We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Chimes. The breakfast was great but the best experience was chatting with Jill. Jill couldn't have been more helpful, making reservations, suggesting restaurants, and getting transportation for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudialew1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
162
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very comfortable, clean, beautifully furnished. Jill was very helpful with public transportation options, restaurant recommendations and information to maximize our NOLA adventure. There are a number of great restaurants within easy walking distance to Magazine Street - inexpensive to moderately expensive. We really enjoyed La Petite Grocery, Cassamentos and C'est la vie (a newer place) on Magazine. Would definitely return for a stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are most appreciative of all the positive and helpful feedback from our guests who take the time and post on Trip Advisor. Thanks to all of you from Charles and Jill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We loved New Orleans! Everyone at home (Indiana) ask what was our favorite thing about NOLA, honestly it was the Chimes! We felt like we were staying with family. - Family that we liked. The Chimes and Jill are wonderful. The outdoor courtyard is lovely and a great place to relax and meet your fellow guest. Jill serves a great breakfast and chats with everyone. This was our first bed and breakfast experience but we are sold. Hopefully we will feel this great about the next one. We felt so relaxed and renewed when we arrived home and I really believe it was from staying at the Chimes. Thank you Jill and Charles. I will send those pictures soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

In the unlikely event that we ever had the opportunity to open our own B&B, Jill and The Chimes would be our inspiration and the standard we would aspire to.

The whole experience - Jill's friendly welcome, her helpful tips and suggestions, our fabulous room, the peaceful and relaxing courtyard, the main house and it's location, the outstanding breakfast and the banter with fellow guests across the breakfast table (I could go on) - made our stay in New Orleans a very memorable one.

I'm not easily impressed or usually one for giving out gushing praise but, very occasionally, an experience comes along that simply deserves it - The Chimes was one such experience.

I'm struggling to think of a downside to balance things up. The only thing I can think of is that we've been spoiled and from now on all future B&Bs will be judged against the very high standards set by The Chimes.

Do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a stay at The Chimes - you won't be disappointed.

Jo and Frank, West Yorkshire, UK

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dolly-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Ellen, and our dog, Mia, and I had a wonderful stay at The Chimes right before Christmas last year. We stayed in room 3, a small, beautifully furnished room with a door to the street and a French window opening on the courtyard. Since room 3 is on the street side we did hear some occasional traffic, but we're from Chicago, so it didn't bother us. Our hostess, Jill, served a tasty breakfast and joined us for conversation with the other guests, making a fun and lively start to our days of exploring southern Louisiana. The Chimes is on the edge of the Garden District, with it's stately homes, and just a few blocks from Magazine Street, where we found great shops and restaurants. Jill had some helpful suggestions for places to eat, as well. I should mention that while we were out in the swamps or shopping the Vieux Carré Mia spent her days at doggie day care so she wouldn't disturb the other guests. We love New Orleans and look forward to staying at The Chimes again.

Room Tip: Check with Jill about bringing a pet before you book. Not all rooms are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTimChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cut Off, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

If you want a personal experience while staying in New Oleans The Chimes is the place for
you. Blocks from the street car on St Charles but also blocks from Magazine St. with dining and shops. Quite Uptown Garden district neighborhood without the busy downtown city. The personal touch of hostess Jill was nice and friendly. Nice patio area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I picked The Chimes so we could walk down Magazine St to my daughter's house. I had no idea I would have such a delightful B&B experience. The two quaint courtyards on the side and back were so inviting that I just wanted to sit and relax. Jill and Charles treated everyone like family. My favorite part of everyday was the conversation at the bountiful breakfast (see my photos). Charles helped guest plan their dining reservations with his enthusiastic commentaries on local restaurants. Each room also had a booklet listing restaurants by location,style and price. Even going so far as to list their favorite menu selections and why. Luckily the other quests who casually shared breakfast with us were equally excited to talk of their past days experiences which help guide our future plans. You could walk two blocks to the street car and head to the French Quarter or walk 2-3 blocks the other direction to Magazine Street for great shopping and restaurants. We were there for the St Patrick's Day parade which was hysterically fun. I hope to return toThe Chimes and bring friends. Because of the shared courtyard it would be a great place for several couples to stay because it would feel like your own home. There is a self serve stocked refrigerator with soda, beer and wine for a very small fee ( soda $0.60 , glass of wine $3) that is on the honor system!

Room Tip: We chose room #1 because it was the only room available. How lucky were we to find that this was lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants,music and venues, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information you need. Come home to the Chimes in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing