We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite French Quarter hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hallsville, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“My favorite French Quarter hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2007

This was our third stay in New Orleans and our second in the French Quarter. We had previously stayed at the Prince Conti 4 years ago and enjoyed it so we thought to try the sister hotel Place d'Armes for the Jackson Square location and the beautiful enclosed courtyard. Our room #225 was facing the back courtyard and was very quiet and peaceful. The many tables and chairs in the lush courtyard gifted us with some of the most tranquil leisure in our stay. My wife and I were here 3 days for our 20th anniversary and we were within easy walking distance to some of the very finest restaurants in the Quarter. The front desk provided excellent consierge service in booking the tours we wanted. The hotels and restaurants of the Quarter are leading the charge for the recovery of the rest of the area. We will return.

  • Liked — A quiet respite from the crazy nightlife of the French Quarter
  • Disliked — A cocktail bar in the courtyard would be nice
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kawaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    835
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
429
972
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

This charming courtyard hotel is right off the French Quarter. Entrance is through 1 small lobby so you feel very safe. Everyone working there was friendly, the rooms were clean, the pool and courtyard area were a sheltered oasis, and it was very affordable. We were there a day before the 2nd anniversary of Katrina. I would recommend taking one of the 'disaster' tours that head into other parts of New Orleans and make it clear this is a city much in need of help. However, the French Quarter has recovered. Restaurants and bars are open and the crowds are less intense.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBrevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

I go to new orleans often, and have stayed in over 15 hotels in the french quarter. This hotel is the best as far as location and feel for the history of the veux carre.

This hotel is only one block from cafe dumonde, 1/4 block from Jackson Square and one of my favorite new orleans restaurants, the alpine (on the corner of chartes, at jackson square).

The staff is kind, the hotel is always clean and after my 3rd stay at this hotel, the staff is mostly the same which I think says a lot for how the hotel is managed.

I highly recommend it. If you are a person that cares more about fine bedding and ultra new bathrooms, you will be disappointed.

Oh, and if your into ghosts stories... ask the staff about the boys that playfully haunt the hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Raethetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Stayed 2 nights..
great Place .clean and very personal
New Orleans is not what the news claims to be ...come one come all. great place ..French Quarters where never touched by the Floods..took at tour and looks like New Orleans was agreat place to vacation

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank hmich45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Booked a superior King through the website - decided to spend a bit of extra money for a nice room - sure was worth it! We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor that overlooked the pool and courtyard and was massive . Air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Bathroom was simple but functional and had the added bonus of having a separate powder room area and wardrobe. The staff are charming (especially Frank who works the night shift) and provided us with endless information about things to do and restaurant recommendations. Ladies who serviced the rooms were lovely and even asked me if I needed anything when they discovered I was sick. Hotel is perfectly located if you want to be close to all the action - but avoid the noise of Bourbon Street. The photos of the pool area and courtyard don't do it justice - it really is superb and the pool is a welcome relief on those sticky afternoons and evenings. There is no room service or restaurant on site - but there are several snack machines and drink machines on the ground floor, plus the complementary breakfast they supply every morning (croissants, danishes, tea and coffee). I can't recommend this hotel enough. It was an utter bargain and very intimate and pretty. Loved every minute of it and will certainly stay again when we return to NOLA.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank msmegmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2007

I have been coming back to the French Quarter since 6 months after Katrina. With each trip I am impressed with how much better the town looks and how upbeat the people are. I'm not sure I could handle half of what these people and this town have gone through the last few years. If you haven't been back, you really need to go! I stay at the Place d armes at 625 St. Ann street when I go. The hotel is perfectly located, very clean and the employees are great. Most lost everything in the hurricane, but when you arrive they make you feel like you are their only concern.

Now go on and get back down there, they need your support.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank 360DegreesStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville,KY
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2007

My wife an I stayed at Place d'Armes Hotel from @23AUG07 to @26AUG07. But, our stay was so great that we stayed for one extra night.
The people in New Orleans are fantastic. Plus the ambience of the city is great for food , drinks , shopping. There is a lot to see in New Orleans, even tho some parts of the city itself looks bad. But, it will take time to get back on its feet.
But, I still recommend for ev'rybody to visit New Orleans once in ther lifetime. For mi its like a second home. I'll be back next year an the one after that. Going to Place d'Armes Hotel feel like family an so helpful. Thank you.

Jr. Santana-DeJesus.

  • Liked — Located in the French Quaters.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dejesusscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,253 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
2,518 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,152 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
5,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing