We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and quaint”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Chimes is a wonderful oasis. The owners are very nice and helpful with materials and info on New Orleans. The breakfast is to die for. The pastries and bread and cheese at breakfast are so good, you will not be disappointed. The owner has breakfast with the guests and everyone has different stories about what they have done and what the will do. This is very helpful planning you own itinerary. The location is excellent in terms of getting to main attractions but the area is quiet. If you like small time charm, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitsemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Chimes Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a marvelous time during our NOLA trip staying at the Chimes B&B! Jill and her staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The accommodations were delightful and perfect for the Garden District setting. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. Jill made some fabulous restaurant recommendations, too. We had such a great time that we've decided to go again next year and have already reserved our room at the Chimes B&B!

Room Tip: Variety of rooms available...just depends on the size space you need. We were quite comfortable in...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

My wife and I took our first trip to NOLA the week of Halloween. I found the Chimes on Trip Advisor, took a look at the website, spoke with the owner on the phone, and booked Room #1. Best decision I ever made!

Room#1 is a large, split-level space, kind-of like a coach house behind the main house. The main floor has a nice sitting area with a full sized leather sofa and comfy sitty chair, a table and chairs for dining in the room, a nice flat screen tv, day bed, and lovely bathroom. The space also has a loft where the bed is located. The 'bedroom' is very quaint with plenty of space to spread out, and the bed was super comfy.

The Chimes is located in a nice, quiet residential neighborhood between St Charles and Magazine St. It's an easy walk to a ton of restaurants on Magazine, an easy drive across town to either Audobon Park and Tulane to the west, or the French Quarter and Frenchman St to the east. We rented a car (the Chimes has super easy parking), but honestly, NOLA is pretty easy to get around by streetcar and bus if you'd prefer.

The main home is on the corner. There's a beautiful courtyard with lush plants, a fountain, tables and chairs in a fenced-in, very private side- and backyard. It's a great place to relax between adventures. There is also an 'on your honor' fridge stocked full of a variety of drinks. You just drop money in a tin in your room and help yourself.

Jill the owner was delightful! Very relaxed, delightful conversationalist, and very plugged-in to all that NOLA has to offer. She gave us great tips on restaurants, venues and events to explore. Breakfasts were fresh fruit, really good coffee, juice, a wonderfull assortment of fresh-baked pastries and croissants, and a fresh baguette with jams and a nice assortments of cheese. Jill's breakfast was a great way to start the day.

*** PLEASE NOTE *** If you're going to NOLA to be a big, stupid, drunken idiot, you might want to stay somewhere else. But if you're going to experience the rich culture, excellent food and music, and beautiful neighborhoods, and want a clean, beautiful, relaxing place to return to throughout the day and in the evening, the Chimes is PERFECT!

Highly recommended. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room #1 was so nice. The other rooms also looked great, but this coach-house room had so much chara...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Your descriptive paragraph of the Carriage House just reminds me that I need to spend a night or two there myself.....a "staycation". Thank you for staying with us, taking the time to write this review and for thoroughly enjoying New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This B&B was recommended by trustworthy friends. this was our first trip to New Orleans. Could not of had a better location. close to transportation , ideal place to walk. Jill was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and how to get there. The morning cheese fruit and pastries were o so good. We felt most comfortable here. "Mr Moe (cab service used by the B&B)was on time and helpful. Hope to stay there on our next trip to new Orleans.

Monica &Bob Koenig

Room Tip: Book early
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank monica k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Please count yourselves as some of those most interesting people at the Chimes breakfast table. Thank you for returning every year to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We've stayed at The Chimes three times this year, with and without a car. There's no problem to find a place to park, and it's in a walkable location and near the streetcar line if you don't want to drive. The beds and rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is wonderful, and the fabulous hosts and interesting guests from around the world make it convivial and relaxed. Staying at the Chimes feels like staying with old friends!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shasuzspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

And, it's true....you are friends that we find most enjoyable. Thank you for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This B and B is perfect for a stay in New Orleans if you are looking for someplace that allows you to park your car and walk or ride the street car. We were able to walk to magazine street and drink and eat . The New York Pizza is great for a great drink and some good pizza. Nothing beats the La Petite Grocery. It is as good as it gets. We rode the street car to visit the French Quarter area for dining and shopping.
The rooms and food allow you to get a good nights sleep in comfort and eat a great breakfast before you start your full day of activities. We were celebrating 13 years of marriage. The Chimes and it's owners made this a very special visit. Not the first visit and will not be the last.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatmanadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your continuing support of the Chimes B&B and for telling others about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Chimes. It is conveniently located on a quiet block that is walking distance to Magazine St. and St. Charles. The beautiful courtyard was a great place to chill out when we had a few moments to relax during our busy stay. Breakfast is a highlight here - a delicious continental assortment at a common table where we met wonderful guests visiting from all over the world: our hosts joined us in a lively discussion each morning, then shared their knowledge of everything NOLA to help us make our stay perfect. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which is very small, but very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGKlausner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

And you were both a lively addition to our breakfast table. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 166 in New Orleans
255 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 142 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing