We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place to Stay in New Orleans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“My Favorite Place to Stay in New Orleans”
Reviewed 15 January 2006

I have stayed at the Chimes at least twice a year for the last 3 years. My most recent trip was Jazz Fest 2005. The lodgings have always been stylish, comfortable, private, and clean. The owner-operators are super-friendly and offer great tips for experiencing the the city of New Orleans. They put their heart and soul into this business...for example, in the past they have gone out of their way to offer rides to Jazz Fest and back. Their breakfast table is always buzzing with interesting conversation about the city or the arts or the music...100x better than a hotel, I just pray that this little gem doesn't become so popular that I can't get a reservation!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
168
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 December 2005

I absolutely loved this place. It wasn't overly "foo-foo" so it was comforatable. I was disappointed when there wasn't a traditional breakfast but the owner said that it is actually against health department codes to cook! The cheese, crossants, and fruit were to die for so it didn't matter. The part of town was perfect, away from the loud downtown scene but close to the trolley. Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2005

I liked the owners, they were friendly and talkative. However, I took a bath, was relaxing and saw a pubic hair floating in the water. I was so extremely grossed out. :(

In addition, the room needed some work, ie bathroom needed to be repainted. I probably would not stay there again (and I haven't)

Stayed March 2003
Helpful?
1 Thank newyawk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2005

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in New Orleans. The best decision we made was to stay far from the French Quarter and at The Chimes. Jill, (the proprietor), and her family run a simply fabulous B&B.

Our room was more than big enough for two, with one entrance leading directly to the street (so you don't have to worry about sneaking home late after a few too many drinks, which tends to happen in New Orleans) and another entrance to the breezy, central courtyard. The bed was soft, the water hot and the furnishings clean. Each of the six rooms at The Chimes is apparently decorated in a different style: ours had a relaxing Zen feel.

The served breakfast was generous without being overly filling: plenty of fruit and cheese. Jill and her family are truly a part of the experience of staying at The Chimes: incredibly informed about the city, but happy to listen to your own adventures. (Oddly enough, the other guests we met during our stay were equally fascinating, too.) We were even lucky enough to have Java, the household cat, nap with us one afternoon.

The Chimes is expensive, but I don't think it's overpriced. Sometimes you really can get what you pay for. If you go to New Orleans to relax, stay outside the Quarter. And if you stay outside the Quarter, stay at The Chimes.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gjc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2004

The Chimes is a very warm and comfortable B&B. This is a great place to stay while exploring the Uptown District. Walking from The Chimes to Magazine St. or St. Charles Ave., it's hard to find a street that isn't absolutely beautiful. Guests have a lot of privacy here as all rooms have their own entrances to the brick courtyard. The hosts are charming and knowledgeable and we have enjoyed the breakfast conversations very much during our two stays here.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2004

I had heard so many fabulous things about the Chimes that perhaps I expected too much. It was definitely a nice place with a certain charm to it, but it wasn't the lovely place I was expecting. Whatever happened to bed & breakfasts' actually serving breakfast? They had a continental breakfast, but if I wanted that I could stay at a hotel. I stayed in one of the outside cottages that was split-level with a tiny bathroom. Again, let me say the place was nice and I enjoyed my stay, but next time I'm in New Orleans I'll pick another b&b.

Helpful?
8 Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 February 2004

As a former resident of New Orleans and frequent repeat visitor, I loved The Chimes. The hosts were very helpful and we really enjoyed chatting with them and other guests over breakfast. The location gives you a real local's feel and allows you to experience a New Orleans outside the Quarter. So much more special than a hotel !!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 164 in New Orleans
247 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing