We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a wonderful time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

This is a great Hampton Inn. If you are doing a lot of touring this is a great place to stay. Very close to Bourbon. Just cross Canal street and you are there. Would highly recommend Tours by Isabelle! VIP tours and the Haunted History tours of the St Louis cemetery 1. The Gumbo Shop--was a nice surprise (restaurant). We were pleased with our hotel room very clean! We would stay again!

  • Liked — Soft bed and complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Newburgh_IndianaRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    597
    139
    34
    22
See reviews for
400
595
74
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
albany, ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

Very helpful front desk staff. Extra towels brought right to the room upon request. Clean rooms , pretty decent size for New Orleans rooms. Fantastic location, bourbon is right across canal street so you are close to the fun , but dont have to hear it all night. Located on the St. Charles Streetcar line. Great place to stay, look forward to going back.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank ddurcs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

Good Location.
Nice rooms - I had the King Suite.
Stayed here for 5 nights. Easy walk to the quarter. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hortkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

Had a king deluxe room, was sufficient in size and cleanliness. Had a mini fridge and microwave in room, plenty of stations on cable. Hotel has good security. The free breakfast was adequate and a plus for saving $. We liked the location on Carondolet as it is two blocks off Canal and bourbon streets so it is quiet. The only thing we did not find easily was food in the evening within the blocks surrounding the hotel. We will stay there again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonBethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed at this hotel after a cruise. We have 3 kids ages 10, 11 and 14. Our room was large and was able to fit an extra cot without diffeculty. The bed were very comfortable and the room was clean. The am staff, was very helpful, one of the lady desk clerks mapped us out a great walking route thru the french quater down to cafe du monde to walk with our kids. Breakfast was good with several choices. Excellent location 2 blocks to the french quarter, but none of the noise. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank coachgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2008

The Hampton Inn Downtown New Orleans is an average urban Hampton Inn location. I don't mind staying there and could recommend it as a second level choice when other hotels are unavailable or two expensive.

The rooms are nice but a bit on the small side. However they are of decent quality and the staff works hard even in the face of Mardi Gras madness.

The location is good since the hotel is two blocks west of Canal Street and the French Quarter. So attractions are a quick walk, but you're not right in the heart of the madness.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dweebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

The reservations team was very gracious in helping me book for the Georgia Sugar Bowl game.

Parking/Valet was very courteous.

When we were checking in, our room was "not available" ? but the guy at the desk were really nice at helping check our baggage and giving directions/restaurant suggestions.

Maids did not service our room well, did not understand what I was saying and their manager seemed to be very upset with us still being in the room the next night (even though we had requested a late check-out timing)

The night auditor was also very helpful when we ran into a problem the first night there with maid service.

The girl who checked us out was very nice in calling us our cars.

  • Liked — Desk Clerks
  • Disliked — Maid Service
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyDog5301976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,810 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,868 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing