We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, fantastic staff, close to everything and cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #34 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We wanted somewhere close to the action yet affordable. The pictures on Place d'Armes website does not do it any justice. The courtyard and rooms were beautiful and we felt as if we were a part of a beautiful romantic movie. The breakfast of juice pastries was just perfect as we were always on the go! Its in an ideal spot for both Bourbon St. and the water front. So close to Cafe Du Monde, Jackson Square too! We paid around the $90 mark for our room. I had initially booked an internal room with no window but decided to upgrade and I'm glad we did. The room was on the 3rd floor and it was quite large. We couldn't fault the room and the bed (the most important thing) was comfier than our bed at home! We'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicSiSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,728 - 1,734 of 2,299 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2010

We just returned - very reluctantly I may add - from a wonderful week long stay at this awesome hotel! This was my third visit to New Orleans and the best place I've stayed so far. The hotel building itself has a character and history that could never be found at a chain hotel. We had a double room with a private balcony overlooking St. Anne's Street. It could be noisy at times, but I enjoyed listening to the sounds of the Quarter and it never interupted my sleep. The room was good sized and spacious enough that four of us were able to share it comfortably ( I should say however that the only time we were in it was to sleep, get ready for the day or rest prior to heading out again for the night). Had the weather been warmer, I would have spent more time lounging in the fabulous courtyard. I was able to enjoy pastries and coffee (provided by the hotel) on the balcony daily with the added bonus of getting to watch the Quarter come alive. All the hotel staff - hi Lynn, Nate and everyone! - were very friendly and helpful. Lynn went above and beyond to assist us with a transportation issue. We already miss greeting them and visiting with them every day. Housekeeping kept us in towels (and soap, shampoo, lotion) and the room clean which was not an easy task since the room was shared by 4 women! The location of the hotel is also perfect, in the heart of the quarter and close to everything! I can't imagine now staying anywhere else and can't wait until I can return for another visit!! It is truely an authentic New Orleans experience!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrshIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

The staff was friendly and helpful, and the beautiful courtyard was like our private outdoor livingroom where we gathered in the afternoon.

Having breakfast in the room overlooking St. Ann Street is an opportunity to see the neighborhood wake up, with the artists setting up in front of the cathedral and Jackson Square. It feels intimate and warm and a real step back in time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuristaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Lovely amenities, beautiful courtyard, terrific staff., perfect location!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank HOTSHOTT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Located on St. Ann near Chartres, it puts you in an excellent location for all the French Quarter has to offer. A block and a half from Bourbon, a block to Cafe Du Monde, a few steps from Jackson Square.

Our fifth floor Deluxe Room was clean, spacious and inviting, overlooking the French Quarter. A great room.

We found the hotel staff to be friendly and efficient, always willing to answer questions.

In short, the Place d'Armes is a quality hotel, providing a great stay; which we would choose again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This place was the epitome of the french quarter, cute courtyard, unique rooms good location, etc. However, the place is old and you can hear EVERYTHING coming from the rooms next to you and above you. My friends and I heard clear conversations from other guests as if they were in our room. Additonally, the room was not cleaned on a daily basis (i swear they only had one housekeeper), they do not have safes in the rooms, and they did not refill things like the coffee or the shampoo/conditioners, etc. It is definitely not like staying at a chain hotel. Also, continental breakfast consisted of croissants and coffee only, not many options. The worst of all were the two woman who waited on us at the front desk. They were rude and unaccomodating, short with us, and just mean. The bell hop nathaniel was awesome though so make sure you tip him well. Would not recommend for a group of girls or guys on bachelorett/bachelor party...more for a couple if anything at all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mxm971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Love this hotel, its courtyard, its accommodating staff, its privacy - yet access to Jackson Square and Cafe duMonde and wonderful eating places all within easy walking distance. Only tip I would give is to have available a brochure on the history of the Place d"Armes and information on the services it offers ,to share with friends for future visits..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasNana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,353 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,663 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,106 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,251 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £94 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing