We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service - Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2006

The staff, location, and atmosphere of this boutique hotel were fantastic. I stayed there for 4 nights for a small conference. I checked in with a co-worker and we each prefered the room the other one had received. Since each room is different, they let us look at the rooms before we checked in. The manager was very accomodating, switching our rooms and ensuring that our stay was wonderful. They had excellent suggestions for restaurants - not all of the French Quarter restaurants are open yet, so it was helpful to know where to go. The courtyard garden was gorgeous - the flowers extraordinary. I felt like I had all of the amenities of today, but that I had traveled back in time to the 1800's. In addition, the location was amazing! All-in-all, the perfect New Orleans hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LPTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,215 - 2,221 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2006

My wife and I have just spent a wonderful holiday in New Orleans and stayed from the 10th July to the 19th July 2006 at the Place D'Armes Hotel,in St.Annes Street,New Orleans deep in the heart of the French Quarter,and one minute (overlooking) Jackson Square.
After our drive from Orlando,Florida we suddenly found ourselves at home.
From the outset we were given a warm smile and welcome which lasted throughout our stay.
The atmosphere of the Hotels pool and garden (my wife called it the Secret Garden after the well known novel) were,indeed,something to remember.
Although our visit was to enjoy the Jazz and the vibrant life of Bourbon Street it was a pleasure to retreat back to our haven.
My reccomendation is based upon what the Place D'Armes is,and what it meant to us,two travellers from Norway.
I would honestly reccomend it to anyone,and the 5 stars I have given is deservedly so.

4  Thank Eltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

If you want to feel like you've stepped back in history, this is the place to stay. The courtyard is fabulous! You feel a part of being in another time. The rooms have such detail-wood beams, brick walls, french doors. Plus you are right at the center of the French Quarter. Cafe du Monde, the French Market, Jackson Square, Royal Street with all the galleries, etc is all within a block or two from your hotel. I brought 2 children with me and they really liked the hotel. The courtyard pool was a welcome relief after touring and the location provided quick and easy access to attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CSLTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Our stay was wonderful. The PlaceDarmes is located right in the heart of the French Quarter, literally feet from just about anywhere. The Hotel was in great shape, the staff was very helpful and attentive, the courtyards were spectacular. We didnt go swimming but saw several people enjoying the pool. The room was right over the courtyard and cold and cozy. We would go back anytime.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank pmackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lynchburg, VA
13
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Our family (mom, dad, 3 kids--10-15) stayed her July 3, 2006. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and huge--plenty of room for the roll-away bed we needed and still lots of space. We absolutely loved the atmosphere and location. Our room was an interior courtyard room and was completely silent! We wish we'd stayed 3 nights and skipped going to the beach!! The French Quarter was fabulous and we were so close to everything--So glad we stayed at Place D'Armes instead of the convention center as origianlly planned! We were right around the corner from the cathedral at Jackson Square and about a block from Cafe Du Monde--perfect! One note: cars are parked up on the roof by valet via elevator--had we known, we would have left most of our stuff in the car and taken only what we needed for the one night into the room with us--it was a 2-week adventure, we had a lot of stuff...No problem, but good to know for our next visit. One of the best vacation nights we've ever spent!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

This hotel is arguably one of the best locations in the entire French Quarter. Literally steps away from Jackson Square and Cafe Du Monde and just a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street and the French Market, it is just a short walk away from any of the attractions of the French Quarter.
We recently stayed there in July, so the location was especially good, because you can go back and cool off for a while before you take off on another adventure. Because of the summer season, especially great rates are available (go to the hotel web site for the best prices) We are frequent New Orleans visitors, although this was our first trip back since the hurricane.
It is quintessential French Quarter. It has a lovely courtyard and small pool. A small but cozy lobby.There are balconies and french doors opening to the courtyard. We've have never stayed in one of the interior rooms (no windows), and I would recommend you pay the little extra for the courtyard rooms.
A continental breakfast (croissants, cinnamon rolls, coffee, tea and juice) is available. Valet parking is right next door and convenient (20$ per night) The staff was friendly and helpful and I think appreciative of the tourist visits.
Not a fancy place, and a little worn around the edges but a real French Quarter experience!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

Place d'Armes--THE place when visiting New Orleans!
We spent a few days in New Orleans in the Spring, 2006 and stayed at the Place d'Armes Hotel. A small, European style hotel located in the heart of the French Quarter, next to the Cathedral and diagonally across the street from Jackson Square.
This was our third visit there in perhaps ten years and we were pleased to note that the service and hospitality were equal to or better than we had experienced in the past. Small but very efficient and helpful front office staff, garage, excellent restaurant in same building, great location within walking distance of many other top-rate restaurants and other attractions. Ideal for tourist or business trip to New Orleans.

7  Thank Gjonesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
1,441 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,782 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
3,352 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £89 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing