay was topnotch, like an oasis in the middle of chaos! My hats off to the hotel and its staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uptownalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2005

My family and I now only stay at Place d'Armes Hotel. We try to go at least once a year to New Orleans. I have stayed in several hotels in several locations throughout the city. The location is excellent - right next door to St. Louis Cathedral. a french bakery, great shopping. Cafe DuMonde, the street artists, and frotune tellers. You get a great feel for the unique quality this city has to offer.

The staff is very accomodating. By far the best place to stay in the Big Easy!

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2005

We have been staying at this hotel for the past 15 yrs during our annual visit to New Orleans; it is centrally located in the French Quarter for walking and exploring in the Quarter; the people from the manager down to every maid in the hotel are excellent; SERVICE is their first, middle and last name; and everything is done w/a SMILE. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in the Quarter other than this delightful small hotel w/atmosphere galore.

4  Thank sueflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus
13
Reviewed 9 September 2005

We spent our delayed honeymoon (14 years after marrying) in New Orleans at the Place d'Armes Hotel - it was wonderful. We knew the week would be special as we arrived at the front door - we were greeted by the concierge with all the charm of a southern gentleman, front desk clerks were very pleasant and made every effort to welcome us to this quaint hotel. A continental breakfast was available every morning for guests, the rooms are tucked in small courtyards and security is very good at the hotel as the courtyards do not open directly onto any streets. In the courtyard there are several café sets and benches for quiet reading and relaxation all under the shade of very old trees. There is wireless service available for laptops throughout the courtyard and a small pool for relaxing. Staff was always pleasant – after all they are real Southerners! The quaint room was clean and comfortable for a weeks stay. The only negative was that the carpet seemed to be a bit worn and if replaced would make the rooms just about perfect. Service during our week stay was above average.

We let the staff know that we wanted to venture beyond the regular tourist attractions on Bourbon Street (one block away) and Jackson Square (half a block away) to experience New Orleans for its charm, hospitable people, wonderful jazz and historical sites. They willingly directed us to great dining and wonderful music. We walked comfortably 8 blocks to Frenchman Street to local jazz clubs and dinner without any fear.

We received more value than expected. We paid approximately $104 per night during our stay. When we return to New Orleans, we will stay at the Place d’Armes Hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,335 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
2,632 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,978 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,721 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 166 in New Orleans
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £91 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing