We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House on Bayou Road
Ranked #95 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2009

came to town for a leisurely weekend away from it all. What a delight it was. Loved the cozy room. Ambiance was 100% wonderful. The property is fenced for private parking and appreciated that. the breakfast was divine. Frank and the staff were always there to answer questions with a smile & helpful information about activities in N.O. What a way to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktuckLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2009

The House on Bayou Road is spectacular, the ambiance is peaceful and calming, the history of the home is fascinating, the rooms are beautifully appointed and to top it off the eggs benedict was delicious with a presentation second to none.
Frank, the property manager was extremely pleasant and accommodating in every way. No request was too much; we were always greeted with a smile and listening ear. We were able to plan our wedding using this venue and The New Orleans Cooking Experience as caterers in the Indigo Restaurant to celebrate with family and friends for a unique experience we'll never forget and are so grateful for.
We were able to take great pictures all around the property, even got some of the roaming roosters!
We can't thank Frank and staff enough for helping make our wedding day a celebration beyond words.
We're looking forward to celebrating anniversaries with you and will encourage everyone we know to treat themselves to the House on the Bayou experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atburas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

The House on Bayou Road is a truly special place to stay. I was born and grew up in New Orleans, so I can confidently say that you won't find another historic, late eighteenth century, restored Creole house with a large tropical garden like this open to the public as a bed and breakfast within the city limits. Aside from the high-ceilinged, tastefully appointed and comfortable rooms, here are some other wonderful things about the House on Bayou Road: Frank, the new manager since November, is an extremely gracious host who works hard to make everything just right for guests; breakfasts are healthy, varied and delicious; parking is secure and free, unlike every other hotel or B & B I researched; wifi is now available in the house rooms (not sure if it's in the cottage rooms); free sherry and port are available in the guestrooms and living room; cooking classes, with some of New Orleans best chefs, are offered (for a fee) on a regular basis to residents and guests alike in the house kitchen; the house is in a quiet, historic neighborhood (as a former resident, it's one of my favorite areas in the city) with the French Quarter nearby in one direction and a group of small, non-touristy restaurants on Esplanade Avenue in the other, heading towards N.O.s beautiful City Park where you'll find the N.O Museum of Art. Since I no longer have a home in New Orleans, this will always be where I stay, and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bebecolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I can't say enough about The House On Bayou Road. Frank and his staff were super. The morning breakfasts started with a huge plate of fruit, followed by muffins, croissants, etc and then an omelete made to order, or pancakes, quiche waffles, etc. We ate so much at breakfast because it was so good that we never stopped for lunch. Imagine visiting New Orleans and leaving without tasting a Po-Boy or Muffeletta. The cottage we stayed in was very comfortable. We had a courtesy bar and complimentary sherry and water. We could come and go to the main house as we wished. It is situated 12 blocks from the French Quarter. Taxi service is very reasonable and recommended since parking is sometimes a problem. We visited at Christmas and Frank was very helpful with his restaurant recommendations for Christmas eve and Christmas day--he even had a packet with menus from the various places that would be open on those days printed for us.
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mdizzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Stayed in Bayou Cane. The room was lovely. The staff was friendly and courteous. Property was a small sanctuary set near the hustle and bustle of New Orleans. Truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deche40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I just got back from a fantastic trip to New Orleans where we stayed at the House on Bayou Road. It was all that we could have hoped for! I can't vouch for how it was 6 months ago, but the new manager, Frank, is great! We felt so relaxed and at home while there.

Coffee and tea and snacks were always available at the main house, and the breakfasts were amazing. The staff was very friendly and the room was great. Yeah, the tv was small, but you really need to get out of your room and enjoy the city! For the few times we watched it, it did the job. We used taxis during our stay and they were inexpensive and convenient. I didn't want to deal with driving in a busy city during New Year's, but the other guests seemed to be happy with the secure parking offered by the house.

The neighborhood was fine - like other NOLA neighborhoods. I wouldn't wander around dark alley's at night anywhere in the city so as long as you're smart, you'll be fine. The streets surrounding it were fairly busy and you were just out of the way enough not to be bothered by road noise.

Also, we're a young couple but don't want to be in the Bourbon St. party scene 24/7 so it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle at night to a 5 minute taxi ride to the hotel. I can only imagine how noisy some of the places in the French Quarter were with how crazy it was on the street.

The next time in New Orleans, the House on Bayou Road will be our lodging of choice!

P.S. This seems like a great place for groups or families as rooms are close enough to be together, but far enough to get some space for yourself. And a lot of the rooms looked big enough to hold quite a few people. We stayed at LaLoutre but would probably try one of the rooms in the main house next time or one of the other cottage's if we came with a group.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nothruaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

We had no idea what to expect. We want on a verbal suggestion with little knowledge. I would have to say it was a wonderful experience. The staff was great to talk with, and you could tell they were looking to continue to make things better. The time period of the house was perserved, although, renevations from some Katrina damage was definitly being addressed (positive). There were no inconviences to the stay. I would have loved a larger TV and even wifi access...yes, it was vacation, and yes, it was new orleans...however, some of us just can't get away from our technology! The private parking off the street and behind a gate was a huge plus -- and one of the reasons we choose to stay. Whether you are trying to get to Jackson Square and the French Quarter, City Park, or sight seeing down to the 9th ward and the canals you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthebayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,278 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,322 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,876 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#75 of 166 in New Orleans
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on Bayou Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on Bayou Road

Address: 2275 Bayou Rd, New Orleans, LA 70119-2666
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £102 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The House On Bayou Road Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing