We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a lovely stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a great long weekend stay here. Set in the quiet Garden District...a short trolley ride from Canal and Bourbon streets. Stayed in the bordello section.....yes there were cleaning issues, but this is a quirky B&B that welcomes you with open arms. Annie and Barbara provided a hearty breakfast every morning and sets you up for a wonderful day in the Crescent City. There is a calming oasis of a court yard and there is a fun hippie vibe. Highly recommended if you want to stay somewhere a bit different.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners....visit the website....bordello rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clydejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for the Lovely review Clyde! We're terribly sorry if you had any issues with cleaning. I do wish you'd been able to further elaborate so that I could be 100% positive of the issues to which you were referring. Given you stayed in the bordello rooms I can possibly assume that some of the painting and exterior work they were doing at the time may have contributed to excess dust in the vicinity of your room for which we are terribly sorry. Next time ya'll come back to the states give us a shout and we'll make sure to throw in some a little local lagniappe!!!! Hope to see ya'll again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    183
    44
    24
    11
See reviews for
128
373
61
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorena, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lot's of things to like about this place:
1) Great complimentary breakfast made to order.
2) Comfortable room that retained it's history
3) Convenient location in Garden District just a few blocks from French Quarter.
4) Free parking- a rarity in NOLA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Great to hear you had a good time with us. So glad you enjoyed the breakfast and appreciated the parking, hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First off, if you're looking for a 5 star experience, stay at some chain that you're comfortable with. But if you like personality, charm, excellent hospitality, perfect location and ease-of-access, this is the place for you to stay.
My boyfriend and I stayed here Sunday-Tuesday and loved it so much that we decided to stay on Wednesday, which they gave us a discount for just because they're awesome.
Anyway, here's a bulleted list so I don't go on a tangent of praise.

- Breakfast was delicious. I'd never had banana pancakes before. Yum!
- Keith (& everyone else) is full of advice/recommendations. ("Slice" (the pizza place) was recommended to us and is within walking distance... plus, it's delicious.)
- The beds are really comfortable.
- There's parking out front, and the streetcar is a block away. (You really don't need a car to get around New Orleans unless you're making day trips away from the city).
- There's plenty of natural light and mirrors for those who need places to get ready. The windowsills also function great for doing makeup. (They also have hair driers for anyone that's curious.)
- It's quiet, calm and clean, and we felt totally safe walking around there at night. Other guests were quiet and respectful, as well.

Note: Creole Gardens is an older place. The AC is a window unit, the doors might stick a bit, and there may be chipped paint. But the rooms are immaculately clean, the staff is super friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast is superb. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We love that you had such a great time with us that you decided to stay an extra night! We love our guests and are always thrilled to know they had a good time as well. It's great to know that we were able to help you out with finding a good meal in the neighborhood and you found it easy to get around, that's what we like to hear! Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Creole Gardens. We absolutely felt right at home. We are a family of four and we traveled with our bulldog. It was truly "pet friendly"--we started a bulldog convention. There were four bulldogs there--including our Mauser! Everything was great--breakfast was to die for. Ms. Annie and Barbara served up the best!!! Keith is great to help and keeps organization! Cannot remember all the names but the entire staff was wonderful and extremely cordial to us. I cannot wait to be able to return.
We took advantage of the streetcars/buses for transportation--which was wonderful. We were able to go without the worry of getting lost or trying to find parking. Plus it is very conveniently located on St. Charles next street over. We only took our car once and a cab once--otherwise we bought jazzy passes and hopped on/off all day! If you never stay at Creole Gardens you have missed--therefore book a room soon!
Ms. Annie, you have a wealth of knowledge--we miss you greatly!!!! The Murray's from Easley, SC

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
You know the rules at Creole Gardens!!! No crying unless they are tears of happiness!!! It was so great having all the bulldogs at the property at once! Ya'll really did start a small bull dog party! I'll make sure to show Annie this wonderful review! She'll find it just as touching I'm sure!! GUMBO GUMBO GUMBO!!!! C ya'll next time!!!!

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

From the moment I entered the entry gate, I immediately knew I was in the coolest place. Creole Gardens almost has a "beachy" feel to it, even though it is in the middle of a city. From the inviting colors on the walls, the pretty fountain in the courtyard- to the rooms all individually decorated with modern amenities and antiques, it is the sort of place I was happy to call my "home" for a week. The bathroom was modern and very hip. The kind ladies who run the kitchen served an awesome southern breakfast every morning, along with amazing brewed coffee. I really liked staying here. On top of everything else awesome, it was also very dog friendly. If you like dogs and don't have a dog, you can come hang out with other people's dogs here. If you have a dog, you can bring him or her. Creole Gardens is great!

Room Tip: If you have an elderly dog, make a special request to have a ground level room. My 14 year old lab n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monfrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We were so thrilled you had the chance to call us home for the week!! We love all of our guests reviews, but yours is quite touching because it shows a true appreciation for all the hard work that goes into making this Lower Garden District gym glisten! Next time you visit give us a heads up and we'll make sure to secure a ground floor room you!! Your kind words are truly appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sullivan, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed at creole gardens recently and was very impressed with the staff and the hotel ,made you feel very down home , and annie the breakfast cook was absolutely amazing, wish i had the time to sit and talk with her she knows a lot about the history of that house and the past owners, hotel is very close to saint charles ave. streetcar (1 block) so just park your vehicle and take the street car ,nice experience .when we go back to N.O. we wil most assuredly stay at Creole Gardens... AAAAAA+++++ paul from indiana

Room Tip: Try cottage 5 ,you will love it, also try cottage 8 for a little togetherness..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
So happy that ya'll made it down from Indiana!! You'll have to schedule some more time to visit in the future!! Annie has more stories than you could imagine. She told me just the other day that she's never met a stranger! Let us know you're returning well in advance and we'll see about a family suite if ya feel so inclined!!

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there while in New Orleans. We love this place. Everyone who works there is so friendly and full of information about the area. Miss Annie cooks the best breakfast ever. In addition she spins some old 45's in the evening. A one of a kind experience. Walk to Garden District, WWII Museum. One block from St Charles where you can catch the street car. Free parking. Thank you to Keith, Annie, Barbara, Joe and everyone for a very nice experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ma46ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I'd like to Thank Ya'll for staying with us!! I'll make sure to cascade the thanks to Annie, Barb, and Joe!! Hope ya'll can make it back in the near future!! You must try a trip in the spring!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
211 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing