We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family vacation - New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sperryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family vacation - New Orleans”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I booked this hotel because of its location and I could not have been more pleased. It has easy streetcar access, which we did use on a rainy day to go to WWII museum, but we walked everywhere from the hotel - Bourbon Street and French Quarter, French Market, Armstrong Park and St. Louis cemetery and down to the Aquarium, Fulton Street, and the cruise ship ports. We are a family of three w/ a 14 year old son and really did not need to be right in the French Quarter overnight. The room was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: This is really not a hotel w/ "views". An interior room is at least quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    611
    139
    37
    23
See reviews for
409
609
74
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The reviews of this place are right on. It's a gem! Small lobby but the hotel has 14 floors. The location is awesome! Brother's convenience store is a block away and it has everything you need for eating, drinking, and snacking or in case you forgot anything. Take home some fried chicken!
Room was incredibly clean and looked like it may have just been remodeled. We had some noisy neighbors and had to call down to the front desk twice. Each time they immediately rectified the situation - even at 2:30 am.
Fitness room looked and smelled brand new. I've been to NOLA countless times and this hotel has slipped into my favorite!
I'm not sure why there are complaints over the breakfast. It was good, fast, and the staff was great at keeping the food coming. It's a free breakfast - what do you expect?

Room Tip: Our room faced a brick wall, but fine by me! I'd rather face the brick wall than have someone pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZ2JMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I was hesitant to stay in this hotel since it was right in the heart of the city. Before my husband walked in to ask for the rates I even suggested to go to a hotel outside the city. My husband said that he was just going to try it out and came back with a room key and telling me that was the place to stay. I loved the hotel as soon as I walked in. The people are friendly and we felt appreciated and valued. All our requests were met and all assistance (valet and luggage) was received and expedited in a fast manner. My husband and I are already planning our next visit and it has been established that we must stay there when we come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Staff and Location is amazing. Every year we attend Bayou Classic an the Hampton Inn is where we stay. Its within 5 minutes are less from canal & Bourbon; your surrounded by amazing people and several restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shanrika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Extremely comfortable room; bed is super-great! And, what a convenience to have the in-room refrigerater, microwave, safe and internet access. If being in the proximity of the French Quarter is important to you, this hotel fits the bill and the price is not NEARLY as great as the establishments within the Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerome B. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is in the perfect place. It's right at Bourbon Street but is situated so that you can sleep in peace away from the Bourbon Street noise. The new renovation and the very nice staff make your stay the best you will ever have in New Orleans. The hotel rooms have all been renovated with brand new furnishings. The complimentary breakfast buffet has so many great items. This is not a typical free buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Very clean and everyone was super friendly! Had a great king size room with sofa- there was plenty of room for my 11 month old to play. Not really great views but hey we didn't go to sit in our room! Valet parking is extra but worth it and streetcar stop is right there! Close to walk to everything- we walked to aquarium, French quarter, and st.louis #1! Will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,304 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,243 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,003 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing