We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Mesquite
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the French Quarter”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We have stayed at several historic hotels in the French Quarter, but the Place D Arms is by far the best one we have stayed in. We flew in on 2/4 from Dallas and arrived around 9:45 a.m. it was cool and raining and we were not supposed to be able to check in until 4:00 p.m., but they took our cell phone number and called us at 12:00 noon and said that our room was ready. The front desk staff and the bellman are very friendly and helpful.....just excellent staff members. Our room was very very charming, clean and comfortable. I think we have found our "home away from home" from now one when we visit New Orleans. Could not have had a better experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghoulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    841
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
439
977
94
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

When you think of New Orleans you think of tropical courtyards, old buildings, the French Quarter, and good food. This place is all of that or within walking distance of whatever you could possible need or want. The place is a combination of like 5 buildings, but all rooms seem to be charming. The front desk is helpful but its best if you make your own choices about fun and food considering there are like 200 within a mile. Make sure you try the local Abita beer, very good and fairly cheap. Also go to Johnny's for lunch, kind of cheap and has every sandwich you could ever desire. If this is your first time to NOLA please understand it smells and everything is not perfect but has more culture and history than almost any place in the U.S.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timfullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at Place d'Armes for 3 nights. This was our 2nd time to New Orleans but our first stay at this hotel. I always look for the “charm factor” when I stay at a hotel or inn and Place d’Armes had this in abundance! The courtyard is lovely with the lush gardens, brick patios; and the coolness of the pool and fountains adds to the ambiance. The buildings exude centuries of history; each one unique and different.

We were visiting in January when it was cold and we did not plan to spend much time inside our room. We selected an interior room and it suited us perfectly. The price was an unbelievable value for our needs. The room was clean and well-stocked with toiletries and towels. The bed was very comfortable. The hot water at the sink faucet did make a loud noise on occasion but I chalked that up to the quirkiness of an ancient building.

It is true, in an interior room there were no windows and the room was dimly lit. Perhaps because of this, it was quiet and dark and perfect for a good night’s sleep. However, if I were going to spend much time in the room other than sleeping, I would probably prefer a courtyard room.

The location is Fantastic. It is centrally located and close to everything in the Quarter, but still very quiet at night.

Breakfast was very simple but good. It is nice to have the opportunity to have a complimentary cup of coffee, orange juice and a Danish before heading out for the day.

The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants, providing directions, arranging taxis, whatever was needed. We were greeted with a smile and provided with courteous service every time we had a question.

I will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a unique French Quarter experience and this will be my first choice for return visits. If you are a traveler that is drawn to vintage, antiques, olde world charm and character and does not mind the idiosyncrasies of older buildings than you will love it here. If you prefer the consistency of a new and modern chain hotel than this hotel may not suit you.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Augustmoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The hotel is in authentic townhouses just off Jackson square, one block from Cafe du Monde. A generic hotel building just wouldn't have been the same in such a rich architectural place as the French Quarter. The continental breakfast was a nice touch. The room could have used a good scrubbing and carpet cleaning, but the cleaning staff did a good job of day-to-day cleaning service. It definitely was not luxurious, but we stayed in the cheapest rooms they had. A better type of room probably would have been nicer, though.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Interdisciplinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I have stayed all over the french quarter. I happened to be lucky enough to get room 222. It is super BIG! It is a courtyard room on the second floor with a living/kitchen area, 2 king beds and a huge bathroom. Old ...yes...but everything in New Orleans is old. I wouldnt call it outdated by any means...Very nice room. My mom and my little grandson had an interior room with no windows and it was even nice. The pool was great . Our valet guy even ran across the street for us and brought us some cold beer to drink by the pool. The location cant be beat...when you walk out the front door you are practically at jackson square. I will be leaving Indiana in the morning to head back down to the quarter....I have booked room 222 Again !!! (Jan 26, 2010)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marimari812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

From the old creaky staircases to the elegant rooms with real brass keys, there is a feel in the courtyards and halls of this hotel that brings back old memories of a south long forgotten. It is truly a step back in time

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabroussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

we booked the room from one of these online services(ends up not being much cheaper than booking directly with the hotel after all the fees are tacked on), we didn't get the type bed we wanted or reserved when we finally checked in, and the clerk said there was no guarantee(even though it was pre-paid), plus the room had a heater that was so loud it vibrated the entire wall. So they gave us a different room the second night which was ok, and since we didn't pay for it in advance they wouldn't let us stay there our third night, as it was booked by someone else. doesn't make sense since we paid in advance for our first room, and basically got the schleppiest broken down room they had. So we went to the holiday Inn in the french quarter instead and it was much better. what a headache the Place d' Armes was! it is not a 5 star hotel by any means, you have to kiss [--] with the staff to get anything done, as they always know they will have business from unsuspecting tourists in the french 1/4.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank review1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,307 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,591 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,843 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 164 in New Orleans
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing