We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B and B, Jill, owner so helpful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The rooms are clean, beautiful and thoughtfully supplied with information on sights, local restaurants, transportation, etc. Jill is just fantastic---her suggestions for evenings of jazz and other music were great and she really knows good restaurants. It was easy to walk to the streetcar and close to Magazine Street for food and shopping. Good breakfasts every day as well. I recommend The Chimes highly.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very spacious but all of the rooms are comfortable, clean and charming. We moved to a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice recommendation. We continue, due to the kindness of people like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast because the location is close to the St. Charles Streetcar and also Magazine St., which has many good shops and restaurants. Our hostess, Jill gave us many great tips about where to find attractions and music venues. The room was quiet and comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful, too.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank FtLauderdale-Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was attending a large convention and every room in the city was booked, so I looked for a B & B, but they were booked too. The Chimes had a cancellation, a very happy occurrence for me. I have never stayed in the Garden District before, and wasn't sure I would enjoy it, but I'm so glad I did. The Chimes is a lovely, quaint, clean place to stay. Jill has a gift for creating warm, welcoming, comfortable, relaxing spaces. She is also very engaging and attends to every detail, even providing a gluten-free breakfast and making excellent dining recommendations within walking distance. The courtyard is charming and the rooms are actually little cabanas nestled around the courtyard making it very private, yet everything is convenient. This will be my go-to place for future NOLA conventions. Thank you, Jill, for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Chimes is a wonderful oasis. The owners are very nice and helpful with materials and info on New Orleans. The breakfast is to die for. The pastries and bread and cheese at breakfast are so good, you will not be disappointed. The owner has breakfast with the guests and everyone has different stories about what they have done and what the will do. This is very helpful planning you own itinerary. The location is excellent in terms of getting to main attractions but the area is quiet. If you like small time charm, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitsemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a marvelous time during our NOLA trip staying at the Chimes B&B! Jill and her staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The accommodations were delightful and perfect for the Garden District setting. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. Jill made some fabulous restaurant recommendations, too. We had such a great time that we've decided to go again next year and have already reserved our room at the Chimes B&B!

Room Tip: Variety of rooms available...just depends on the size space you need. We were quite comfortable in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

My wife and I took our first trip to NOLA the week of Halloween. I found the Chimes on Trip Advisor, took a look at the website, spoke with the owner on the phone, and booked Room #1. Best decision I ever made!

Room#1 is a large, split-level space, kind-of like a coach house behind the main house. The main floor has a nice sitting area with a full sized leather sofa and comfy sitty chair, a table and chairs for dining in the room, a nice flat screen tv, day bed, and lovely bathroom. The space also has a loft where the bed is located. The 'bedroom' is very quaint with plenty of space to spread out, and the bed was super comfy.

The Chimes is located in a nice, quiet residential neighborhood between St Charles and Magazine St. It's an easy walk to a ton of restaurants on Magazine, an easy drive across town to either Audobon Park and Tulane to the west, or the French Quarter and Frenchman St to the east. We rented a car (the Chimes has super easy parking), but honestly, NOLA is pretty easy to get around by streetcar and bus if you'd prefer.

The main home is on the corner. There's a beautiful courtyard with lush plants, a fountain, tables and chairs in a fenced-in, very private side- and backyard. It's a great place to relax between adventures. There is also an 'on your honor' fridge stocked full of a variety of drinks. You just drop money in a tin in your room and help yourself.

Jill the owner was delightful! Very relaxed, delightful conversationalist, and very plugged-in to all that NOLA has to offer. She gave us great tips on restaurants, venues and events to explore. Breakfasts were fresh fruit, really good coffee, juice, a wonderfull assortment of fresh-baked pastries and croissants, and a fresh baguette with jams and a nice assortments of cheese. Jill's breakfast was a great way to start the day.

*** PLEASE NOTE *** If you're going to NOLA to be a big, stupid, drunken idiot, you might want to stay somewhere else. But if you're going to experience the rich culture, excellent food and music, and beautiful neighborhoods, and want a clean, beautiful, relaxing place to return to throughout the day and in the evening, the Chimes is PERFECT!

Highly recommended. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room #1 was so nice. The other rooms also looked great, but this coach-house room had so much chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Your descriptive paragraph of the Carriage House just reminds me that I need to spend a night or two there myself.....a "staycation". Thank you for staying with us, taking the time to write this review and for thoroughly enjoying New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This B&B was recommended by trustworthy friends. this was our first trip to New Orleans. Could not of had a better location. close to transportation , ideal place to walk. Jill was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and how to get there. The morning cheese fruit and pastries were o so good. We felt most comfortable here. "Mr Moe (cab service used by the B&B)was on time and helpful. Hope to stay there on our next trip to new Orleans.

Monica &Bob Koenig

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank monica k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Please count yourselves as some of those most interesting people at the Chimes breakfast table. Thank you for returning every year to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
427 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 141 in New Orleans
690 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
389 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#23 of 141 in New Orleans
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £47 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing