We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay no where else in The City!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #45 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
1 review
“I will stay no where else in The City!”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I have made 6 trips to NOLA this year and 5 of them I stayed at The Frenchmen. (I felt like I cheated on them when I stayed at a different hotel with a friend last trip!) I have been for special occasions and weekend getaways, and my sweetie turned me on to this awesome place! The rooms (I've stayed in) with a Q bed are decorated incredibly, with vivid wall colors and interesting wall decor. There is free parking on site (and additional space nearby) that is all locked up at night, a minimalistic breakfast (donuts, fruit, coffee, juice, tea), a pool and hot tub, and a community ice machine, as well as a soda machine.

The only real issue (MINOR!) I've had at this hotel was a slowly processing payment on departure day when I was in a hurry to leave (Murphy's Law!), but I left my card number and they ran it when the system was back up. The only downside to the single Q rooms is there is no mini-frige! So make sure you eat all your delicious food while you're still at the restaurants, because there is no where in the room to keep leftovers cold.

I've stayed for football games (not a terrible walk to the Superdome), the Wine & Food Experience (again, not a terrible walk to anything), the Jazz & Heritage Festival (main location is a bit far, but music clubs in the city within walking distance all have special bands in town for the event), and for trips just to get away from home. I love this city!!!

I've recommended to all my friends to stay at this hotel, and will continue to stay there as long as I go to the city!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenninfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    282
    80
    62
    38
See reviews for
113
403
65
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We went there on my honeymoon and we both loved the hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were polite and helpful and we relaxed instantly. The hotel is original, it has character and is ideally placed for everything within the French Qtr (most bars and restaurants being a 10 minute walk). The rooms were clean, well decorated and although the smallest of our honeymoon trip, they fitted in with the feel of the hotel and the city and we had no problems with anything. The breakfast was fine with cereals, toast, cakes, porridge and grits and tea, coffee and OJ and although the small dining area got busy at times it was not a problem and we actually like it as we met a few people and enjoyed chats over breakfast. The pool is small but ideal for an afternoon dip and to relax in the great courtyard. I will go back, we're already talking of saving up to return one day and I will definately stay at The Frenchmen hotel. We were made to feel at home and very relaxed and comfortable. Well done and thanks to the staff. The Deans - UK

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbugUK-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Eveyone was friendly but Angela went out of her way with every guest to suggest places to visit and eat, to chat, and to make them feel at home. The hotel is charming, comfortable and safe and in walking distance from every thing in the quater. It has a pool, a hot tub and a light breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alabma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Pros:
The staff was nice, knowledgeable and friendly. If we ever needed anything they were right there to meet our needs.

The building was secure. The main door was always locked from the outside.

Very close to the French Quarter, only a 10 minute walk to Burbon street.

Although the rooms small they had that New Orleans charm.

Cons: The shower was out of hot water and the shower head needed to be replaced. It set us back about an hour but once we notified the staff they were very quick to help and were genuinely concerned.

The parking as terrible. The hotel boasts free parking but what they really mean in a tiny death trap box that fits 6 or 7 cars with nowhere to turn around. It took us about 5 minutes to back out of the lot. There was a pay per day parking lot just around the corner, it was $32 for 2 days, which is reasonable, but it would have been nice to know ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvisFajitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We had stayed at MANY different hotels in the French Quarter/French Market area but, this time, we found The Frenchmen Hotel. Sweet, beautiful & historical place with red bricked outdoor patio, built-in pool, jacuzzi, and garden area. One block to Riverfront Streetcar, two blocks to French Market. Cafe Tomatillo's at the corner and head northwest on Frenchmen St to find meals from a cultural blend.
The Frenchmen offer great rates and even better ones if you plan to stay a few days. I suggest Room 100--The room was clean and decorated beautifully with a walk-in closet and full bath. Terrific airconditioning and a huge ceiling fan was perfect for the hot weather! The office staff was wonderful--Angela and Kenesha (sorry if spelled it wrong!) are true assets. The room staff were terrific--quickly responsive to our requests and full of smiles and kind, laughing words. Guess you can tell we fell in love with the place! We look forward to calling the Frenchmen Hotel are "home" when we visit next time! Kudos to the Hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trijer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This is a bed and breakfast hotel, with a pool. The location is very nice, just SW of the French Market, just outside the French Quarter (less than 1/4 block outside).

The room was a little small, but okay. The room and bathroom were somewhat dirty, but the linens were clean. The bed was excellent.

Most of the rooms are centered around a small pool. We stayed for five nights, and people partied in the pool until three o'clock every night except one, so not a lot of sleep to be had. Complaints to the front desk clerk produced no help there, so don't stay here if you would like to have a good nights sleep.

The front desk clerks (24 hr clerk) were very good and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackmoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We loved staying at the Frenchmen Hotel- it's in the Marigny, adjacent to the French Quarter, so it was away from some of the touristy hustle-bustle of the Quarter (but easily within walking distance). Frenchmen Street has its own scene going on with music and restaurants, antiques and lots of locals. If you love visiting New Orleans but quickly tire of the hand-grenades-and-hurricanes crowd, check out Frenchmen. The rooms at this hotel were clean and attractive, the building had the old-timey New Orleans charm, and there was a lovely courtyard with a pool and a hot tub. Angela at the front desk was super-helpful with directions and recommendations, and the beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in at a hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReallyMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Property: The Frenchmen Hotel
Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing