We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 22 September 2005

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at the Frenchmen, and we absolutely loved it! It was a very beautiful inn, and the pool was wonderful, with the hot tub adjoining it. The private parking area was nice too. My husband and I loved it, and we would love to take another trip there.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    286
    80
    62
    39
See reviews for
116
412
66
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2005

Very mixed feelings about this hotel. Don't need to dwell on the positives (look & feel, location, very friendly service) as they're all pretty much covered in the previous reviews..

The big downside is noise. Both from outside the room (the noise from the pool can continue late into the evening), and from the thunderous air conditioning unit which you have no choice but to use, given the heat and humidity of the N.O. summer.

Notwithstanding this, I would probably stay here again. But if you're a light sleeper and you're travelling in the summer months, I would recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ParisExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2005

I'll have to put in another vote for the Frenchmen. I stayed there my first time in New Orleans and absolutely loved it. Rates were reasonable; the staff was absolutely adorable and the rooms were clean. Breakfast was your standard bagels/muffins/doughnuts, toast and jelly, tea/coffee/juice/milk etc., but it was all very good and from a local bakery. The pool is small to medium-sized but very well-kept, and there is a jacuzzi next to it that was very clean and the perfect temperature. I got a single bed room, and yeah, it was small, but for one person it was all I needed. Location is great, quiet part of Esplanade but easy walking distance to the French Quarter, and only about a block away from the first stop on the Riverfront Streetcar Line.

I'm just waiting until I can go back!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 August 2005

Stayed at The Frenchmen Hotel during first week of July. Our room was small but clean and comfy. The hotel is more like a guest house or B and B than a hotel. This was fine with me because I like old buildings. It was built in the 1830's.
The staff was laid back and friendly and made us feel special. They always greeted us and other guests by name and always asked how our stay was going which is something you don't see very often.They have a cool courtyard with a pool and a hot tub where we drank wine (that you can actually have delivered from the liquor store to the hotel,AWESOME) at night after exploring the city all day.
The tours and restaurants the staff recommended were very good. The restaurants were the ones the locals go to:(Fiorella's,Coop's,Upperline,Elizabeth's, Angeli's) and we enjoyed every meal. I would definetly come back to stay here again. It is laid back and feels like authentic New Orleans. On a whole, the city has a friendly, laid back attitude that made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 July 2005

We travelled all the way down from Ontario, Canada to stay for a week at the Frenchmen for our honeymoon in early May. We had booked online, thinking that the room depicted on the website was typical of all the rooms they offered.

Instead, we found ourselves in a tiny room that was barely big enough to hold our three luggage bags. It had a double bed, not a queen. There was a crack at the top of the door and the only window in the room was a small one in the tiny bathroom. The room had a strange odor and the carpet seemed damp. The balcony we had to walk on to get to our room was old and was not sturdy.

We did not stay there that night and we were not refunded for that night. They offered to switch rooms for us but couldn't accommodate us the entire week.

The staff was friendly but beware if you're looking for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2005

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Frenchmen. We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your accommodations.We have many guests that return time and time again because they enjoy the historical ambiance of our rooms, balconies, and courtyard. The Frenchmen was built in the 1860's and is listed on the national historic register. We take great pride in providing our guests with clean accommodations, and we maintain the property according to safety codes. I can assure you that the balcony you refer to, while being old, is certainly safe and sturdy. As for the size of your room, you were placed in the type of room requested- a standard single room with one double bed. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2005

First off, let me just say that the staff at the Frenchmen are some of the friendliest and most responsive I have ever encountered. That alone made our stay very pleasant.

The location is excellent as it is in walking distance to most everything, and a block away from some great music clubs. The hotel is in a quaint, old-world building and the courtyard with small pool is just lovely. However, there are a few things that need to be worked on to make this a truly great place to stay. I sincerely hope the management takes these suggestions into consideration because I would whole-heartedly recommend the hotel to others with a little effort put into the following:

1. Plumbing - the shower was one of the most miserable I have ever had. As this is an old bulding, the pipes clearly need work. Just like in an old house, the water switches from warm, to scalding hot, to freezing cold constantly, making it very difficult to shower. I'm guessing this stems from other guests flushing toilets, using sinks, etc. throughout the hotel. However, I was almost scalded, the water surged so hot unexpectedly. Very, very dangerous, especially for anyone with children. I avoided taking a shower, which isn't good in the hot summertime.

2. Sheets and beds - although everything appeared clean and new, the sheets and beds were poor quality. The sheets were so coarse, they felt like sleeping on burlap. I don't require fancy thread counts or anything like that, but these sheets were truly sandpaper to the skin. If the hotel just invests in a bit better quality or fabric softener, it would be much improved.

3. Amenities - I realize this isn't a fancy big hotel, but irons and ironing boards really should be standard in all rooms by now. More than one bath towel per person would be nice too, especially since there is a pool.

4. Maintenance - several small things didn't work in our room, from the outlet in the bathroom to the lamp on the nightable. Routine checks for maintenance would easily take care of this problem and alleviate annoyance.

Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay and thought it was a good value for the relatively inexpensive price. I understand there is new management and I hope they use this feedback to turn it into a fine example of New Orleans hospitality. I plan on staying here on my next visit, and look forward to seeing what they've done with the great potential of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tshemphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2005
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Frenchmen. We appreciate your kind words about the staff and suggestions for the hotel. The Frenchmen is a great place to stay in a great location, and we are constantly striving to provide excellent customer service and comfortable accommodations. Feedback from our guests is a valuable source of information that enables us to better serve our customers. The concerns you mention are very important to us. I can personally assure you that we are correcting maintenence issues and adding amenities such as coffee makers, irons, ironing boards to each room. We are committed to making the necessary changes to provide our guests with the best hotel experience we can offer. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Amy Kacpura


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 May 2005

We were very pleasantly surprised; it didn't seem very special from the outside, but the courtyard on the inside of the hotel is awesome - pool and jacuzzi, and very mediterranean looking. Rooms very nice and clean. Very different from the typical touristy hotels. People were very friendly and helpful when it came to questions regarding what to do and where to go in New Orleans. We would go back to this hotel for sure!!!

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 163 in New Orleans
1,008 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 163 in New Orleans
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 163 in New Orleans
1,280 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 163 in New Orleans
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Property: The Frenchmen Hotel
Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing