We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #50 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location. Friendly staff. Heated pool. Loved it! Stated here for a stay cation when family took over our house and was a perfect place to stay even for a local. Even though on a busy street inside remains very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Rachel, thank you so much for taking the time to comment. It is always appreciated. Hope the family was good to your home while you were staying with us. Maybe you shouldn't tell THEM how much you fun you had or the next time they come into town they may end up staying here instead of you. Either way would be splendid. Again, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was EASY to bond with Kenesha during one phone conversation. All that she'd described about the hotel and the surrounding sites were spot on! Our room was quaint, comfortable, and clean! Loved the art! We were right in the mix of all that was going on in the Quarter.. It was a very short walk to everything! Didn't actually meet Kenesha until the moment we were checking out. If you could look up "beautiful inside and out" you'd surely find her picture. My husband and I have decided to make the Frenchman our April getaway every year!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricasalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks so much for the review. It's always good to get feedback. Kenesha is indeed a rare gem and we are lucky to have her. She'll be thrilled when she sees this. We are so pleased to know that we will be seeing you again in the future and we very much look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a great hotel if you want to be near to the best jazz clubs in New Orleans. We had a fantastic time here but do not book if you want a quiet hotel in a smart area. It can be noisy but what would you expect being on Frenchman Street. We stayed before and after our cruise and for the second half stayed at the back of the hotel which was much quieter. Be prepared for people coming in very late and lots of revellers and music on the nearby street and you will have a great time. The area is not really suitable for children but a few nights of jazz and fun it is the best. The staff are very helpful and book tours, taxis for you and will answer all your questions. We would certainly return to this authentic, historic hotel if we ever return.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back if you want it a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hey Debbie, thanks so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate it. We do rather love our unique location and yes it is the place for music. We hope you make us a regular in your travel plans. Hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

By boyfriend and I spent 4 nights in a Petit Queen bedroom. The room was small, but this was expected. And we didn't plan to spend very much time in the room anyway. Not when you can walk right onto Frenchmen St. Great location and great value considering the pool, hot tub and continental breakfast. The staff is also very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely recommend to friends and return if back in NOLA.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulveykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. We can't wait to see you again and thank you for saying that you will be recommending us to your friends. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Wow this place was great! Close to the trolley and French Market, close to night spots and restaurants. The courtyard and pool area were really cozy. We were travelling with 4 other couples so we got to see several rooms. They were all really neat, bold colors with beautiful furnishings and super comfy beds. The whole hotel was very clean and boasts a hidden deck with a bbq area! It really was a perfect spot for us and we will definitely stay there again! I would highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Jo Ann, thank you so much for taking the time to sit down and write a review. You're very kind and we appreciate it. We so look forward to seeing you all again. The streetcar is also a little bit hidden down in this area of the city. A lot of people don't know it runs this for so thank you for pointing that out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

While rooms may be small, you don't go to New Orleans to hang out in the room. Everything was clean. While the hot tub and pool were the same temperature, having that little pool to take a dip was nice. The staff are friendly. Free breakfast (although the breakfast sammie down the street at Cafe Nicaud Rose was great). Great location for listening to music at the clubs on Frenchmen street and easy walk to the french quarter. At night music may come into your room while you're sleeping though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDNYC60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank for taking the time out of your day to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. I completely agree with you about the Breakfast Sammie. It is good. I wished they delivered. We hope to see again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Awesome place to stay !!will stay agian!! Close to everything !!hot tub is very nice to soak your feet after a long day of walking!!Would recommend to all my friends and family !! Excellent coffee 24 hours!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eke1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

This is very gracious of you. Thank you. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff will be thrilled with the Title. Please come see us again soon and thank you for the recommendations to your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,119 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#112 of 167 in New Orleans
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 167 in New Orleans
1,796 reviews
Tremé
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 167 in New Orleans
354 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#27 of 167 in New Orleans
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing