We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chimes in New Orleans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco bay area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chimes in New Orleans”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Loved the chimes in New Orleans. Charming courtyard where we could visit with friends. Nice,quiet neighborhood. Jill ,the owner, made our trip so pleasant by recommending places to go and great places to eat. Definitely would revisit the Chimes. Marilyn Callaghan,California

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creekside9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
162
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Chimes for a few days with two other couples, one of whom had been there before. The Chimes is a bit funky with small rooms and beds so high I practically had to vault onto the bed at night. Linens were nice and there were some nice antiques in the room but overall I was disappointed.

When I think of a B&B I anticipate good food but the food here was just adequate compared to experiences I've had elsewhere. Breakfast every morning consisted of coffee or tea and orange juice. There was also bread and pastries and fruit and cheese. One morning there were hard boiled eggs. But there was nothing special about the food. The owner, Jill, was very knowledgeable about restaurants and attractions in New Orleans so that was helpful. Her husband is maître de at Arnaud's a lovely restaurant so we went there and had a great meal and terrific service. We were comped a dessert and an appetizer courtesy of the husband so that was nice.

There is a nice courtyard where we sat in the evenings for wine and cheese before dinner. So there were a few things that were attractive there but next time we go to New Orleans I think I'll skip The Chimes.

Room Tip: Our friends who had been there before had the best room in the house. It's in the corner and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We had a good time with you and your friends during your stay at the Chimes B&B. Even when we try out best we cannot please everyone. Our breakfast is the best it can be, keeping in mind that our City license does not allow cooking. Daily, the fresh bread and pastries are picked-up, early morning at the bakery, before guests arrive in the dining room. The multiple bowls of fruit are cut each morning as well. It is unfortunate that you had a different expectation and we will look at publicizing our menu more prominently on our website. Thank you for offering your opinion as we ALWAYS consider comments very carefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a comfortable and charming B&B. The rooms were lovely, clean and well appointed location in the Garden District is quiet , beautiful and rich with history. A wonderful neighborhood for walking and shopping. Jill was a terrific host with great recommendations for food,music and culture. Lovely conversations around the breakfast table. Delightful to take a break in the shady and peaceful courtyard reading and listening to the chimes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacaionl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We continue to thrive because of those like you who share their experience. We are most appreciative of this posing on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, AL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Chimes is a great place to stay. It is located a couple of blocks from the St Charles Street Car line in the Garden District so it is easy to get into the French Quarter. The rooms are clean and well decorated and comfortable. Jill is a great host and we enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A few years back, we found ourselves tired of staying in the quarter in hotels. We started our research on B and B's. We tried the Chimes and were very satisfied with everything about it. Great place to stay, quiet, comfortable and a great breakfast. The streetcars are only a few blocks away and some great places to eat are close bye. If you stay at the Chimes, you must eat a meal at LePetite Grocery. It is great food. We stayed three nights this past week to celebrate the wife's birthday. Cannot wait to return. The only place to stay if you want peace and quite, while having all of New Orleans available when you want it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmanadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We recently booked all rooms at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast for our family reunion. The rooms were magnificently decorated with quality bedding,linens etc... Our rooms were tidied each day, to perfection, which was so wonderful to come home to. All our family (17) in total gathered in the Chimes dining room for a well thought out breakfast of fresh pastries,beautiful cheese varieties, fresh breads, fresh fruit, juices and wonderful company. Jill was so accommodating and met our every need and more. She is so well versed on the city and knows all the best kept secrets. The Chimes has a lovely outdoor courtyard that is great for socializing in the evening with a hidden refrigerator that is well stocked with bottled water,soda's,pierre, wine, juices and most anything you desire to drink. This is by far the most wonderful time with family we have ever experienced and we owe so much of this to this wonderful accommodation and the owners, Jill and Charles.
Thank you so much for making our time together so special.
Paul and Jane Lascelles

Room Tip: Since we had every room we can honestly say, any room will meet your expectation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Jane, thank you for posting this review of the Chimes. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you, and your lovely family, in New Orleans. You are all most welcome to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Chimes is located in the Garden District. It is not far to the St. Charles streetcar. Our room was very private with its own exit to the street. There is a lovely courtyard patio to relax and have coffee. Very quiet. Jill was a perfect host - we had fresh croissants and breads daily with fruits and cheeses. She was very helpful in suggesting places to dine outside the French Quarter. We loved walking around the Garden District to see the old houses, then riding down to the Quarter on the streetcar. Note: at this time, the streetcar stops at Louisiana and a bus takes you between that stop and Napoleon due to track repairs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Yes, the street car tracks are being repaired AGAIN. They are finally almost finished. Thank you for posting this review and or letting others know about the tracks. We would like to have you return to our breakfast table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
211 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
252 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 137 in New Orleans
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants,music and venues, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information you need. Come home to the Chimes in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing