We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catahoula Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,095 results
Traveller rating
1,128
718
175
46
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,128
718
175
46
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarondelet streetgreat locationfrench quarterbourbon sttwo blocksthe breakfast areafree breakfastcorner roomvalet parkingrooms are hugehigh ceilingshistoric buildingbrick wallroom keywould stay here againvalet servicewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,947 - 1,952 of 2,095 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2008

The Hampton Inn Downtown New Orleans is an average urban Hampton Inn location. I don't mind staying there and could recommend it as a second level choice when other hotels are unavailable or two expensive.

The rooms are nice but a bit on the small side. However they are of decent quality and the staff works hard even in the face of Mardi Gras madness.

The location is good since the hotel is two blocks west of Canal Street and the French Quarter. So attractions are a quick walk, but you're not right in the heart of the madness.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dweebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

The reservations team was very gracious in helping me book for the Georgia Sugar Bowl game.

Parking/Valet was very courteous.

When we were checking in, our room was "not available" ? but the guy at the desk were really nice at helping check our baggage and giving directions/restaurant suggestions.

Maids did not service our room well, did not understand what I was saying and their manager seemed to be very upset with us still being in the room the next night (even though we had requested a late check-out timing)

The night auditor was also very helpful when we ran into a problem the first night there with maid service.

The girl who checked us out was very nice in calling us our cars.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CrazyDog5301976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Okay, here's the scoop: Yes, the rooms are small, yes, the rooms (many of them) not only have no view, but actually overlook a brick wall(this is NOT charming, as it would be in say, New York, or perhaps London - it is dark and annoying). However, to balance that out, the staff is very interested in doing what they can for you, and even more interesting (and appealing) is that they don't get defensive or bristle when doing so.
As another reviewer said, if you can score a corner room, you will have more space - as the standard rooms are diminutive by any definition.
Again, on the bright side, while not actually IN the French Quarter, the hotel is one block west of Canal, and Carondelet St. (the street the hotel is on) turns into Bourbon St after crossing Canal ... so can't get much closer. There is a Walgreen's two blocks away, and The Riverwalk Mall is only about six blocks ...near Harrah's casino.
Cloud: Valet parking costs nearly $27 a night. Silver lining: The valet is friendly, helpful and seems to be expedient.
The only other thing that might affect our decision to return (and this is not the fault of the hotel) is that the sidewalks are closed on alternating sides so that you MUST cross the street in the middle of the block to walk down to the French Quarter. In other words, as you turn right out of the hotel, the sidewalk is closed on the right hand side, so you walk on the left hand side, then a block down, it is closed on the left, so you must again cross mid-block to walk on the right. We had a toddler in a stroller with us, and that made getting to and from a bit of a challenge (there are street car tracks down the middle of the street - making a stroller a bit cumbersome).

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

This Hotel was comprabale to other Hampton Inns I have stayed in. The room was not huge, but was plenty big enough for 2. Nice bathroom, although not yet with the special shower heads that most other Hampton Inns have. Comfy bed as usual. The view was not good at all... a brick wall 3 feet from our window! But this did not really bother me, as we were not in the room that much. The staff are very accommadating, and I am sure that if you call ahead and request a view, it would not be a problem.

I got a good rate on the Hampton Inn website, but then found a lower one hidden away on another part of the site. When I called and asked if they could change my rate, it was done with no problem.

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is about 2 blocks from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter, and an easy walk to Jackson Square, the river front, the french market, and anything else you might want to see in that area. That means you have very easy access to the French Quarter without the nosie of late night revelry.

Overall, I had a good experience with this hotel. New Orleans is a great city and they need our help to rebuild. There was even a letter in the hotel room thanking us for rebuilding New Orleans "one hotel room at a time." I was happy to do my small part and would do it again. I have heard nightmares about security in the city, but I was out until around midnight a couple of evenings and there was a heavy police presence wherever I went. Just use common sense and you should be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank brooky224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

This Hampton is better than your average Hampton, with a decent free breakfast and happy hour on the 4th floor. The corner rooms are great, with tall windows and spacious living areas. The regular rooms can be a little small and all of them are a little raggedy in spots, but New Orleans has always been a little raggedy. Where this hotel truly shines is proximity to the French Quarter. The hotel is situated one block of Canal street at the top of what becomes Bourbon Street (Carondalet Street). Even if Bourbon Street is not your final destination, the hotel sits on the streetcar tracks leading uptown and is a block from the new line that runs up Canal to City Park. By no means is this the fanciest hotel, nor is it a hidden gem but the rates are typically good and it is above average for a Hampton.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews