We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Property”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This property had been updated since I stayed there last, the room was very contemporary. I was upgraded to a Jr Suite and it was huge. The hotel is only a block and a half from the quarter. I think I may like this property better than the Hilton that is a little further from the quarter. The street the Hampton is on turns into Bourbon once you cross Canal. Staff was friendly. We got a great rate and is why we chose the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    646
    159
    39
    25
See reviews for
453
646
79
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, AZ, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We loved the hotel except for the two items I mentioned before. We just walked everywhere. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful. We had trouble with the internet but the host at the desk fixed our IPad right away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barry A. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahlequah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and the staff was Great. The only thing it lacks is a restaurant and a lounge in the hotel. I would probably pick a different one next time for this reason. But it was very convenient. We walked everywhere and it was very close to the Superdome also.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tommye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Because the hotel is 1.5 blocks from the main streets (Canal, Bourbon) it is quieter but still within walking distance of the action. There was a bit of noise from doors slamming late in the middle of the night, but that really had more to do with the guests than the hotel (Sugarbowl was going on). Hotel staff are very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is fantastic. Big breakfast room with plenty of seating. I love Hampton's and this one is great. Only disappointment was that it doesn't have a pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is the 2nd time staying at this hotel. It is close enough to walk to Bourbon St but far enough you don’t hear the noise. The staff was polite and helpful. Whenever we traveling I always stay at Hampton/Hilton's as I always know what to expect in cleanliness of these hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Wookie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We did a spur of the moment trip to New Orleans for Christmas break. I always try and stay in Hampton Inns and this was the best one I've been in. Staff friendly from the moment we valet parked the car (and helpful getting all our stuff out of the car). Room was HUGE thanks to the hotel being in a converted office building. Great location to walk to the French Quarter. The breakfast room was really big. We were there on a weekend and it was very busy but we were able to find seats. Always fresh cookies at the reception desk in the afternoon and hot tea/coffee/chocolate in the breakfast room (which is on the 4th floor). I really wanted to use the workout room which looked great but was tired from walking around I skipped it.

If we go back to New Orleans I would stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed 5 nights at Hampton Carondelet.Great location ,peaceful stay.Hotel is a part of a business center and includes coffee shops,restaurants open for limited time.The property is a walking distance to canal and bourbon,but certainly away from the noise.Street cars stops just outside the hotel.The property was getting remodelled,but it was not a nuisance.
Rooms were good.Neither too big or small.Just ok .We found it small for a 5 night stay with so much of things with us.The shower pressure was bad the day we arrived and we called up the front desk and it was rectified immediately.
Complimentary breakfast was good. The hotel made a couple of changes to the daily breakfast but we got bored with it for our long stay.Loved their robust coffee.I hope the waffle maker is managed by hotel staff rather than the guests messing it up .Elevators to all floors were accessible only with hampton key card,which I found it quite annoying if I had to go pick up coffee /tea anytime.Our room did not open out to any good view and it was not a problem since we were on leisure trip ,going out and retired to our room for sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,421 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing