We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I live in Destin, Fl & travel to New Orleans frequently. I have stayed at many of the hotels in New Orleans. I must say this hampton inn is our FAVORITE! Never even heard a peep from the construction. Every staff member we come in contact with is extremely polite. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are huge & very clean. The breakfast is a wonderful bonus! The valet staff is always nice & speedy! Keep up the good work! We look forward to many more stays!

Room Tip: have never had a bad view. of course we love the NOLA views! It is a nice change from Destin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 13 August 2012
It's funny that you live in Destin and travel here, and I live in NOLA and travel to Destin! I love Destin just about as much as you love NOLA. I'm so happy that you choose to stay with us when you come visit the city! It is so nice to hear that the construction is not an inconvenience for you; I always worry about that! Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate it! Hopefully we will see you again very soon!
Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    637
    154
    39
    24
See reviews for
440
639
77
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed one night and am so glad I did. My room was very clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. The hotel is very close to the French Quarter; so I walked to Bourbon Street, Cafe du Monde, Riverwalk and Canal Street. The front desk people were so friendly, professional and helpful. The manager's reception presentation was very good, and there were various breakfast items. I am so glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronilynn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I wanted to take a moment to thank you for staying with us during yur visit to New Orleans! I'm so glad you liked the hotel, location and staff! Please come back and see us once our renovations are complete; we are so excited! I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to rate us on Trip Advisor!
Take care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We spent only one night but the location was just a short walk to shopping and Bourbon street. We usually stay at Hampton Inns because of their cleanliness and wonderful bedding. This one although old was very clean and the room large. The staff was phenomenal. The valet service was extremely helpful And polite! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kacohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us when you visited New Orleans! I really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor! I know you mentioned the hotel is old, but clean....I have to agree with you. I know you had to have noticed that we are currently under renovation; perhaps when we finish you can come back and visit!
Take care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I decided to take our twins to NOLA to celebrate their 21st birthday. This hotel did not disappoint. After doing some research there aren't many hotels that offer 2 queens beds. This was a must since I was essentially rooming with 4 men and we did not want to have the added expense of 2 rooms. Issac at the front desk greeted us with a smile. His infectious enthusiasm and professionalism was great. We arrived early and our room was not ready however Issac took care of us by offering a place to freshen up and change as well as quickly arranging to have our luggage stored. He quickly offered suggestions on where to eat, where to go as well as where to avoid. The hotel is a very short walk ( 2 short blocks) to Bourbon Street. Being on Cardonelet street was central, we walked everywhere, from the Riverwalk all the way to the French Market. Our room was very spacious with 2 queen beds. We definitely had enough room for 4 adults. Although the hotel is currently undergoing renovations, there was very little disruption to us. Other than the occasional construction worker in the hall or the faint smell of paint we barely noticed. The free breakfast is fantastic. They had many options including waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage as well as fruit, yogurt and oatmeal. Definitely a great way to save money, well worth it. The only negative I can say is while our room was clean I did have to call down to the desk everyday because housekeeping always forgot something whether it was enough towels (3 towels for 4 people) or no toilet paper. Once I called they always came up quickly with the forgotten items, but still how do you forget to replace the toilet paper. Maybe housekeeping needs a checklist for each room so they can review it before the finish cleaning. All in all I would absolutely recommend this hotel for the price, location and breakfast. We would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainecaraccio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I am so pleased to hear that the construction barely disrupted you guys! I have been so worried about that, and it's such wonderful news to know that's going as planned. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while you all celebrated their 21st birthday! I am going to speak with my Executive Housekeeper regarding the replenishment of items in guest rooms. I am with you....not real sure why they wouldn't replace toilet paper. This is why I appreciate people either completing surveys Hilton sends out or reviewing me on Trip Advisor...I get great feedback! Thanks again, and I hope you come back and visit us again real soon!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just a Short visit at nola. Hotel was just Perfect for that. Nice situated, close to Bourbon street. Nice and helpful stuff at reception, nice room, Good breakfast. Good Velvet Parking

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to New Orleans.....even if it was short! :-) I wanted to tell you how much I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! Glad you had a nice stay! Visit us again soon...

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Convenient location to French quarter. Easy walk to bourbon street and restaurants and CVs pharmacy. Met expectations of a Hampton hotel. Nice hot breakfast. Even received free water and Snickers in the room. Comfy beds and pillows.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OmahaNETraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 13 July 2012
I just wanted to say thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to New Orleans. Hopefully you can come back and visit us once our renovations are complete.

Take care!
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

One short block from Canal St. and the French Quarter this hotel is a real find. It is in an old building that has been renovated into a hotel. Good breakfast and manager reception. I really enjoyed my stay there. Excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike60984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you visited New Orleans! I appreciate that you took the time to review us on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your business and hope you visit us again soon!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,389 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing