We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be 5 stars with a decent bed and an exterior paint job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Would be 5 stars with a decent bed and an exterior paint job”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Okay, first things first. The pluses:

1. The location of this place is excellent, the last stop on the St. Charles streetcar line before the construction. So this was nice because everyone had to get off at Melponene and we could walk from that stop to the B&B while others had to wait for the bus.

2. There are several really good restaurants within walking distance. Emeril Delmonico is within walking distance, see my review of it. There is a vegan cafe "Seed" catty corner to this B&B. We are not vegans but if you are then this would be a good location for you. There is a Popeyes and Wendy's for fast food. There is an Irish pub real close as well.

3. Walmart is around 1 mile away. We needed some supplies for Jazz Fest and that came in handy. The Walmart has plenty of parking and is brand new.

4. The breakfast is delicious. The first day was grits, fried eggs, and bacon. The grits were delicious, the eggs cooked perfectly, and the bacon very crisp. The second day, even though we were late, the cook heated up some sausage and creole potatoes for us. Very nice since we were 15 minutes late for breakfast.

5. Again, we were 15 minutes late for checkout after a late night on the town and the B&B obliged. Very good service.

6. Free parking. That is very nice in a city where parking is usually $30/day.

Some negatives:

1. Cost. With tax the room was $282 per night ($259 before taxes I believe) during Jazz Fest. That is costly, even during Jazz Fest. There would be cheaper rooms in the city, but figuring $30/day parking and $20 breakfast min for 2 people, the rate would have to be at least $50/day cheaper to justify and there weren't many hotels for $209/night during Jazz Fest.

2. Bed. The bed was very wobbly. When getting intimate with my wife, I felt like it was going to fall down. Come on, this is a B&B, you should expect couples will want to get the action going so put some sturdy beds in there. By the way, this was Cottage #1.

3. Exterior. Quite simply, the B&B needs a paint job. If they had a paint job it would haved received 5 stars from me.

4. No pool or fitness facilities.

Room Tip: Cottage 1 has morning sun and a fountain outside that is pleasant to hear all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    185
    45
    25
    11
See reviews for
135
387
62
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Creole Gardens has so many positive reviews!! Our first experience with this B & B started off great. Our reservations were made on Booking.com, and we had to move our reservation back a day due to work. Booking.com called Creole Gardens and they waived the change fee. Because of the day later arrival, we needed an early check-in. We got a phone call when the room was ready and were invited to come on down. Someone helped us up the stairs with our luggage and wouldn't take a tip for his trouble. The Southern hospitality extended throughout our five day stay. The manager offered printed maps and restaurant suggestions. Where else does the cook, who also doubles as a DJ on site, follow you to your car as you depart offering hugs and best wishes? Every request we had was efficiently dealt with. The Creole is small enough to offer personal attention.
Each morning we enjoyed a hot breakfast prepared by Annie. It was varied and filling. The dining area is bright and cheery. Off the courtyard is a converted garage type building from which R & B and old motown music wafted. I walked in there to find Annie spinning 45s and a couple dancing in the afternoon. How fun is that?
The B & B location is very convenient to the French Quarter, the St. Charles St. trolley, and some excellent restaurants. The neighborhood felt safe in spite of seeing a homeless person asleep in the guesthouse parking lot. That parking lot was a much appreciated feature at no cost to guests.
The quirky informal atmosphere at Creole Gardens didn't bother me at all. However, from what I've read here and what I saw, the rooms seem to vary pretty wildly. We stayed in cottage room 10. It was a small room with a queen sized bed. It doesn't look like the picture on the website. The room was clean, but the bed was not very comfortable to us. It was softer than we liked and we tended to roll toward the center. There were four pillows which I appreciated. The furniture was antique, but the wardrobe was in bad shape. Each time I opened a drawer, I was very careful not to break a fingernail due to the drawers not sliding easily on a track. On top of the chest of drawers there was a piece of silky type of fabric and it was neither attractive or functional always slipping around. The bathroom was fine and functioned well. Our room had spotty WiFi possibly due to the location.
Our five days in NOLA were enjoyable. The issues we had were not serious enough to send us packing. The cost was about $145 a night and I was a little disappointed in our room for that price.
My advice to someone choosing the Creole Gardens would be to look carefully at the rooms on the site and speak with the manager about whether that is indeed the correct picture for the room. Discuss what you're looking for and see if they can't find you the best room for your requirements.
One evening we spoke to some other guests in the courtyard and peeked into a first floor room off the courtyard. It looked roomy and bright. I think our room was just not among the best. I don't know if booking through the Creole Gardens office gets you a better room than booking through an outside source. I think I would give Creole Gardens again with more preparation about room choice.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website. Make sure the picture matches the room by asking about it. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbycitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for coming down to New Orleans to visit us from the Blue Grass State!! Hope the recent Derby was as much fun you at home as it was for us watching on the tv!! We really appreciate all of the kind words about our property and about all of the staff! As you mentioned our rooms do vary wildy! Each and every room at the Creole Gardens is unique in decor and accommodations! You are right in that cottage room 10 no longer looks like our website photo, we had to perform a few renovations and haven't had a photographer update them just yet as we're also in the process of updating our entire website!! To address your other concerns we will most definitely look at replacing the mattress and work to bettter restore some of our antique furniture in the rooms!

We'd love to have you come back to the Creole Gardens and give us another shot! I would suggest calling us directly as we can discuss your individual needs and make sure to place you in a room that best suites your stay!

Again, we really do appreciate all of your kind compliments and your constructive criticism. It's those very things that help us grow!!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The place was very clean but I want to talk about the staff and how they made us feel part of a family. The breakfast was great and something different everyday.
I special thanks goes out to Annie and her care for my husband.
If you are planning a visit to New Orleans this is a must stay, you are in walking distance to the World War Two Museum, downtown and the trolley is only two blocks from the Creole Gardens.
If you are concern about your car, they have off street parking
The Creole Gardens gives you a flare of Old New Orleans with its colors, design and furnishings.
A must stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritzum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We're so happy you really felt like part of the Creole Family! That means we must be doing something right!!! I'll make sure to give Annie a special thanks regarding breakfast! Wish ya'll the best and hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thanks, Steve, Barbara, Keith and Annie.

This year was at least our 9th stay and we don't even look anywhere else. One of the best features is FULL breakfast every morning. Not just muffins and juice, but eggs, hot cakes, cereal, etc. This feature alone saves not only time to do more things but a lot of money that we can put towards dinner.

The rooms are full of charm and one feels like they are getting an authentic, eclectic NOLA experience. While the main house is more upscale, we enjoy the cottages and bordellos. There are colorful and authentic decorations all around.

Another great feature is the proximity to anywhere. Jazzfest is only a $12-14 cab ride, uptown $12-$14 cab ride and one can walk or catch a $10 cab ride (including tip) to the French Quarter.

The street car line is literally a half block or less over. One can jump on the street car and head towards the FQ or head the other direction towards Uptown. It is a pleasure to be able to catch the street car in the FQ and be back at your B&B in 10-15 minutes.

Magazine Street is an easy walk in less than 10 minutes. Bike rentals are available on Magazine and this allows one to be in the FQ in five minutes or in the Lower Garden District or Magazine in short order.

The WWII museum is a walking distance away, as is Julia Street with great food and art galleries. Several of NOLA's top restaurants are within walking distance including Herbsaint, Peche and Root. If you want to try an Emeril eatery, Delmonico is 2 minutes away.

A short walk towards Lee Circle will find Tivoli and Lee and Circle Bar, great places to stop and have a drink.

We truly feel this is the most centrally located area in NOLA unless one never wants to leave the FQ. And, if you want to be in the FQ, this is a far more affordable place to stay that is easily within walking distance.

Our suggestion: Stay here, rent bikes at Amusing Bikes (they take reservations), and cruise Magazine, the Lower Garden District and the FQ. The best way to see the Garden District is by bike. It would be tough to cover the entire area just by walking.

Keith, the inn keeper, is a foodie who knows his way around NOLA food and won't recommend anything that he hasn't personally found to be top notch or that doesn't have great reviews.

Noise has never been an issue. Another long term patron and I were discussing how this is like staying at a B&B without feeling like you are in someone else's home. Come in as late as you want and there is no one to disturb. Just walk right into your room and hit the hay.

Staying in the Quarter is overrated. Why pay more for more noise, unsavory people and less access to the entire city?

Room Tip: If you want more intimate quarters, stay inside the main house. Otherwise, pick a cottage as they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Where to begin?!?! We are really so delighted that both you and your wife leave your wonderful city of Charleston each year to come and spend Jazz Fest with us!! All of the kind words you've written about our property are well received amongst us all! My only suggestion that I'd like to share, TRY TRY TRY to make it down for French Quarter Fest!! It's a total blast as well! Who knows, maybe next time you will all make it down twice in one month!!

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Creole Gardens over Easter. We had a lovely time. The complimentary breakfast was amazing (cooked to order) and the front desk staff were very helpful in telling us where to go in the nearby area to eat, drink, etc. Also, it is a short walk to the street car to take you to Bourbon St. However, we walked to Bourbon St. most of the time, only took 15 minutes! I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone traveling to New Orleans who wants a nice meal, clean room and great location that is far enough away from the city center to get some peace and quite but still close enough to venture to Bourbon St. and Frenchman St. any time of the day :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2014646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our B&B. I only hope that you returned home with some of our warm wishes from the South.. Next time ya'll want a little break from the Motor City, you know who to call!! Hope to have ya'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visit New Orleans every year and have stayed in hotels all over the city. This place is in a great location and the staff couldn't be more welcoming. From the greeting and special accommodation Keith made when we checked in to the delectable breakfasts cooked up by Miss Annie and served by Barbara, this place will become your home away from home. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs courtyard room. It was very comfortable and noise was never an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely words!! Happy to help out however we can!! I'll send Annie a big Thank You from our pals in Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Creole gardens could not be in a better position for everything It was only a few minutes walk from the street car stop. We had a downstairs room which was very clean and comfortable.the breakfast was amazing and Annie was a treasure. On leaving the young man at the desk(sorry forgot your name) went to a lot of trouble to recommend us somewhere to move on to and even printed maps. A great place to visit mad and wonerful

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelae984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the gardens!! Next time ya visit come ready to listen to some great jams at French Quarter Fest!! It's always a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 163 in New Orleans
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,212 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing