We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambiance of the Garden District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ambiance of the Garden District”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Staff is so friendly and helpful!the rooms were clean and taken care of by housekeeping for the 3 days we stayed!The ladies in the kitchen are amazing cooks!Incorporating a true Cajun experience for us everyday!The courtyard was lovely and a wonderful place to hang out!The manager upgraded my daughter and her fiance's room to the honeymoon suite when we got there-at no extra charge! In a very safe area around the corner from many shops and restaurants and the streetcar takes you straight to the French Quarter!We will definitely stay here every time we visit New Orleans!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
So happy that ya'll chose to come and stay with us while your daughter was getting married! It was great having family members and friends in so many different rooms across the property! We sincerely hope that we were able to accommodate everyone's needs for the big day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    183
    44
    24
    11
See reviews for
131
378
61
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is our third time staying here and we love it. It's in the Garden District just a block away from the St Charles streetcar stop. As a former plantation owners house it has a beautiful faded grandeur about it, and the pet-friendly cottages that surround the courtyard were the slave quarters. They now make beautiful shabby-chic guest bedrooms. Keith and the staff are always friendly and the breakfasts are lovely. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WitchHazel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
So happy that ya'll made it back yet again!!! We'll always have a place for you here at the Gardens!! Thanks again for helping to spread the love!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place is a HUGE steal! It's located right by the trolly, which only costs $1.25! It's a block or so away from everything from fast food to fine dining!

THE ROOM!
We stayed in the Lulu Q Mahogany Hall of Mrestaurantrs in the Bordello Annex. Best sleep I have ever gotten in any "upscale" hotel.
It was immaculately cleaned and decked out in beautiful furnishings. I felt like royalty.

THE FOOD!!!! (MY GOD THE FOOD!)
Miss Annie is the best!!!! I'm that person that takes pictures of their food.....With Miss Annie I didn't have time to snap a pic as I was too busy inhaling it! I would have happily purchased her breakfast at a restaurant for $20 The people that work up front are absolutely delightful and know a ton about where to go for various items or reasons.

BOTTOM LINE: YES! STAY HERE! DO IT! BOOK NOW!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Whoa Whoa Whoa!!! (In the words of Annie) Thanks for sharing such a great review! Indeed we are only blocks away from the Street Car as well as many establishments to grab some grub! We're really happy that you recognized all the extras that we throw in to make your stay special!! Hope to have ya'll stay with us again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a great long weekend stay here. Set in the quiet Garden District...a short trolley ride from Canal and Bourbon streets. Stayed in the bordello section.....yes there were cleaning issues, but this is a quirky B&B that welcomes you with open arms. Annie and Barbara provided a hearty breakfast every morning and sets you up for a wonderful day in the Crescent City. There is a calming oasis of a court yard and there is a fun hippie vibe. Highly recommended if you want to stay somewhere a bit different.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners....visit the website....bordello rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clydejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for the Lovely review Clyde! We're terribly sorry if you had any issues with cleaning. I do wish you'd been able to further elaborate so that I could be 100% positive of the issues to which you were referring. Given you stayed in the bordello rooms I can possibly assume that some of the painting and exterior work they were doing at the time may have contributed to excess dust in the vicinity of your room for which we are terribly sorry. Next time ya'll come back to the states give us a shout and we'll make sure to throw in some a little local lagniappe!!!! Hope to see ya'll again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lot's of things to like about this place:
1) Great complimentary breakfast made to order.
2) Comfortable room that retained it's history
3) Convenient location in Garden District just a few blocks from French Quarter.
4) Free parking- a rarity in NOLA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Great to hear you had a good time with us. So glad you enjoyed the breakfast and appreciated the parking, hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First off, if you're looking for a 5 star experience, stay at some chain that you're comfortable with. But if you like personality, charm, excellent hospitality, perfect location and ease-of-access, this is the place for you to stay.
My boyfriend and I stayed here Sunday-Tuesday and loved it so much that we decided to stay on Wednesday, which they gave us a discount for just because they're awesome.
Anyway, here's a bulleted list so I don't go on a tangent of praise.

- Breakfast was delicious. I'd never had banana pancakes before. Yum!
- Keith (& everyone else) is full of advice/recommendations. ("Slice" (the pizza place) was recommended to us and is within walking distance... plus, it's delicious.)
- The beds are really comfortable.
- There's parking out front, and the streetcar is a block away. (You really don't need a car to get around New Orleans unless you're making day trips away from the city).
- There's plenty of natural light and mirrors for those who need places to get ready. The windowsills also function great for doing makeup. (They also have hair driers for anyone that's curious.)
- It's quiet, calm and clean, and we felt totally safe walking around there at night. Other guests were quiet and respectful, as well.

Note: Creole Gardens is an older place. The AC is a window unit, the doors might stick a bit, and there may be chipped paint. But the rooms are immaculately clean, the staff is super friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast is superb. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We love that you had such a great time with us that you decided to stay an extra night! We love our guests and are always thrilled to know they had a good time as well. It's great to know that we were able to help you out with finding a good meal in the neighborhood and you found it easy to get around, that's what we like to hear! Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Creole Gardens. We absolutely felt right at home. We are a family of four and we traveled with our bulldog. It was truly "pet friendly"--we started a bulldog convention. There were four bulldogs there--including our Mauser! Everything was great--breakfast was to die for. Ms. Annie and Barbara served up the best!!! Keith is great to help and keeps organization! Cannot remember all the names but the entire staff was wonderful and extremely cordial to us. I cannot wait to be able to return.
We took advantage of the streetcars/buses for transportation--which was wonderful. We were able to go without the worry of getting lost or trying to find parking. Plus it is very conveniently located on St. Charles next street over. We only took our car once and a cab once--otherwise we bought jazzy passes and hopped on/off all day! If you never stay at Creole Gardens you have missed--therefore book a room soon!
Ms. Annie, you have a wealth of knowledge--we miss you greatly!!!! The Murray's from Easley, SC

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
You know the rules at Creole Gardens!!! No crying unless they are tears of happiness!!! It was so great having all the bulldogs at the property at once! Ya'll really did start a small bull dog party! I'll make sure to show Annie this wonderful review! She'll find it just as touching I'm sure!! GUMBO GUMBO GUMBO!!!! C ya'll next time!!!!

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing