We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Positioned For Exploration of New Orleans or Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn in preparation for our week long cruise out of Nola to the Western Caribbean. And while there are other Hampton Inns in town, this turned out to be the ideal location, a great jumping off point for exploring the French Quarter, the funky downtown sector and yet not being in a noisy locale.

The Downtown/French Quarter location is just 1 1/2 blocks from the action on Bourbon Street, easy walking distance to dozens of wonderful eateries, and conveniently located on the St. Charles Streetcar line. This HI is also located adjacent to a popular Mall and during weekdays you will have the added bonus of a food court and extra food delivery service.

Besides the very good hot breakfast Hampton Inns provide and the extra comfy bedding and fresh, hot cookies upon check in, you are just half a block from a larger convenience store and the added treat of Brothers Chicken, some of the tastiest fried poultry with the addition of some authentic New Orleans sides...don't miss the tasty spiced meat pies for example...so good we went there twice, and my Other Half is still talking about it!

Another tip, for just a couple dollars ride the St. Charles Streetcar all the way to the end of the line, past Tulane University and back...you will have a very inexpensive, up close and personal interaction with Nola locals as well as be treated to views of some of the most expensive and historical real estate in town!

Back at the Hampton Inn, the staff was friendly and helpful at all times, and at checkout, secured us a taxi, (fixed rate), for our short trip down to the Cruise Terminal, now fully rested after the 2 nights at one of our favorite hotel chains...highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms above 6th floor and toward the back are quietest.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

We are so happy that you had a great stay! I have to agree with you about it being the perfect location, but then again, I am biased. LOL
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experiences on Trip Advisor, and I hope your cruise was one to remember!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,606 - 1,612 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

2nd time visit. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Loved the charm and character of the rooms - beds very comfy and rooms very clean. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding! There was everything you could imagine and staff were on hand replenishing and tidying. Excellent location. Will return again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Hi Kathy!

I am so pleased that you liked us so much, you returned for a second visit! We pride ourselves on customer service, so it is a great feeling to know our guests notice this! I appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about the hotel on Trip Advisor!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Every time I am in town on business, this is the place I stay. I am close enough to the French Quarter to enjoy the night life, yet still in an area where I can relax and enjoy some peace and quiet.

I highly recommend this establishment for those that want to be close to the Quarter for great food and nightlife until all hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us when you visit New Orleans! I know you have many hotels to choose from, and I appreciate the fact that you choose to stay with us each time you're in town! I have to agree that the location is ideal for almost any reason you are traveling to our great city. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences on Trip Advisor!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Nice Hotel just a few blocks from the French Quarter. Yet cheaper and certainly more quiet! Was upgraded to a very large room with a fridge, sofa, and coffee table. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Just wanted to stop by and say thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We strive to do our best, and it always helps to hear comments like this. I will pass along to the staff the comments on Trip Advisor.
Take Care
Tricia Vise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Hampton is quite a good hotel, in a really good location. Only a couple of minutes walk to tBourbon Street. Breakfast Ok by Hampton standards, not the best but certainly not the worst. Staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the gorgeous Michelle, who went out of her way to help two Aussie tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

I am so pleased that you guys chose to stay with us on your recent trip to New Orleans! I will pass along the "kudos" to Michelle; I know she will appreciate your kind words! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experiences on Trip Advisor. We look forward to feedback from guests. We hope to see you again if you come to New Orleans.
Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very clean hotel. They were doing construction on the outside of the building giving the hotel a little facelift but we it never interfered with our stay. The bellhops were excellent and courteous. The rooms are very spacious with high ceilings. We had two rooms booked-One a king suite (which was very large -get a corner room!) and the other had two queen beds- The staff was wonderful and helpful- The breakfast was great and had a different variety of food each morning. The hotel is very secure! You have to have your room key to operate the elevators and to get to the breakfast area on the fourth floor. The only downside of this is if your key doesnt work - you can't operate the elevators without it. The location was great as well- just a block off of Canal and right across from Bourbon but we never heard any noise because we were on the 10th floor. It was a great stay and will stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a high floor and a corner room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajuntravelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My High School Class decided to venture to New Orleans for our 40th Class Reunion. We chose the Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter for its location and price. The Staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating in assisting us with our pre-arrival needs. The hotel was clean, rooms comfortable and the FREE HOT breakfast was a winner. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable weekend. We were only a couple of short blocks from the French Quarter and really great eating establishments. The hotel is right on the trolley line. You only have to step out of the front door for a taxi,so transportation is no problem. All in all, this hotel is a great value for the money.

I will definitelly choose this hotel for future visits to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,461 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £92 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing