We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in New Orleans
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Columns Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alder Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Plaza Resort(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Henry Howard Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
342
17
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
17
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagazine streetb bgarden districtcarriage houseother guestsfresh fruitquiet neighborhoodprivate entrancehome away from homethe main housefrench quarterexcellent hostsplace to stayst charles streetcarhonor barrestaurants and shopseach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was exactly what the doctor ordered for a weary couple interested in exploring a great city in a relaxed manner with little time and away from the "too touristy" section. Access to French Quarter, CBC, Warehouse District, etc. easy but not stuck staying in that crowded region. Nice residential placement of the Chimes created a feeling of genuine experience, albiet way too brief. Will return because we didn't have time to get a taste of other areas of New Orleans without rushing. Loved the courtyard for a.m. with java and slow gentle start to the day as well as p.m. "summer sultry evening rest" before heading back into our molto romantico carriage house cottage. Main house breakfast adequate and not too fussy. Great having the fridge access in the courtyard for early eve or late night "libation." Cannot argue with the pricing of this lovely accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubbleWhirlwindTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We love New Orleans, and over the past fifteen years we've visited NOLA at least once per year. We've probably stayed in most of the decent hotels in the Quarter over the years until we discovered The Chimes about 5 years ago. Now, you literally cannot get us to stay anywhere else.

Jill & Charles have created the quintessential New Orleans experience, from the secluded courtyard to the antique furnishings in each room. You have all the privacy -- or company -- you want. You can stay in and enjoy coffee in your own room, or you can enjoy the morning feast they call "breakfast" in the main house. The breakfast table at The Chimes has provided the setting for some of the most interesting people and fabulous conversations we've ever known! Like us, other visitors come from all over the world specifically to stay at The Chimes.

Jill & Charles are excellent hosts, and make sure their guests have everything they need. Through them we have discovered parts of New Orleans we'd never have discovered on our own, great restaurants not listed in the tour books, and learned bits of New Orleans history and culture. Last week we stayed at The Chimes for a long weekend while we met up with friends from another city, who were staying in a hotel in the French Quarter. When we saw their boxy, nondescript hotel room and smelled the stale hotel air, we actually felt guilty as we hopped onto the streetcar that would drop us a couple blocks from The Chimes. But not so guilty that it stopped us from having a cold Abita in the courtyard when we got "home" to our favorite B & B!

Room Tip: The new website is great and easy to use. Book early - this place is popular!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MassonLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A jewel in New Orleans. Jill and Charles have created a place of tranquility for the life weary person. Besides a beautiful B&B the hosts are great. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast in the common room. Fresh bread and cheese, fruit, etc. The coffee is great. The rooms are just what a person could ask for. Cozy, private, and comfortable. The courtyard is a great place to hang out to drink a wonderful glass of wine. Great eateries within walking distance, that is within a two mile radius. Whole Foods a short bus ride away. The Chimes will be our home away from home when our home away from home is to be in New Orleans. Thank you Jill and Charles. Alex and Mula. Dutch and Dane.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambdutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Cozy, comfortable and luxurious, all in one:)! Cool rooms and great location, close to great shops and restaurants on Magazine, a gorgeous home, and decadent breakfast!

Room Tip: room 1 is big, room 2 romantic, room 3 cozy.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joannekeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband and I spent three days in New Orleans over Memorial Day weekend, and we highly recommend Chimes to anyone who wants a relaxing, slow-paced vacation. The rooms are smallish, but clean and comfortable, and open out into the garden, which is full of character and flowers. A favorite memory from New Orleans is waking up early before it became to hot and reading for a half-hour in the garden.

Chimes is set in the quiet Uptown district of New Orleans, and is close enough to the St. Charles streetcar that we did not need a rental car. A streetcar ride to the French Quarter will take between 25-60 minutes, depending on how quickly the streetcar arrives, so if you want to wake up early in the morning, walk out the door, and immediately see the sights, then Chimes might be a bit far from the French Quarter for you, but then again, the unhurried ambiance throughout all of New Orleans is an experience itself, and it takes time to enjoy it.

A note: the owners have a plethora of knowledge about the area. Ask them for their restaurants and sweet shop recommendations – we’re glad we did.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScribblesinBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews