We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The right amount of charm, comfort and quirkiness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mobile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The right amount of charm, comfort and quirkiness”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I had a chance to spend a couple of nights at Creole Gardens after Thanksgiving, on our way back home to Mobile, Alabama. We found Creole Gardens online and decided to book our stay there because we prefer to explore less-traditional hotels and experiences. We loved it! The eclectic courtyard, the bright color palette and a general funky NOLA vibe all made our stay a memorable one. And the staff was great, too. Their young general manager treated us like family and the woman serving breakfast was a delight. We'll definitely be back again! In fact, writing this is making me miss New Orleans...maybe we'll go back sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: The top room/suite is more like a cozy apartment, very airy and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacyhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please don't wait until the holidays to come back and visit. Matter of fact you should bring those pups you mentioned having to leave at home. We are super pet friendly and love pets of all breed's and size's! We do genuinely hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    183
    44
    24
    11
See reviews for
129
373
61
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Creole Gardens is the ultimate dog-friendly B & B in a very dog-friendly city, This is the third-year that my wife and I (and our two shelties) have stayed here during a January break from Wisconsin winters. The B & B staff understands people who love their dogs, and they have created an atmosphere where both human and canine guests have fun. There's a wonderful enclosed courtyard where guests can kick back, let their dogs off-leash, and engage in relaxed conversations. Many restaurants are within short walking distance and have outdoor seating that is dog-friendly. Or you can bring back food to eat in the B & B courtyard. There is a large park nearby to walk your dog. Even better, this year my wife discovered new Orleans' City Dog Bark (www.nolacitybark.org), This is a short drive from Creole Gardens, and by contacting the Dog Bark before our trip, we were able to complete all the paperwork necessary to make sure that our dogs could use the facility.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joyce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We're so happy that ya'll made it back again this winter.. We realize it's a special circumstance when you're traveling with your extended family members.. So it's great to hear that you find us to be that accommodating. I'm happy you were traveling with all your info for the dog park too! It's such a fun place and nearby! Next year ya'll should think about coming during during some of the spring months and we can ya'll out to some festivals!

The Krewe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We loved staying here. The room was quirky but cool, there's an awesome courtyard that makes you feel like you're in Bali. The breakfast was great, and the location is excellent for the price. Check in was quick and friendly and the neighbourhood was safe. Some very good restaurants right around the corner and the St. Charles streetcar stop is also right around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I picked this b & b due to its close proximity to the World War II Museum, and it turned out to be a unique and good choice. Creole Gardens is historic, bright, a little quirky and a bit mysterious (due to its history), much like the storied city of New Orleans itself.
My husband and I stayed in the Won Ton room. The room, like the entire b & b, had quite a bit of character! Breakfast was outstanding and we loved our cook, Annie, who was very welcoming and gracious.
Another plus for us was that the b & b was in close walking distance to several excellent restaurants. At night, the neighborhood was quiet, and we were able to get some rest during our stay.
We plan on returning to New Orleans again, and would like to make a return visit to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaClydeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, Front Office Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We're so happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! Next time you come back to town give us a heads up and we'll see about upgrading you to a suite!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My bf and I decided to drive from Dallas to NOLA on holiday and normally I would have booked at a hostel, but we were traveling with a small dog so I needed to find another place that was independently owned and pet friendly. Luckily, the reviews for Creole Gardens were so great I decided to stay with them and behold! It was a great stay. We loved our colorful room in the bordello, the bright courtyard. Annie and the rest of the staff gave us everything we needed. Breakfast was filling and tasty. The trolly stop is a super short walk away and they provide a paper upon checking in with all the important details: internet codes, trolly directions, and places to eat around the area. I'm hoping to return to NOLA for a conference and I plan on staying at the Creole Gardens once again. In the meantime I will definitely recommend NOLA and the Creole Gardens for a nice holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We're so happy that you and your boyfriend chose us as a pet friendly accommodation! We really enjoy when our lodging makes it possible for the "entire" family to go on vacation!! I'm going to make sure to tell Annie that you gave her a special shout out!! Hope to have you back during the conference!! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary in NOLA, and stayed at Creole Gardens. The owners (Steve and Karen) were super helpful and genuinely cared about us having a great trip. The staff was friendly, professional and great (Annie, the cook, will make you feel right at home during breakfast, or whenever you run into her). The place has a charm that fits the city, and who wants a traditional hotel experience in a city as unique as New Orleans? We stayed in the penthouse, and it was perfect for our trip. The street car is just a block away, so the location was great, as well. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much, Whitney and Trevor. We loved having you and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! We're so glad you had a great time with us! Hope to have you both back for many more anniversaries in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Creole Gardens. They took me, a weary traveler, in, without a reservation, and no problem with my dog. Very hospitable and helpful in terms of finding local places to eat. Also, there's a park nearby, so if you are traveling with a pet, this is in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlandad0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
It's also such a blessing when our guests are traveling with their furry friends! We're really happy you found us through facebook and decided to make a reservation! Next time you come back you'll have to book a doggie spa package at Bella!!! Hope to see you and that beautiful Husky again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
211 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,905 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,304 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing