We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky for us all other hotels were booked!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House on Bayou Road
Ranked #92 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lucky for us all other hotels were booked!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

CHARMING!!!! The rooms are great - clean and comfy beds!!! Not in the best area - bohemian in an area that seems to be going thru gentrification. If walking we tried to get back by nigthfall. The grounds are beautiful....the breakfasts great and SANDY the weekend manager - is sooooo sweet. Walls are a little thin - we heard everything (AND I MEAN EVERYTHING :)) but it is a bed and breakfast, Suppot this place as it is for sale (bank owned) . It is an example of French Colonial- West Indies style built in the 1700s. This cannot be torn down! So someone please buy it :) The kitties are charming - Precious is very sweet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherborn, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I love to stay at B&B's when travelling for business. The chain hotels have gotten so expensive that it is as cheap or more so to stay at a B&B and yu get a feel for the area that you never get in a chain. So when there was a conference in New Orleans, I found a B&B and brought the wole family and my parents for a great family get-together. This was a wonderful place for that. We had a cottage with a poach overlooking the pool and large back yard to ourselves (curious we looked the main house bedrooms, which also were lovely). The food was great -- some of the best I have ever had for breakfast in a B&B. Off-street parking. Kumquat trees along part ofthe porch and they were yummy. My son walked to the French Quarter, (We drove with my folks who are 80+.) But what really shines is the staff. EVERYONE takes pride in their work and it shows and makes a difference. They had plenty of time with us, we stayed for a week.

This B&B is way underated. It has changed ownership which explains why. So if you read older negative reviews -- ignore them. I found it in Select Registry (whose members, by the way, have always been very good if not exquisite like this place). Thanks Frank and everyone else. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Service was good, room was nice and clean. The location is not the best, but felt safe, they have a gated parking lot, that only guests can use. Very friendly place to stay, good breakfast. Plenty of space to walk, and outside seating, porches ect. Frank, who handles everything at the b and b is wonderful- as nice as he can be- will help out of towners as much as he can.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Thoughtful and formally polite B&B that does well to transport the guest to a different time in New Orleans. Enchanting surroundings, staff that is warm yet professional and a great location and value that would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpseofrsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

From the moment we were greeted by Frank, the general manager, on the front porch until we departed two days later, our stay was more than we'd hoped for. Our suite had grace and southern charm, the breakfasts were 'to-die-for' and the property is lovely. On-property parking is definitely an added plus. The only downside, as mentioned in other reviews, is that the TVs are rather small and difficult to view at a distance but how often do you watch TV when visiting NOLA anyway. We'll definitely return to NOLA and THE HOUSE ON BAYOU ROAD.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOLA_L0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed here two nights during the Essence Festival weekend. Initially we wanted to stay in the French Quarter, but by the time I tried to make reservations, everything moderately priced was already booked. The House on Bayou Road was not listed anywhere I was searching (mainly AAA tourbook), it was recommended to me by a local. And it was a great find! First, it was very reasonable compared to the French Quarter hotels. We paid $125/night and that included a full breakfast and free parking. Try to get that anywhere in the Quarter! The parking was the best, along with the location. The parking is onsite, behind a locked gate. Guests get an automatic gate opener, so you have the same freedom to come and go as you would have in your own home using your own driveway or garage. Yet the hotel is within 5 minutes driving time from the French Quarter and even less to the city park. The easy access that made driving in the city a breeze is I would say the top asset of this hotel. The hotel consists of the main house, built in 1795 or around then, which was once the center of an indigo plantation. Some guests rooms are located in the main house, others are in two cottages on the property, which is about 2 acres large, fully fenced in. The main house has a kitchen which has beverages available on demand from a coffee/hot water machine, and also some snacks - different types of chips and cookies in bags, some fruit. There is a pool which would probably be too small for a serious swimmer but is adequate for cooling off and relaxing. The main house has communal rooms where guests can relax, read books, have a drink, and chat. We stayed in one of the cottages. The room was very pleasant, with high ceilings, a nicely appointed bathroom, an armoire with a safe, a refrigerator stocked with various soft drinks and wine and beer, a dresser with a complimentary sherry, and a TV. The sherry and the bottled water are complimentary, there are extra charges for the soda and the beer and wine. This is on an honor system - guests are asked to record what they took out of the refrigerator and this is then added to their bill. I don't know what the charges are, since we don't drink sodas or beer or wine, only water, which was free. We originally planned to drive to the French Quarter but Frank, the manager, was very helpful and told us we would have a hard time finding parking there and recommended we take a cab instead. He gave us the info which company to use and their phone number and we were glad we followed his advice. The cab came within minutes from the time we called them to pick us up. The cab ride is less than 5 minutes to the FQ and the fare is $7. Much cheaper than paying for parking in FQ! We had no trouble getting back - we called them from the FQ and were home in the hotel about 10 minutes later. Again, $7 plus tip, and no worries about where to park and how to get there through the maze of one way streets and pedestrians in the FQ. The next day we did a driving tour of the city and it was so easy to return to the hotel midday, after we got soaked in a brief downpour and needed to change. Here you are never more than 10 minutes driving time away from just about any place in the city, it's easy to get in/out, like having your own home in New Orleans. Large towels are furnished for those who want to use the pool. Breakfast was very good. They alternate sweet and savory, as they call it. Basically pancakes or the like fits the sweet category, eggs/sausage the savory. We had blueberry pancakes one day, an omelet and sausage the next. There were pastries, fresh fruit, juices, and even champagne. They ask your diet preferences upon arrival, so special dietary needs or preferences will be honored. You will receive a list of nearby restaurants and the manager, Frank, is extremely helpful and available to assist guests during the day and we also saw him there at night. The one complaint we would have about the accommodations was that the air conditioning didn't get the room quite cold enough. But it was 105F outside with the heat index and the room was cool, just a bit warmer than we would prefer. The cottages do not have individual A/C controls, the A/C is centrally controlled, so that would be the only negative. If you are coming in the summer and like your rooms below 75F, you may be disappointed. Otherwise, an excellent hotel and an excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Even though we were only able to stay one night our stay was quite enjoyable. It began with an evening arrival and a warm welcome from Frank who graciously showed us to our very spacious and well-appointed room, the Barataria Suite. The room had some really nice details including comfy linens, grand furniture and even a convenient little fridge . We then headed for the French Quarter and had dinner at NOLA (Emeril's Restaurant) which was pleasantly not over-hyped, and quite reasonably priced with great food and excellent service. Breakfast at the Inn was delicious and began with fresh fruit, chicory coffee (sooo good!) and the selection that day was Huevos Rancheros which was an expertly prepared rendition of the dish. I also did take a little dip in their pool which is set in the beautifully kept backyard that had a lovely patio and fountain I wish we had had more time to enjoy. This Inn has secure parking (complementary) and is located just off of Espanade which has some other interesting houses on it if you appreciate architecture. We chose to take a taxi into the French Quarter in the evening but walked into town (a good few blocks, but necessary to work off all the good food in New Orleans) the next morning. I would certainly recommend this Inn to others! Also, if you want to have a Muffaletta when in town we had a great one from Central Grocery which is located fairly close to the ever popular Cafe Du Monde.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green_mtn_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Soniat House
Soniat House
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Five Continents Inn
#63 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#58 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on Bayou Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on Bayou Road

Property: The House on Bayou Road
Address: 2275 Bayou Rd, New Orleans, LA 70119-2666
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The House On Bayou Road Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing