We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #29 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and the staff was Great. The only thing it lacks is a restaurant and a lounge in the hotel. I would probably pick a different one next time for this reason. But it was very convenient. We walked everywhere and it was very close to the Superdome also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tommye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Because the hotel is 1.5 blocks from the main streets (Canal, Bourbon) it is quieter but still within walking distance of the action. There was a bit of noise from doors slamming late in the middle of the night, but that really had more to do with the guests than the hotel (Sugarbowl was going on). Hotel staff are very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is fantastic. Big breakfast room with plenty of seating. I love Hampton's and this one is great. Only disappointment was that it doesn't have a pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is the 2nd time staying at this hotel. It is close enough to walk to Bourbon St but far enough you don’t hear the noise. The staff was polite and helpful. Whenever we traveling I always stay at Hampton/Hilton's as I always know what to expect in cleanliness of these hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Wookie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We did a spur of the moment trip to New Orleans for Christmas break. I always try and stay in Hampton Inns and this was the best one I've been in. Staff friendly from the moment we valet parked the car (and helpful getting all our stuff out of the car). Room was HUGE thanks to the hotel being in a converted office building. Great location to walk to the French Quarter. The breakfast room was really big. We were there on a weekend and it was very busy but we were able to find seats. Always fresh cookies at the reception desk in the afternoon and hot tea/coffee/chocolate in the breakfast room (which is on the 4th floor). I really wanted to use the workout room which looked great but was tired from walking around I skipped it.

If we go back to New Orleans I would stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed 5 nights at Hampton Carondelet.Great location ,peaceful stay.Hotel is a part of a business center and includes coffee shops,restaurants open for limited time.The property is a walking distance to canal and bourbon,but certainly away from the noise.Street cars stops just outside the hotel.The property was getting remodelled,but it was not a nuisance.
Rooms were good.Neither too big or small.Just ok .We found it small for a 5 night stay with so much of things with us.The shower pressure was bad the day we arrived and we called up the front desk and it was rectified immediately.
Complimentary breakfast was good. The hotel made a couple of changes to the daily breakfast but we got bored with it for our long stay.Loved their robust coffee.I hope the waffle maker is managed by hotel staff rather than the guests messing it up .Elevators to all floors were accessible only with hampton key card,which I found it quite annoying if I had to go pick up coffee /tea anytime.Our room did not open out to any good view and it was not a problem since we were on leisure trip ,going out and retired to our room for sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our big room with two queen beds was in the corner. It was very nice and quiet and large! The room was clean, the bathroom was adequate and we had no issues. There was no view out the window unless you wanted to look at some large fans at ground level. Great location for Bourbon Street, the WWII museum and the Superdome.

The continental breakfast was typical of a Hampton inn. Pretty large area for the the breakfast room - it accommodated quite a few people.

Valet parking alone - we got a Stay and Park rate, so didn't worry about it. The valets were very nice and greeted us on the street when we arrived.

Room Tip: Our room (1113) was a corner room so we had windows on two sides. No view, but I still liked the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinrbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hotel was quite, the view was terrible (window face adjacent building), continental breakfast (items were not replenished as they ran out) and hot items were warm too cold at best. Staff was very accommodating, Parking is Valet only ($30) you may need to wait on your vehicle if checking out during morning rush, valet staff is under staffed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District – Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing