We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
sanantonio texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean with great breakfast”
Reviewed 1 May 2010

I was used to better location as Neworleans was a party destination. However the neighborhood was better, good shopping in this area as well, The food good. I ate the breakfast everyday. Take cabs to bourbon area from this hotel too far to walk

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noella041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    161
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
178
181
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This hotel offered a good free breakfast, free parking, and a location that was right in the middle of the Garden District. You're ten minutes from the French Quarter. Special thanks to Angela at the front desk who helped to get us adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This is a standard Best Western with free parking. I liked the location away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street, but my traveling companion would have preferred to be closer to the action. All in all, I thought it was a good value and the women who worked on the desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Convenient free self-parking, nice breakfast, good wifi, lovely historic uptown near Garden District. But I think we got bad room because of Expedia rate: stained carpet, view of nasty HVAC-filled roof, uselessly tiny table/chair, toilet jammed between tub & sink, TP holder in your side, TV inconveniently on side of bed, found dried roach. Painters filled up halls and my sinuses with fumes next day.
Loved handy streetcar and gorgeous neighborhood though, so asked could we get a better room for two more nights. Clerk offered corner room in front for reduced rate (had view, fridge, microwave). She said what time do we get up, hubby said 6 a.m., she said we could get key then; hubby said if it’s empty why can’t we have it now (paint fumes super bad in our back hall), she said key "system" would not allow but come 6 a.m., it's all yours. So I suffered fumes, headache, another night in icky room, hubby went at 6, our new room had been rented during the night!
So we wasted time we could have been seeing N.O. waiting to move or else check out, at 10 got room (it really was nicer), guess what, painters then moved to that hall, but fumes not as bad. Then second night in new room, restaurant below that is part of hotel was as raucous as Bourbon Street on New Year's Eve, then when things kind of quieted really late, two cars got into this incredible honking pi$$ing match right beneath us for 10 or 15 minutes, which apparently hotel chose not to address. All this though, believe it or not, for right price, right room, I would go back for the location, the parking and the street car access.
Highly recommend New Orleans Museum of Art, WWII museum, zoo, aquarium, ferry, Crescent City (used) Books on Chartres, West African restaurant Bennachin's. Ogden Museum of Southern Art has free admission on Thursdays (next to WWII museum). Don’t miss French market, always something cool and cheap there, got a good-size sago palm for $10. Skip Café Du Monde. Read reviews and don’t go to bad touristy eateries.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrytown, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel since I march in the Irish Channel St. Patrick's Day Parade. The hotel was great and it was good having the trolley car and Superior Grill close by. But what made this hotel even better is the staff at this hotel was great. I could not have ask for better service from the staff. The ladie at the front desk was awesome too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCTigerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Check-in was a breeze and they were so friendly! Seriously, the nicest staff I've ever encountered at a hotel. The room itself was pretty average; one King bed, a desk, two sinks, a nice shower. Considering the low room cost, the FREE parking, the free breakfast and the awesome location, it was a great hotel.

When you step outside of this hotel, you will see the street car railings. If you walk the very short distance to the end of the block, there is the street car stop. SO convenient! Plus, this hotel skirts the amazing Garden District so it's in a naturally beautiful setting. Also, the free breakfast in the morning was actually really good.

If you come to this hotel expecting glamour, glitz and 5-star style, you will be disappointed. It's not that kind of hotel. It's an affordable option for those on a budget who want to stay in a nice, conveniently located hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcosClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Great location, right on trolley line in the Garden District. FREE PARKING! Nicely decorated and soft beds with down blankets. Front desk service was exceptional and they took us right in at 9pm at night and gave us a great rate with no reservations. We had a minor issue with the first room (sheets were stained) so we got moved to a new room. Not a five star hotel by any means but would stay again becasue of good service and nice sized rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#101 of 163 in New Orleans
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
319 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn

Property: Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Address: 3636 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing