We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! I want always to stay here in New Orleans.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding! I want always to stay here in New Orleans.”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I recently stayed at the Chimes with my husband after a medical procedure that left me needing more assistance than anticipated. The courtyard was delightful, the breakfast excellent, the breakfast conversation scintillating. Not only do interesting people stay there, but Jill, one of the owners, is filled with fascinating stories. In addition, she was warm, and kind, and went out of her way to help me out during the unexpected difficulty I was experiencing. It was also clear that returning guests had become friends, and at times, even family. A warm, lovely place, with exceptional owners I'd want as friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
166
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The whole point of a bed and breakfast to me is a comfortable bed, good breakfast and a place that feels like a home away from home: The bed was super comfortable and the breakfast delicious! Jill, the owner (along with her husband) and hostess gets her pastries from a very well reviewed and popular bakery in town. There's also fresh fruits, fresh juice and different kinds of cheese. Jill is also wonderfully welcoming, accomodating and can give you any information you need about your stay in New Orleans. Her love for the city shows in her efforts to make your visit to this charming city the best it can be. Highly recommend...and if you don't trust me, check out her reviews on Frommers and Fodors, a reliable and unbiased source for traveling.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecoganik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
377 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed at the Chimes on our first trip to NO. WOW! I am not sure if all B&B's are like the Chimes but we loved it. The house was built in 1876 and the rooms are so neat how they are decorated. Lots of personal touches. Very quiet in the garden district. You park on the street or in the driveway if there's room but that was fine. Jill makes a wonderful European style breakfast with different breads, fruit, juices, etc. She is a great hostess with incredible knowledge of the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BushkaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

My high school girlfriends and I spent two nights at The Chimes while we were on our road trip in the South. It was a wonderful experience and we hated to leave. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The morning breakfast was excellent and the hosts were a wealth of knowledge on New Orleans.
The trolley (within 2 blocks) runs to downtown and the French Quarter which makes it nice if you don't want to fool with taking a car...parking, traffic, etc.
The area is quiet and safe feeling which we appreciated as women traveling alone. Can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allaboutfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My wife Connie and I were both really happy to have stayed at the Chimes, especially since we'd never been to New Orleans before and didn't really know where to start in deciding on accommodations. Our room was truly cozy without being cramped, and nicely furnished, with a comfortable bed, a good reading light (hard to find sometimes in B & B's), spacious closet, comfortable bathroom with skylight, and french doors giving out onto the courtyard, which would have been a great place to hang out if it hadn't been raining so much when we were there. We found the morning discussions around the dining room table very engaging, the coffee excellent, and the breakfast fixings delicious (fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, bread, cheese, juice, cereal.) Ask Jill to show you her photo slide show from Katrina and the aftermath. Did I mention Jill? She (like so many others we met) obviously loves this city and really enjoys trying to steer you toward its best features. She gave us some great suggestions for where to hear music, as well as some added appreciation for the musical culture of New Orleans, including jazz funerals. Also good suggestions on restaurants, walking tours, and just about anything else we asked about. We are recommending the Chimes to everyone we talk to, and we hope to return soon. I see one of the other reviews says you really need a car if you're at this location. We didn't have one and didn't feel like we missed it. Of course, now the St. Charles street car is back in business, and it's really easy to hop on and get to most of the major destinations, from Audubon Zoo to the French Quarter. And there are many good restaurants within walking distance of the B & B. Also, the wind chimes definitely didn't keep us awake at night. I will say that a contractor working across the street did wake me up one morning earlier than I wanted. I think the rooms attached to the main house are probably a little quieter than ours, which opened to the street along side of the main house. But it's a quiet neighborhood. Oh, bring an umbrella in March. And stay at the Chimes!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homegrown_music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

First time in New Orleans and we weren't sure where to stay. I am so glad we chose Chimes. It's located in a beautiful, quiet residential neighborhood filled with historic homes. The "continental" breakfast is more than that; it was pastries from a local bakery, lots of fruit, cheeses, breads, coffee, tea, etc. Believe me, after eating dinner in New Orleans you don't necessarily want a heavy breakfast! Our room was cleaned every day and the hosts were very accommodating and knowledgeable about the city. They gave great recommendations for trips and restaurants and I loved that we could walk to so many shops and great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kj1Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This is a very nice propety. We stayed in Guest room 2, and really enjoyed the historic feel. There is plenty of room and it is very comfortable. It was also very quiet, even with the other rooms all occupied.

It's an easy walk to the streetcar on St. Charles to get down to Canal Street. It's also easy to walk down to Magazine Street and enjoy some interesting shops and restaurants. The neighborhood is also nice to stroll through.

Breakfast is nice with pastries, breads, cheese and fruit.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoos90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
300 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
926 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing