We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place in the South”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Charming place in the South”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during my first visit to New Orleans. I wish i had of know how great this hotel would be...because I would have stayed longer!!! Not only was this place very pretty and modern, the rooms were very big considering other hotels i stayed at on my 3 month trip. The rooms were very comfortable and modern, and considering the price of less than $100 a night it was a bargain!!! I really loved the southern charm it had, even the lobby too. The light fixtures were so New Orleans, it was lovely!

Breakfast was awesome, so much to choose from and the housekeeping staff were really nice! They even bought around bottles of water and mars bars one evening, so sweet of them!!!

The reception staff were amazing...one woman in particular Letrenda. That girl needs a raise!!! She was amazing!! The BEST service i had all trip and really ever! She went above and beyond and was such a lovely person to talk to. I waited for my shuttle on the last morning I was there, and while I waited about 30 minutes and was watching Young and the Restless on the tv in the lobby, she took the time to speak with me while I sat there. She was just fantastic!!! I plan on returning to New Orleans in the next year or so for a MUCH longer stay and i tell you what, i would come back to this place just to see her again! Do not let her go!!!! Can't wait to return to this hotel, it is one of my favourite hotels!!! Just so charming and warm!!!
Thanks guys and Latrenda for a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    638
    154
    39
    25
See reviews for
441
640
77
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My wife and I met up with friends for a fun weekend in NOLA and stayed at this Hampton Inn property on Carondolet. The location is excellent, one block off Canal and the Quarter. It is close enough to the action, but far enough way to get a great night's sleep. We had a king with sitting area in a corner room. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the shower was nice and hot, and there was ample room. The staff was also fantastic. The level of service was comparable to what I would expect at top-end Hilton properties. The valet was $30, but that is to be expected in the city. They were prompt every time we needed the car and always helpful with directions. If you are mainly going to stay in the Quarter on your trip, I would recommend NOT renting a car and take a $33 cab ride (each way) from MSY and walk or take the trolley around the city.

Room Tip: If your room is facing Carondelet, get a higher up room because the trolley runs on that street. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Chose this Hampton Inn on Carondelet because it's two blocks to Bourbon Street. The hotel provides a good room for the money, excellent breakfast. Our room was a "king study with sofa". It was large with flat-screen TV, one sink, one three-drawer chest, and a sofa-bed that Goodwill likely would not accept. Housekeeping was slow and unresponsive, the room was dimly lit. Overall, the place felt "tired".

Room Tip: Try the Hampton Inn on St. Charles. Learned the trolley stops at the front door. Will take you rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEM4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I read many of the reviews before booking this Hampton Inn. Some were all praise; some were a bit brutal. Based on the location and the many compliments of the staff, we booked a room for one night after arriving in New Orleans from a trans-atlantic cruise. As previously stated by others, the staff were friendly, professional, helpful, and knowledgable about New Orleans. We arrived early (9:30a.m.) and checked in. A room was not ready, so Bryan, a super nice and cheerful bellhop, securely stored our luggage while we set out to wander the Quarter. We returned around 2:30p.m. and retired to our room for a rest from a lot of walking.

The room was a standard room with a king bed which was quite comfortable. Our view was of the building next door. I imagine that is basically the view from any room due to the location among other high rise buildings. Yes, the furniture did show some signs of wear with a few dings and dents. However, it was nothing monumental. We enjoyed having a flat screen TV, a microwave and a refrigerator in the room. The bathtub surround showed some age and discoloration; but again, truly nothing worth complaining about.

The breakfast offerings were quite good and had a multitude of choices; eggs, sausage, gravy, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc.. The afternoon cookies were a nice treat also.

All in all, a really good night's stay in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

You read that correctly. I reported several problems with the bathroom:
1) Feces on the wall
2) Water is SCALDING hot
3) Toilet doesn't work

After several calls, NONE of these were addressed or rectified. I had to personally use one of their towles and clean off the feces from the bathroom wall.

Terrible service. Stayed two nights. They refunded one night. I am still NOT happy.

NOLA was great. I love this city. This hotel was very poor.

Room Tip: Ask for one without feces on the wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinlight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed here for a conference and was totally happy with our choice! Close to everything, friendly staff, free breakfast and free wifi! The hotel is older but well maintained. I am very particular about where I sleep and this met my standards because it is clear they have done updates over time even though the building is old. I gave it a four for cleanliness only because of its age and little nitpicky details in the bathroom that come as a result. Overall we were very comfy and satisfied. :-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackeneazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

A downtown hotel in an old, but well-kept building, the location is perfect for tourists. A two-block walk to the French Quarter, yet far enough away to avoid the noise, especially at night. The old green St. Charles Avenue streetcar stops less than half a block away, making for an easy trip to the Garden District or the (not-to-be-missed) National World War II Museum. Two blocks from the hotel is Canal Street, where the red Canal Street streetcar can take you to the waterfront (Aquarium, Imax theater, Harrah's casino, the waterfront mall and cruise ship terminal), and a transfer to the Riverfront Streetcar gets you to the convention center or the French Market. As for the hotel itself, we had a corner room that was huge and a bath to match (the latter could use a renovation, but that's the only minor negative thing I can think of). We particularly appreciated the quiet, efficient heating/AC, another thing that's important for a good night's sleep but is often lacking, especially in older buildings. Add a flat-screen TV with lots of cable channels, terrific bedding, and solid wi-fi, and it's hard to think of anything that is missing. The place was simply comfortable -- and comforting -- after returning from a hard day of sightseeing. We spent five nights and actually looked forward to returning to the room every day. As with all Hamptons, a free buffet breakfast is included and this was one of the better ones we've encountered. In addition to the usual assortment of cold items, there were two hot dishes each day. One was usually either scrambled eggs, a cheese omelet, or french toast sticks, and the other was sausage, turkey sausage or ham, though one morning it was biscuits and gravy. The usual fruit cocktail was supplemented with fresh bananas and apples, which we particularly welcomed. The service in the breakfast room was outstanding: nothing was left unreplenished for long and the trash cans were emptied promptly. And that brings me to my last comment: the staff, both at breakfast and on the front desk, were really friendly and exceptionally helpful. All in all, a terrific stay at a very reasonable price. I'll gladly recommend this hotel to any friends visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are probably quieter, especially if they front on Carondelet Street where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing