We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel; Excellent Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; Excellent Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Last year I switched hotels and stayed for a week at the Hampton Inn after one horrible night’s stay at the Holiday Inn Express (now the Cotton Exchange Hotel) across the street. I enjoyed the Hampton Inn so much last year that I decided to stay again for another week when I was in NOLA this past March.

The hotel is conveniently located on Carondelet Street, just a few blocks from the French Quarter. Carondelet Street turns into Bourbon Street about three city blocks down from the hotel once you cross over Canal Street. The trolley line runs right in front of the hotel, so catching a ride is very easy. From the hotel it’s an easy walk to most of the city’s popular restaurants and attractions.

On both stays, I found the staff to be super friendly and very accommodating. Perhaps it’s because of my Hilton Honors status, but on both visits, I was given a very large suite with nice views in either direction. On each stay, my room was huge; high ceilings, enormous windows and lot’s of charm (a nice break from the cookie cutter chain hotel look). In both incidences I found my room to be very clean; beds and pillows extremely comfortable. As I stayed for an entire week both times, it was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

The hotel provides little perks that makes the stay a little more enjoyable; news paper waiting outside the door every morning, freshly baked cookies at the reception desk each evening and a “complementary” breakfast every morning. Mind you, it’s typical Hampton Inn fare, but still good enough to start the day. The hotel also hosts a Manager’s Reception every Wednesday evening; complementary beer, wine, appetizers and desserts; you could make a meal out of what they serve, but with all the great restaurants in the city, why would you want to?

The front desk staff was great. They provided directions when I needed them, my wakeup call was always right on time and when I needed a taxi they had one ready and waiting for me. My only complaint was that on my last stay, after being out of my room for the entire day, when I returned around 6:00 pm I found that my room had not been cleaned. However, all it took was one call to the front desk and within half an hour my room was made up from top to bottom.

All in all my stays at this hotel were both extremely positive. I’ll definitely stay at the Hampton Inn the next time I’m in the Crescent City!

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors member
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    599
    139
    35
    22
See reviews for
403
597
74
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

This hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The staff from management on down to housekeeping were wonderful, professional and always helpful. They were always willing to aid you and they did it with a smile on their face. This is a great location and the rooms were large and very comfortable. they had so many little touches that made our stay great. If you needed something in your room, they were there within minutes. We received a newspaper at our door every morning; they give us a managers reception with food and drinks (all free); it was great. We received a free hot breakfast, not just muffins and coffee. They kitchen help attended to our needs and made us feel special. We had a group of 12 people and everyone was pleased and talking about what a good job they do at this hotel. Getting 12 people to agree really means something. This was oour third visit to New Orleans and the first time staying at Hampton Inn, it will not be the last.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60811Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE LONDON
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on a 12 day road trip and this was the worst! We were on the 12th floor with a view of a white brick wall!!

We booked a kingsize room for us and our teenage son - when we got in the room there was no bed for him - they charged us ANOTHER $30 for a rollaway bed which barely fitted in the tiny room.

The room was old and dirty and badly needed upgrading - and if they want to continue charging these prices they really should do that.

I would NEVER stay here again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Greetings from New Orleans! First I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to New Orleans! I apologize about the hotel being old, but we are currently working with architects and designers come up with a new, updated plan. The first project we shall tackle is the complete renovations of all the bathrooms on site. We are hopeful this will be complete by the end of this year. We will have new flat screen TV's in place by the end of June 2011. We are hopeful that the room renovations will begin this year and continue on until completion. Perhaps you can try us again in the future as we would love to have you!
Best Regards,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Did I mention how old and outdated this property is? I have stayed in several different hotels in New Orleans and realize that most properties are quite old in this city, but this Hampton Inn was the worst.

Let me start with the positives. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The location is great and is less than 2 blocks from Canal and Burbon Street. The bed was comfortable, internet was complimentary, and the channel selection on tv was better than most hotels. There was also a refrigerator and microwave in my room which was nice.

Now the problems.....The owners should really invest some money in this property and renovate the rooms. I'm almost suprised that Hilton allows them to carry the Hampton name. The rooms are big with very tall ceilings, but this also makes the room feel empty and cold. The whole property has a certain smell to it, almost as if you were visiting a nursing home. I think my room has the original carpeting and couch from the 1870s and I almost felt like wearing sandals in my shower because the tub basin just looked gross. I've never seen such dirty windows in my lifetime and my room also had peeling paint and cracked calking. I was here for an entire week which also included Jazz Fest weekend. The weekend rate shot up to $249 per night which is absolutely ridiculous! If a hotel is going to charge $249 per night I am going to expect some phenominal service and facilities. I only hope the owners take a portion of that inflated rate and make some much needed renovations. As a Hilton Diamond member I was quite dissapointed and will not return next time I am in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Greetings from New Orleans! First I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to New Orleans! I apologize about the hotel being old, but we are, as I type, having architects and designers come up with a new, updated plan. The first project we shall tackle is the complete renovations of all the bathrooms on site. We are hopeful this will be complete by the end of this year. We will have new flat screen TV's in place by the end of June 2011. We are hopeful that the room renovations will begin this year and continue on until completion. Perhaps you can try us again in the future as we would love to have you!
Best Regards,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Only a few blocks from boubon and a short walk to the casino. The rooms were decent size but dated, especially the bathroom. The bell staff was very friendly, helpful and grateful. The house cleaning at this hotel was so horrific that I would say it offsets the location benefit unless you make sure to note it at check in. We were there for 4 days just before and including Easter weekend and outside of the minuture trash can being dumped and the bed made (sheets were not even changed one day) very little was done. We had several empty coffee cups on a table and crumbs from a chips bag that were literally left there twice. The trash can was so small that we had to leave the newspaper and empty water bottle on the floor next to the can and they were left as well. The tub had some dripped shampoo on the rear of the tub that stayed the duration as well. It made me wonder what I should touch. It was a real shame the cleaning was so horrible because the location is close enough to being convenient and far
enough away to get away from the excitement.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed at this property for 3 nights and were pleased with almost everything. Location is good - a few blocks from all the French Quarter has to offer but far enough away to avoid all of the noise. We walked everywhere and never felt unsafe. There were a few pan handlers here and there, but they were harmless. The hotel is in a charming historic old building, The rooms were nice and big enough for us. Our view was of a roof and a wall, but we spent most of our time out and about, so it didn't matter. The breakfast was nice and there was a manager's reception one evening which inluded appetizers and beverages. The manager was very nice, helpful and attentive. We had a problem with our shower head and he had it repaired promptly. We arrived way before check in time on our first day and he got us in right away which was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveMyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I can not believe how welcoming and kind the staff at this hotel was... The room was giant. When I had an issue with the heat, they upgraded me to an even larger room. At this price I never expected it all to be so nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soundasleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,825 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing