We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Frenchmen Hotel
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 14 December 2006

i like the frenchmen for several reasons. the location is great, just off the french quarter. frenchmen street has lots to see and do.the hotel itself is charming. the pool and spa are small but have real charm. the room i had was a large two bed-room. it needed a chair, but otherwise it was great. the bathroom was very clean. there was a noise problem, my room had an attached room and the people next door could be heard coughing, and watching t.v. through the night. still i've stayed in several hotels in new orleans and i consistantly go back to the frenchmen for the ambiance and the price is always good.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Tips/Secrets — coop's restaurant nearby, a find.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katieinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    281
    80
    62
    38
See reviews for
113
402
65
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

This is a cute little hotel that sits at the hub of the best areas of New Orleans. It is one block off of the French Quarter at the beginning of the wonderful Fauburg-Marigny neighborhood. It is one block away from the Riverside Trolley, two blocks from the French Market and is at the end of Frenchmen street which has many great jazz clubs and restaurants. I can't say enough about the Fauburg-Marigny neighborhood! Lots of unique, inexpensive restaurants. Great architecture. We spend more time exploring this area than the French Quarter where we spent most of our time during our last two visits.
As for the hotel itself, it is true that the rooms are small, but the ones we saw were recently refurbished with new tile floors, very nice furniture and artwork. The rooms each have a tv, a refridgerator with a safe inside and an iron and ironning board. Our room was right on the cute courtyard with a small pool and a hot tub. There is also a nice sun deck. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Chad.
We will definitely consider staying here on our next visit to this great city.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Disliked — The rooms could use a nice chair or two
  • Tips/Secrets — Mona's Café across the street: Wonderful middle-eastern food, very cheap!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ACrom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2006

I stayed here for two nights in the beginning of October. Although the Inn seems quite nice on first encounter, it's just not clean enough. There was a lot of mold in my shower (thank goodness I had brought flip-flops) and the floor of the room was not carpeted. The junkies that seem to frequent it are a problem as well. There was a woman with many open sores on her legs who had them stuck in both the pool and hot tub as she and her partner (male) were inappropriately loud in the courtyard outside the downstairs rooms. The cleaning staff was incredibly loud in the courtyard very early as well. The location is fantastic and this place could be wonderful but they've got a long way to go before I'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lenaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2006

Location? Great. Price? Affordable (we opted for the cheaper, smaller first floor rooms). However both of these things did not make up for the surprise waiting for us when we arrived and checked out the room. Inside our dresser drawer was a used syringe, as well as a burnt, bent spoon. The room was also damp and not as clean as it should have been. The managment's resonse to our complaint was awfully casual, as if this had happened before. They did refund one night's stay (but we had to ask for this), clean the room again and remove the syringe and spoon (not sure if they just threw it away or disposed of it properly). But it was not a good welcome to our first time in the city.

I wouldn't take them up on their complimentary breakfast either: rat trap in the dinning room.

We stayed here in May of 2005, based off favorable reviews from TripAdvisor, as well as a personal recommendation from a friend who had stayed here a few years before.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lukenuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We just got back from staying 4 nights at the Frenchmen and it was a real delight. While I don't think that it is a great pick for everyone, it was exactly what I had been looking for in a New Orleans hotel. Being in the Marigney is a great choice for anyone that enjoys the Quarter but would enjoy it more if there weren't so many giantic silly drinks in everyones hands. There are great bars up Frenchmen street and down Decatur especially if Bourbon Street holds nothing for you. The hotel was great. It is very quaint and friendly. While the rooms are small, (especially the bathroom) the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The pool is great for just taking a dip and we were happy to discover that the 12:00 AM closure was more of a mild suggestion than anything else. If you end up driving, they do have a secure parking lot, however there are very few spaces for cars and moving around inside of it is very tight at best, I would recommend parking somewhere else if you have a large car, although it is secure, at $15 a night there are better deals to be found in the area. The room was very clean as were the other public areas of the hotel, however the maid service could stand to remember they are in a courtyard and that voices carry as we were awoken most mornings by their banter.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank abstracterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

My friend and I decided to stay at The Frenchmen because of the many good reviews we'd read here and elsewhere. I was definitely not disappointed.

When we walked into our room for the first time, I admit, I was taken aback by the size. It's definitely the smallest hotel room I've stayed in. However, it was very clean, comfortable, and there was plenty of room. Within thirty minutes we didn't even notice the size of the room.

We arrived in the evening, so we weren't able to get a parking space in the hotel lot. (It fits five cars.) The clerk told us there was a public parking lot just around the corner, which also charged less than The Frenchmen. We parked there at $8 a night for 4 nights and the car was perfectly safe.

The hotel is located steps from the French Quarter. We always felt safe walking after dark in and around the neighborhood. There are several good restaurants located near the hotel. I highly recommend Mona's, which is just across the street.

The only suggestion I would make is to change the curtain on the window. It was translucent and allowed outside light to enter the room.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BernRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We loved the Frenchmen and would absolutely stay there again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Probably the nicest staff I've ever encountered at a hotel/bed and breakfast.

Pool was very nice and clean and the hot tub was great too. Pool was such a godsend after walking around the quarter in the August heat.

Great location - not far from action of Bourbon street (definately walking distance) but far enough away to be more quiet and relaxed. Never felt unsafe in this area at all even late at night. Many jazz bars on Frenchmen street to enjoy if you don't like the hustle and bustle of Bourbon street. We checked out Bourbon street almost nightly but also checked out some of the clubs on Frenchmen.

Breakfast was okay - bagels, danishes and the sort. Husband really loved it but I'm more of a bacon and eggs kind of girl myself. Loved the coffee (we had a hard time finding a nice strong cup of coffee while in the States).

Our room was on the main floor, poolside. Nice big clean room - plenty of space. Closet was HUGE - tons of room to store whatever we wanted. A/C worked great. Beds were clean and very comfortable. Loved all the furnishings. No problem with hot water for showers at all.

No problems with parking at all. Drove to Six Flags one night and had no problems with getting same parking spot when we got back.

Our 2nd last day at the hotel we returned to room to find they had installed a brand new mini-fridge. Didn't use it but nice to see they are making improvements even when not necessary!

Hope hotel escaped Katrina relatively unscathed.

Can't beat the price either. Will go back, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Property: The Frenchmen Hotel
Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing