We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and best value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best location and best value”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I have stayed in many hotels in New Orleans, and the Place D'Armes is the one I will return to. The location is the best, bar none. The price is very reasonable. We had a balcony room and a courtyard room. The courtyard room was roomier, but it was very nice sitting on the generous balcony, with a drink and overlooking the hub-bub on Jackson Square. Of course, the Hotel does not have room service, but if you are of a mind to eat in your room, New Orleans is not the town for you. The number of fantastic restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel is mind-boggling.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wampolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    838
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
434
975
92
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed here to be close to the wedding festivities and to be with the wedding family. It was a great location. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We loved that we could relax in the beautiful court yard and walk to the church and reception. We were able to walk to the square and to many wonderful restaurants and bars in the area. We truly experienced New Orleans charm staying at the Place d'Armes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis Tn.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had made reservations back in September but could not get a courtyard room like we wanted. The owner and the wonderful lady in reservations, Barbara put us on a list for an upgrade. 2 days before our arival and we got our courtyard room.
It was very nice and had it's own private balcony. By the way that room is haunted. Keep hearing sounds in the night like walking but we loved it. It's our favorite room now.
Location is the best in the Quarter. Close to Bourbon st. and the French Market.
Staff is very friendly and the breakfast is perfect to get you going.
I reconmend this hotel to all my friends and to you.
Have fun!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooBoos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

My daughter's wedding was in New Orleans in Feb and we booked the PlaceD'Armes Hotel for family and friends!!! GREAT decision!! The location can't be beat!! Next to Jackson Square! Can't do better than that! It is very old New Orleans-so charming with beautiful courtyards and charming rooms!! Very clean, spacious. They serve a wonderful continental breakfast!! The staff is fantastic and helpful in everyway! It has it's own parking. A wonderful convenience!! All of our guests LOVED it!! When my 2cd daughter marries, I'll book Place D'Armes again!! It was the best decision I ever made! A trully great New Orleans Hotel!!! NO complaints!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Last week my husband and I stayed at Place D'Armes for 5 nights. This was my second visit and the first for my husband, he now understands why I speak so highly of this hotel. I had room 401, a deluxe double which was a good size, had comfortable beds and although some of the linens were a bit worn they were clean and abundant.

Once again I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. I know they have received some poor reviews in the past but that was not my experience. I think if you treat them with respect you will get the same in return. Dionne, at the front desk, once again helped me with some questions I had about places I wanted to visit on my own. She told me how to get to different places as well as told me which areas I should not be going to by myself.

I did use the beautiful courtyard more on this trip and can imagine using it much more as the weather keeps improving. We had hot and sunny weather and I did sit in the courtyard several times with a drink. Some guests ate their breakfasts out there as well as sat around the pool or at the tables to eat, drink, read and relax. One thing I would like to see in the future would be small fridges in the rooms. There are drink and snack vending machines and an ice machine on the ground floor but a fridge in your room would be handy.

I won't bother listing all the places that are close by this hotel - they have been listed over and over again in other reviews. I will just repeat that this hotel is in a wonderful location. If/when I return to New Orleans this will definitely be my first choice in hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sukiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We loved our stay at Place D'Armes, the location was perfect! The hotel has beautiful courtyards, and we had a private hallway to our room that was formerly the bridal suite. Our room was not cleaned our first day (we did not report to management) but there were no other problems. Very happy, highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masstravelers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We loved this hotel. It is in a great location, and has tons of charm. The best part of this hotel was the staff. Everyone we interacted with were warm, kind, polite and helpful. Each and everyone of them made us feel welcome and took care of our every need. I will go back to this hotel and i recommend it to anyone traveling to NOLA. ENJOY!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sustys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,279 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
2,560 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 163 in New Orleans
1,633 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,158 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing