We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #50 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our first stop on our vacation in the USA, we were so impressed with our accommodation and the service from staff. Very helpful at the times we needed.

Also, this is the ideal spot to stay if you want to hear real, authentic New Orleans Jazz and reggae bands! It's so much better than Bourbon Street. All the pubs are at your doorstep.

Room was terrific, don't expect large room, but it has everything you need. Pool was fantastic!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anneliese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Anneliese,

Thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to comment. Now we are not in the French Quarter but it's common to hear from guests who aren't experienced New Orleans travelers. We are in the Marigny, across the street from the French Quarter (gaping distance I know) and we would love to see you again. It is always so nice to feel appreciated. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went with another couple last weekend. The hotel is very nice, more like a B&B experience. the staff AMAZING.. Wonderful atmosphere. Close to Everything French Quarter.

The courtyard was wonderful. We enjoyed all they had to offer.

THIS WILL NOW BE OUR HOTEL OF CHOICE IN NEW ORLEANS.....

THANKS FRENCHMAN>>>>>>

Valerie Watson and Bert.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valerie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Valerie w,

There is nothing we love hearing more than that our guest had such a good experience that they've made us their New Orleans home. Thank you so much for writing in. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had never been to New Orleans and found reviews on TripAdvisor to be my biggest influence on booking for two nights with the Frenchmen Hotel. We arrived very late (midnight?) and a key to our room was not found so we were on-the-spot given an efficiency suite that has a front balcony with a pull out couch and king sized bed.

The room was clean, although the bathroom could have used some deeper cleaning/sprucing up.

The bed was insanely comfortable and nothing beat going to bed on it whilst bass brands carried on outside. You may NOT want to sleep near the front of the hotel if you would find this disturbing- I thought it was awesome :-) I reflected this in the rating of sleep quality- buit hopefully you are not staying this close to the Quarter to SLEEP for goodness sakes! You are right on the edge of the French Quarter and we found music up and down Frenchmen Street both nights- some places packed enough to have to wait to get in, as well as impromptu brass on street corners. We obviously loved the location. We are late 30s/40 traveling with a 20 and 18 yr old, btw. The Blue Nile, Purple Haze and other bars were directly across the street. We walked to the French Market one block over before walking all over the Quarter both days. I'd park your car and leave it.

We found the VERY warm (in the heat maybe not the MOST refreshing, but definitly nice to not have the cold-shock) and tiny pool quite efficient and super-clean for some afternoon post-imbibing silliness.

The hotel staff was terrific- extra towels? right away. One desk person personally put a hotel-sign in our parking spot in front when we wanted to leave just so we could get the spot upon returning. Helped with luggage or bags. Always accomodating and just what you'd expect from a boutique hotel.

I will definitely stay here the next time I come through- hopefully October!

Room Tip: Perfect Location for French Quarter access ... pick a room/suite away from the front for better slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AngiePK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

AngiePK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. It is always appreciated. We love hearing from our guest that they had a good time. Oh, and just as an aside, all of the bathrooms will be getting updates by the end of the year. So make sure you come back and check them out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed over first weekend of the N.O. Jazz & Heritage Festival. There are strong positives and negatives, so here goes:

NEGATIVES
- Location: the room location right out on Frenchmen Street is not ideal unless you plan on staying up until 4 or 5am each night, or can sleep through anything (and I almost can), including some guy who likes to rumble down the street on his bike and gun it at around closing time most nights (~ 4am). I'm in my 40s, and my dad is 80, and neither of us stays up really late drinking, so we're not the typical tourists. So unless you're a night owl, be careful where your room is.

- Bathroom: the tub in our room was a disaster - peeling paint, two haphazardly positioned bath mats to cover up whatever underneath. I'm not sure what the other rooms' tubs (and bathrooms in general) looked like, but I didn't feel clean again until I got home. See the pic attached. And the sink didn't drain properly, so you'd get backsplash until the drain worked...mentioned it to the front desk, but I'm pretty sure they are aware of the room's shortcomings, and don't likely plan on doing anything about it. I think unless you're a regular visitor or fit some other profile, you'll get this (or another less desirable) room.

- No lamp on one side of the room, and one of the ones on the other didn't work.

- The semi-circular windows (see pic) let in light from the street lights all night...very bothersome.

POSITIVES
- Staff were generally quite friendly and helpful.
- Location: being right on Frenchmen Street is ideal if you want to enjoy the great music and dining within several blocks...impossible to beat. Plus, you're just a few blocks outside the Quarter, and the Mississippi is close. There was no need to do anything but walk everywhere, which is a fantastic amenity unto itself.

I likely would not stay here again, but obviously, it depends on what one expects. I've stayed in $70 rooms that were much better maintained and cleaner, but this is New Orleans, where you're paying for staying in the heart of the city and spending 4x that much...the price for location.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing Frenchmen Street (especially the ground level one) unless you're an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thunderable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We'd like very much to thank you for taking the time to reply. In reality the room in which you staid is in a building that will be taken off the market very soon. The reason you got the room had nothing to do with you're frequency of stay or any other 'qualification' but with your need as stated. We are quite aware of the needs of our rooms not yet renovated but when an event comes up we do feel compelled to provide all the space available to us. I'm sorry to hear that you do not think you'll be coming back. You seemed to like some aspects of the property. Maybe you'll change you mind in the future and come back to see the many improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is very quaint and just a block from the French Quarter. Loved the courtyard with the pool and spa and my room was very clean, nicely furnished, and had daily thorough housecleaning. The front desk staff were outstanding and very helpful about recommendations about dining, sightseeing, etc. Alex and Kenesha especially provided excellent service by helping me secure and keep a parking spot on the street in front of the hotel during my entire stay. The only drawback for me was the noise at night from the clubs nearby but then, it is New Orleans, so I think it added to the whole ambiance.

Room Tip: Rooms in back and upstairs might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Judy, thank you for the kind words. We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay and you have to know that we simply cannot wait to have you back.

Again,
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A shout out to Kneisha, Aleka, and Larry. We were there at their busiest time of year (JazzFest), and they couldn't have been more helpful. We were invited to their staff party and felt very welcomed. The Hotel itself is in the process of upgrades, but is comfortable and well located if you want to be near Haight-Ashbury, I mean Frenchmen Street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Rick,

Thank you so much for the warm words. The aforementioned staff with be notified of your acknowledgement. The reference to Haight-Ashury is especially nice. We can't wait to see you again, and again thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent little place, right near the quarter with a unique charm. Rooms are close to a B&B, free breakfast, great warm pool. I can pick a few nits (blinky light in room, slow wifi) but those detracted little. Staff is outstanding - attentive and considerate. Kudos especially to RJ for helping us with parking and bags. This hotel is a great bang for the buck- stay off the beaten path!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for that concise review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and will let RJ know of your mention of him. We hope to see you here again soon, off the beaten path.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,119 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#112 of 167 in New Orleans
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 167 in New Orleans
1,796 reviews
Tremé
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 167 in New Orleans
354 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#27 of 167 in New Orleans
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing