We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky fun hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #45 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Frenchmen Hotel for four nights. We found the hotel very clean with a friendly staff. Our room was small but had everything we needed. Nice breakfast with coffee available all the time. This was in a great location to hear the music on Frenchmen street and also just a short walk to the French Quarter. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie32570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Jackie,

It is so very nice of you to have taken the time to write. Thank you. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the location and appreciated the staff. It always provides us with such a wonderful feeling when we know we've pleased our guests. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

If you are interested in a hotel with charm, this is the one. We stayed two nights and three days in NOLA. We had a suite with a balcony that overlooked Frenchmen Street. The hotel's location is great. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is very quaint and has a lot of personality. The staff is awesome and extremely helpful. We didn't even have to leave the hotel. We could sit on the balcony and hear the music from the nearby bars, restaurants and music halls. Great location, great staff and great hotel. Will definitely recommend and stay there again! Can't wait for my next trip to NOLA!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julielsPace_Flor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

JulietsPace_Flor,

What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for the ringing endorsement. It is guests like you that make what we do so rewarding. The staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed their service. Again, thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is an older hotel which I loved and made my stay in NOLA memorable. We had a suite with a balcony which was wonderful for just sitting and soaking up the sun and street life. It's close to the French Quarter but far enough away to enjoy your night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerJay630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Jay, thank you so much. We are so happy that you enjoyed you're stay and hope you can make it back often. We do enjoy one of the better locations in the FQ/Marigny area and always appreciate hearing from others who think so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first stay in New Orleans and we were very pleased with it. The room was nice,and very, very clean. The pool was a little warmer, but perfect after a long day of seeing the city.The staff and management were great, even recommended some nice little places to eat. Close enough to walk to all the night life, with several bars just outside the doors. Will certainly stay again, this will be our go to hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

SCSBailey, very nice of you to write. Thank you so much. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. The staff will be happy to hear that you enjoyed their recommendations. We appreciate you having taken the time and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A friend was staying here and it was just wonderful! Right off of the French Quarter in the Bywater District, within walking distance of pretty much everything, including the Zydeco Festival at Louis Armstrong Park. The pool area was small but lovely. The manager couldn't be nicer - he also gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Definitely a place I will recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Marty, thank you so much for having written. It is always so nice to hear that a guest (or guest's guest) had such a good time. We are in the Marigny, right across the street from the French Quarter so the location is great. Thank you for pointing that out. It is also nice to hear that we are considered worthy of your recommendation. We appreciate that. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in one of the suites with friends, and we absolutely loved it. Really great place - the only downside was that the sofa bed was really not very comfortable. The main bed on the other hand was simply delightful!

Pool is bizarrely warm, but still pleasant for a late night dip. Enjoyed the Roof Top Terrace too.

Staff were friendly and the the breakfast pretty decent. Loved the location.

Room Tip: The Suite does get street noise in the bedroom, but it is away from the rest of the hotel rooms so q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bee998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Bee998, thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are always happy to hear that a guest had a positive experience. It is good to hear that we were 'just what you wanted'. We hope to see you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our first stop on our vacation in the USA, we were so impressed with our accommodation and the service from staff. Very helpful at the times we needed.

Also, this is the ideal spot to stay if you want to hear real, authentic New Orleans Jazz and reggae bands! It's so much better than Bourbon Street. All the pubs are at your doorstep.

Room was terrific, don't expect large room, but it has everything you need. Pool was fantastic!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anneliese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Anneliese,

Thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to comment. Now we are not in the French Quarter but it's common to hear from guests who aren't experienced New Orleans travelers. We are in the Marigny, across the street from the French Quarter (gaping distance I know) and we would love to see you again. It is always so nice to feel appreciated. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,081 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 166 in New Orleans
343 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#48 of 166 in New Orleans
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £100 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing