We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We spent only one night but the location was just a short walk to shopping and Bourbon street. We usually stay at Hampton Inns because of their cleanliness and wonderful bedding. This one although old was very clean and the room large. The staff was phenomenal. The valet service was extremely helpful And polite! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kacohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us when you visited New Orleans! I really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor! I know you mentioned the hotel is old, but clean....I have to agree with you. I know you had to have noticed that we are currently under renovation; perhaps when we finish you can come back and visit!
Take care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    611
    139
    37
    23
See reviews for
408
608
74
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I decided to take our twins to NOLA to celebrate their 21st birthday. This hotel did not disappoint. After doing some research there aren't many hotels that offer 2 queens beds. This was a must since I was essentially rooming with 4 men and we did not want to have the added expense of 2 rooms. Issac at the front desk greeted us with a smile. His infectious enthusiasm and professionalism was great. We arrived early and our room was not ready however Issac took care of us by offering a place to freshen up and change as well as quickly arranging to have our luggage stored. He quickly offered suggestions on where to eat, where to go as well as where to avoid. The hotel is a very short walk ( 2 short blocks) to Bourbon Street. Being on Cardonelet street was central, we walked everywhere, from the Riverwalk all the way to the French Market. Our room was very spacious with 2 queen beds. We definitely had enough room for 4 adults. Although the hotel is currently undergoing renovations, there was very little disruption to us. Other than the occasional construction worker in the hall or the faint smell of paint we barely noticed. The free breakfast is fantastic. They had many options including waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage as well as fruit, yogurt and oatmeal. Definitely a great way to save money, well worth it. The only negative I can say is while our room was clean I did have to call down to the desk everyday because housekeeping always forgot something whether it was enough towels (3 towels for 4 people) or no toilet paper. Once I called they always came up quickly with the forgotten items, but still how do you forget to replace the toilet paper. Maybe housekeeping needs a checklist for each room so they can review it before the finish cleaning. All in all I would absolutely recommend this hotel for the price, location and breakfast. We would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainecaraccio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I am so pleased to hear that the construction barely disrupted you guys! I have been so worried about that, and it's such wonderful news to know that's going as planned. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while you all celebrated their 21st birthday! I am going to speak with my Executive Housekeeper regarding the replenishment of items in guest rooms. I am with you....not real sure why they wouldn't replace toilet paper. This is why I appreciate people either completing surveys Hilton sends out or reviewing me on Trip Advisor...I get great feedback! Thanks again, and I hope you come back and visit us again real soon!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just a Short visit at nola. Hotel was just Perfect for that. Nice situated, close to Bourbon street. Nice and helpful stuff at reception, nice room, Good breakfast. Good Velvet Parking

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to New Orleans.....even if it was short! :-) I wanted to tell you how much I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! Glad you had a nice stay! Visit us again soon...

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Convenient location to French quarter. Easy walk to bourbon street and restaurants and CVs pharmacy. Met expectations of a Hampton hotel. Nice hot breakfast. Even received free water and Snickers in the room. Comfy beds and pillows.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OmahaNETraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 13 July 2012
I just wanted to say thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to New Orleans. Hopefully you can come back and visit us once our renovations are complete.

Take care!
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

One short block from Canal St. and the French Quarter this hotel is a real find. It is in an old building that has been renovated into a hotel. Good breakfast and manager reception. I really enjoyed my stay there. Excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike60984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you visited New Orleans! I appreciate that you took the time to review us on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your business and hope you visit us again soon!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is one of my favorite places to stay in New Orleans. I love the character of the old building and the large windows and rooms. It is very easy to walk to Canal and Bourbon Streets and is convenient to many other businesses and restaurants. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful with suggestions on places to visits and good places to eat. One of which is Daisy Duke's--across the street and down about a block from the hotel. I have eaten there a few times and it has been good every time. If you go, ask for a corner room, if available, as these rooms are even bigger with lots of windows. The hotel is attached to a food court with a few little places that are quick and easy to pop into for a simple meal during the day. All in all, a good place to stay while in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 11 July 2012
I am so excited that this is one of your favorite places to stay when you visit New Orleans! We appreciate your business! Perhaps by the next time you visit, we will have completed renovations as we are converting to a Hampton Inn & Suites! We will have suites in addition to rooms, so you will have to request one of those. I will definitely pass along the kudos to the staff for a job well-done! We hope to see you again soon!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a USA road trip. Unfortunately when we were there, there were works going on outside the hotel, to the exterior/front. This meant that the hotel signage and front were completely obscured. There was no signage showing that it was a hotel so we actually drove round the one way streets a few times before realising it was the hotel. It was a shame that they didn't even put any temporary signage up to alert guests that they were at the right place.

The location was good, on the edge of the French Quarter just a couple of blocks from a main street with lots of shops and stores. It was also ideally located for walking into the heart of the French Quarter, such as Bourbon Street (horrible tacky place) and Frenchman Street (great live music and restaurants).

The hotel room was nice but rather small. We had three people and had expected two double beds but there was just one, so we had to get a rollaway bed added and there wasn't a lot of room. The free breakfast was however fantastic - a great spread of lots of different types of food and juices, teas, coffee etc. We were very impressed with the breakfast.

The front desk staff were very helpful and even gave us some restaurant recommendations. Overall this is a really nice hotel, good location and good service, great breakfast just a shame that we could not find it because of the lack of signage!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R58C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and that the location was convenient for you! We’re about your troubles with finding the hotel, we should have a more prominent display of our location while we’re renovating. If you travel again to our area, we hope we have the opportunity to show you our improvements.
Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing