We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Room and Courtyard with Jill and Charles as Excellent Hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Room and Courtyard with Jill and Charles as Excellent Hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Chimes is perfectly located away from the French Quarter, but near the trendy shopping/restaurant district of Magazine Street. (To easily get to Bourbon Street fun, just take a 20-minute ride on the historic St. Charles Avenue streetcar, which is just a couple blocks away from Chimes.) Our room was just off a back courtyard, quiet, beautifully decorated, clean, and extremely comfortable. We stayed in Room 4... you can check the Chimes website for excellent photos and even a video of each room--very accurate! Jill and Charles are friendly and full of advice about the area... places to eat, shop, etc.... and will help with reservations, transit passes, tour information, and whatever else you need. There is a house kitty, Julius, who is rather shy, so no problem if you don't care for cats. A continental breakfast is served each morning... cheeses, French bread, pastries, fruit, sometimes yogurt or other items for variety (we stayed for 4 nights and had breakfast there each morning -- mostly because it was SO convenient and it was delightful to talk with Jill or Charles and the rest of the b&b's guests!)
This is a quiet neighborhood setting... so if you are looking for an area with wild nights and raucous bars, this is not the spot for you. But if you would like a beautiful place to rest after long hours of touring, shopping, dining, and drinking--Chimes is perfect. There is even an "honor" refrig. full of soft drinks, beer, and wine for a late-night drink on the courtyard outside your room, if you are not quite ready for bed.
From Chimes, you can easily walk to Magazine Street, the Magazine Street bus line, and the St. Charles Avenue streetcar... a perfect location for exploring what New Orleans has to offer, without total immersion into the craziness of the Quarter.
Restaurant recommendations? We loved 2 that were near the Chimes: The Petite Grocery and Ignatius... one high end and one very funky. Both fun!
My husband and I highly recommend the Chimes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notjustanyhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
160
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We didn't want a chain hotel. This was just charming. We stayed in the two story carriage house which was nice because it had a private entrance and was spacious. The room was very comfortable with a daybed, leather sofa and the bed upstairs. The outdoor courtyard was pleasant to sit outside in at night. The hosts Jill and Charles were very kind and helpful and treated us like family. They even treated us to champagne to celebrate!
We enjoyed the breakfasts with them and the conversations we would have with them and the other guests. Breakfast was on the lighter side but filling: french bread and pastries, fresh fruit, coffee, juice and sometimes yogurt with granola and fruit which was reallly good. We didn't always have the best dining experience so I wish that we had followed Jill's recommendations more!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SionnaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Everything about the Chimes B&B is perfection: Located just blocks from the Garden District, guests can "visit" the bustling French Quarter and then return to the sanity of the Chimes' placid and beautiful environs. Parking is free and the trolley is within walking distance -- as are two really wonderful French restaurants (Coquette and La Petite Laundry). Jill, the Chimes' charming owner/innkeeper, serves a lovely breakfast spread of fresh pastries (from the neighborhood French bakery), cheeses, fruits, coffee, tea, and juices. Better yet, she is eager to share her knowledge of New Orleans culture and history. Be sure and ask her about the Chimes' role as the headquarters for the Reuters news service immediately after Katrina; she had our breakfast table of visitors thoroughly enraptured!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klm058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I was looking for a small hotel or a bed and breakfast in uptown New Orleans near where my family rented a house for a reunion. A search of places around this location revealed “The Chimes” at the corner of Constantinople and Coliseum streets a mere 5 minute walk to the rented house. The web site was pleasant and the neighborhood safe, so I thought I’d take a chance and reserve a room for the 5 days I would be in the Big Easy.
As you travelers know there is a great deal of variability in bed and breakfast facilities. Sometimes the images and descriptions do not resemble the reality. Well, the reality of The Chimes exceeds the description and images. This place is WONDERFUL. The guest rooms are behind their beautiful 2 story home in a guest house that they have restored to the unassuming elegance of New Orleans early 20th century style.
I’ve not seen into the other rooms, but room #2 has a four post wooden bed that has provided me better night’s sleep than my own at home. The bedroom is large enough that there is also a sizable day bed, wood armoire, side tables, wooden chest, chairs and a brick fireplace (electric heat). There is a powerful wall AC that provided plenty of cool are (I was there in July). Then there is a connecting room that has a glass cabinet for dishes and supplies. It also has a large wood table that is perfect for doing work or having a light meal. The bath room is large with a walk in shower with an interior seat for those who do not want to stand and enjoy the instant hot water. The bathroom was kept exceedingly clean. In fact these rooms were not only clean and tidy they were dust free with tasteful art on the walls.
The breakfast is served each morning in the main house which is very comfortable. As regards the food, this is what a continental breakfast was meant to be. Fantastic fresh fruit every day and a diversity of baked goods from a real bakery run by French expatriates. The baguettes and croissants made me weep with memories of St. Barts in the Caribbean and cafes in Paris. In addition, there is a selection of excellent cheese each morning. Ask Jill to make her fruit and yogurt salad topped by crunchy granola. I had to retrain myself after having two bowls.
The landlords, Jill and Charles Abbyad either are natural conversationalist or have trained themselves to draw out even the most silent of middle aged guys (like myself) to converse with them and with complete strangers at the breakfast table. Don’t misunderstand, they do not intrude into ones reverie either at their table or their inner courtyard and garden. They did provide me with excellent advice on where to eat and find good jazz.
I had not been in N.O. for nearly a decade and I was surprised and pleased to find that nearby Magazine Street had changed from flea market stores and college bars to sophisticated shops for antiques, clothing, pottery (my favorite) and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. There were trendy bistros with young new chiefs reinterpreting New Orleans cuisine and neighborly places where you could bring the family, have wonderful red beans and rice, and not have to take out a loan to pay for it.
Did I mention how convenient the location is? You walk a few short blocks one way and pick up the St. Charles streetcar to take you either down to the Quarter or up to the University district. Walk over to Magazine Street and get on a bus to just about anywhere.
In summary, The Chimes had exactly what I wanted. It was comfortable, clean, safe, friendly, and filled with New Orleans atmosphere and just plain “class”.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuietTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Fabulous from check-in to check-out. This was a splurge for us and welllll worth it. Fabulous bread & pastries at breakfast, great atmosphere. Three cheers for guest host Andy!! My children enjoyed his company so much that they wanted to stop by and say hello to him as we passed back through New Orleans later in the week.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

Truly a lovely little bed and breakfast. The location is great -- don't be fooled into staying into the French Quarter. This lovely B&B is walking distance from Magazine street, a area with lots of lovely shops, restaurants and bars. Its more low key and almost tourist free.

The rooms are lovely, very nicely appointed, clean and cozy in a non-kitschy or worn way. We loved every detail.

The real special part of this place is the owner who is very easy going and immediately puts you at ease. Breakfast is DELICIOUS and in a huge light filled room. Every choice of coffee or tea is available.

Bottom line: stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

We have visited The Chimes B&B on three occasions. Each time we have stayed in a different room and all have been perfect for our needs. Jill is a wonderful host who provides a delicious breakfast of fresh breads, cheeses and fruits. She offers her thoughts on restaurants and things to do and is always eager to hear about your day and your experiences. It's a pleasure to look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants,music and venues, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information you need. Come home to the Chimes in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing