We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for jazz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frenchmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #50 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for jazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a great hotel if you want to be near to the best jazz clubs in New Orleans. We had a fantastic time here but do not book if you want a quiet hotel in a smart area. It can be noisy but what would you expect being on Frenchman Street. We stayed before and after our cruise and for the second half stayed at the back of the hotel which was much quieter. Be prepared for people coming in very late and lots of revellers and music on the nearby street and you will have a great time. The area is not really suitable for children but a few nights of jazz and fun it is the best. The staff are very helpful and book tours, taxis for you and will answer all your questions. We would certainly return to this authentic, historic hotel if we ever return.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back if you want it a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hey Debbie, thanks so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate it. We do rather love our unique location and yes it is the place for music. We hope you make us a regular in your travel plans. Hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    272
    77
    62
    38
See reviews for
107
392
60
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winooski, Vermont
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

By boyfriend and I spent 4 nights in a Petit Queen bedroom. The room was small, but this was expected. And we didn't plan to spend very much time in the room anyway. Not when you can walk right onto Frenchmen St. Great location and great value considering the pool, hot tub and continental breakfast. The staff is also very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely recommend to friends and return if back in NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hulveykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We can't wait to see you again and thank you for saying that you will be recommending us to your friends. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waretown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Wow this place was great! Close to the trolley and French Market, close to night spots and restaurants. The courtyard and pool area were really cozy. We were travelling with 4 other couples so we got to see several rooms. They were all really neat, bold colors with beautiful furnishings and super comfy beds. The whole hotel was very clean and boasts a hidden deck with a bbq area! It really was a perfect spot for us and we will definitely stay there again! I would highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Jo Ann, thank you so much for taking the time to sit down and write a review. You're very kind and we appreciate it. We so look forward to seeing you all again. The streetcar is also a little bit hidden down in this area of the city. A lot of people don't know it runs this for so thank you for pointing that out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

While rooms may be small, you don't go to New Orleans to hang out in the room. Everything was clean. While the hot tub and pool were the same temperature, having that little pool to take a dip was nice. The staff are friendly. Free breakfast (although the breakfast sammie down the street at Cafe Nicaud Rose was great). Great location for listening to music at the clubs on Frenchmen street and easy walk to the french quarter. At night music may come into your room while you're sleeping though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDNYC60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank for taking the time out of your day to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. I completely agree with you about the Breakfast Sammie. It is good. I wished they delivered. We hope to see again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Awesome place to stay !!will stay agian!! Close to everything !!hot tub is very nice to soak your feet after a long day of walking!!Would recommend to all my friends and family !! Excellent coffee 24 hours!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eke1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
This is very gracious of you. Thank you. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff will be thrilled with the Title. Please come see us again soon and thank you for the recommendations to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

All the other reviews about this place are true! My sister, who had never been to New Orleans, and I came to New Orleans for a short trip. What a great time!
Upon arrival we were greeted by Kenesha. She was super friendly and helpful. She gave us a bigger room for our first two nights. The location is great! Everyone was really friendly. The continental breakfast consisted of bagels & toast with butter, jelly & peanut butter, cereals, fruit, o.j, and coffee. Nice towels, sheets, and comfortable bed.

We would hit the quarter early, then end up back on Frenchmen. We spent some time at the Three Muses - get there early, it fills up fast. Saw a show at Snug Harbor. I recommend getting tickets ahead of time there too. Our last night we ate at Adolfo's. It was awesome!

We will be back!

Room Tip: 301 & 302 have refridgerators/kitchens. I'm sure the rooms on the street are louder. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Wow! You happened to hit 3 of my favorite restaurants on Frenchmen in one quick trip. Thank you so much for your time and your thoughtfulness. We appreciate these kind words more then you know. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Frenchmen Hotel very much. The concierge service was extremely helpful, the French Quarter was just a block away, and the music venues along Frenchman Street were all amazing. Curiously, though the music venues were so close, the room was fairly quiet, so I always got a good night's sleep. The free light breakfast in the morning is a huge plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Schuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
You sound like to true music lovers. We do appreciate you taking the time to comment on us. We love our guests and do everything we can to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. I'll let the staff know that you appreciated their concierge services. Again we thank you for your time and we hope to see again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Property: The Frenchmen Hotel
Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing