We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be sure to check room size”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #84 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“be sure to check room size”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were traveling with another couple...so we needed a room for 4 people. They gave us a room with 2 queen beds ...but the room was the size of a prison cell. (18 by 12). plus very tiny bathroom.
Staff was helpful.

Room Tip: just be sure to check the size of the room before you check in..They should put signs in the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladibug888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I apologize we failed to meet your expectations. I do hope you give us another chance and experience one of our larger rooms. Due to your comments we will be adding room size descriptors on our website to help our future guests. In general to help our Tripadvisor community, as price goes up, so does the room size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    316
    138
    70
    48
See reviews for
172
309
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I saw lukewarm revues on here about the Blake Hotel but we decided to give it a try on a recent business trip to New Orleans due to the great price. We absolutely loved it! It is a very nice hotel with fantastic accommodations and super fantastic service! Jon' Tierre, one of the desk clerks, was one of the nicest people who helped us get oriented to the city when we checked in and gave us a sample of great southern hospitality with her charming personality and helpful suggestions. Thank you Jon'Tierre! However, everyone at this hotel was very kind and nice throughout our stay from the cleaning ladies who made sure we have a very clean room each day and were very friendly to a young maintenance guy, sorry I forgot his name, who gave me directions on how to get to a location across the bridge that I needed to go to in Westbank or bend not sure how its called. The other great things, while the rooms were small because it is an older hotel that adds a nice flavor to the business district, the beds were super comfortable and nice clean sheets with a good thread count. (that is important ;-) We were very surprised to get such nice rooms and great service for the relatively low price that we paid. If I get to go back to New Orleans anytime soon, I won't even think twice before booking at the Blake Hotel. Thanks y'all! You were great!

Room Tip: Might ask if they have bigger rooms. Not much space in 906 and probably other rooms like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We very much appreciate and value your feedback. It was shared with Jon’Tierre and the rest of our staff. It is nice when a staff member is mentioned in a review. Especially when we review them in our staff meetings. It always creates a sense of excitement. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The location is "near" the French Quarter but is quite a hike from Jackson Square (for instance). I'd hoped for a bit more of a New Orleans French Quarter type feel, but that was totally absent. If you're there for other reasons (ie. business etc.), it's located in the Central Business District of town. Although the hotel had a relatively nice interior, we could have been staying on the 9th floor of any other big city hotel and have had the same view out the windows of big office buildings. All of the people at the front desk were very friendly and on top of things. The room was nice with a sizeable bathroom and dark wood furniture that gave it some warmth. Comfy bed that wasn't too soft and we both slept well. If you're interested in spending a bit of time in the French Quarter, I'd recommend something IN or nearer to the actual French Quarter area. Also, you'll likely find something with the architecture and a bit more feel to put you in that Bourbon Street state of mind. We spent around $180 on the room. The prices vary so much based on what activities are going on down there (festivals etc.) and day of week. As is the case with most places in the area, there's a (virtually mandatory) $30-$40 valet fee for your vehicle. All in all, The Blake Hotel was a nice place to stay for a night but just wished we'd seen a few pics first so we could have made a better choice for what we were looking for. We've recently stayed at The Andrew Jackson and St. Pierre as well. They're more to our liking being down in the Quarter itself. Also, another consideration is inclimate weather. We had to have our Cafe Du Mond fix in the morning and had to hoof it quite a distance and got caught in a torrential downpour that didn't stop on the long walk both down AND back. Had we been closer to the middle of the action, it would have been more manageable. Almost forgot, had trouble getting connected to WIFI from my room. Evidently that wasn't an uncommon thing from what others said.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is located right next to the French Quarter which is excellent considering the price. I paid $20 more to stay here than a crummy motel a few nights earlier. The service was excellent here, the girls at the front desk were always happy to help.
The hotel has great in room original features, nice alcoves and such, lovely high ceilings....little things that make a difference. The rooms are very nice, cosy and comfortable. There are excellent amenities close by to the hotel with a very nice coffee shop on the lobby floor. I would definitely stay here again.
Definitely recommended if looking to stay in New Orleans and visit the French Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_Halket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Lewis,
Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Comments like yours provide our staff with sense of pride to continue to grow in creating an enjoyable experience for our guests. Your comments will be shared with the rest of our staff today. I hope this experience has solidified Blake Hotel as your choice hotel in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I always felt that staying at an Ascend property would be a little extra and special, but the Blake
Hotel failed miserably in that regard. This hotel would not even be a good Quality Inn property.
The room was very small and had only one wastebasket in the room. I had to ask three times to
get another one for the bathroom. When we first went up to our room we noticed that the carpet
in the hallway was littered.....and still was 2 days later! If we had not stayed at another Ascend
property the night before, we probably would not have been so letdown, but the other location
was what we always expected at an Ascend Collection property. It didn't help either to find that
the desk personnel had an 'attitude', especially the evening ones.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolleysegap172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Specifically we used your review in our stand up meetings this morning to ensure each and everyone one of us deliver the quality expected from ourselves and our guests at an Ascend property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We needed 10 rooms for 17 people, Andy in Group Sales was able to accommodate our group at a reasonable price. The Blake Hotel and the rooms were tastefully done and very clean, thanks Kim. All the staff was helpful and very friendly.
Convenient location in the Central Business District walking distance to everything we wanted.




Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny S, General Manager at Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We very much appreciate and value your review and will share it in our next team meeting. It is always nice to receive positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great location - central to downtown and French Quarter and on the street car line, recently updated with nice furnishings, clean, staff friendly and accommodating, restaurant with full serve bar adjacent to hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
1,239 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#82 of 162 in New Orleans
528 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,195 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Address: 500 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3410 (Formerly Blake Hotel New Orleans, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of The Big Easy, our newly remodeled Blake Hotel,an Ascend Collection, is the perfect choice for lodging in New Orleans. Whether you’re in the area for business, traveling with family for vacation, or just passing through, you’ll be provided with a combination of sophisticated décor, modern amenities, a convenient location and helpful service.Let us welcome you to our updated New Orleans hotel, recently featured on the Today Show as a “star-worthy destination.” We offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 37″ LCD TVs with free premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, plush bedding and convenient blackout drapes, in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, safes and work desks. We also provide access to our on-site fitness center with state-of-the-art ProMaxima® equipment. All of our rooms are equipped with complimentary Bath & Body Works® toiletries. We offer easy access to many local restaurants and attractionsExplore the many other featured New Orleans accommodations and amenities that help us create the perfect home-away-from-home experience!A Top Downtown New Orleans Hotel with an Unbeatable location. You and your traveling companions will be able to save both time and transportation costs by lodging right here at our Downtown New Orleans hotel, minutes from many popular local area attractions.Take a stroll through scenic Jackson Square; get in the groove with smooth music at a local jazz club; or cheer on the Saints football team at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Whatever you choose to do in The Big Easy, you’ll never be more than a short drive or streetcar ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing