We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #29 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

When you first arrive there is renovation going on and in the lobby area. The rooms and hallways have been renovated already and it was done beautifully. This was an awesome room, large, clean, fresh and everything appeared new,carpets and drapes. There are huge, floor to very high ceiling windows and drapes. They offer a Wednesday evening, which is when we happened to be there, managers reception, but hey, you are in NOLA, you are going out to dinner. They had an added security measure of having to use your room key to use the elevator, which was nice. The beds were comfortable and wifi worked great. The breakfast was the usual. The only parking option in valet for around $30 per day. Being in downtown in a city like New Orleans, we didn't hear a peep all night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This property had been updated since I stayed there last, the room was very contemporary. I was upgraded to a Jr Suite and it was huge. The hotel is only a block and a half from the quarter. I think I may like this property better than the Hilton that is a little further from the quarter. The street the Hampton is on turns into Bourbon once you cross Canal. Staff was friendly. We got a great rate and is why we chose the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DallasBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We loved the hotel except for the two items I mentioned before. We just walked everywhere. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful. We had trouble with the internet but the host at the desk fixed our IPad right away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barry A. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and the staff was Great. The only thing it lacks is a restaurant and a lounge in the hotel. I would probably pick a different one next time for this reason. But it was very convenient. We walked everywhere and it was very close to the Superdome also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tommye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Because the hotel is 1.5 blocks from the main streets (Canal, Bourbon) it is quieter but still within walking distance of the action. There was a bit of noise from doors slamming late in the middle of the night, but that really had more to do with the guests than the hotel (Sugarbowl was going on). Hotel staff are very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is fantastic. Big breakfast room with plenty of seating. I love Hampton's and this one is great. Only disappointment was that it doesn't have a pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is the 2nd time staying at this hotel. It is close enough to walk to Bourbon St but far enough you don’t hear the noise. The staff was polite and helpful. Whenever we traveling I always stay at Hampton/Hilton's as I always know what to expect in cleanliness of these hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Wookie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We did a spur of the moment trip to New Orleans for Christmas break. I always try and stay in Hampton Inns and this was the best one I've been in. Staff friendly from the moment we valet parked the car (and helpful getting all our stuff out of the car). Room was HUGE thanks to the hotel being in a converted office building. Great location to walk to the French Quarter. The breakfast room was really big. We were there on a weekend and it was very busy but we were able to find seats. Always fresh cookies at the reception desk in the afternoon and hot tea/coffee/chocolate in the breakfast room (which is on the 4th floor). I really wanted to use the workout room which looked great but was tired from walking around I skipped it.

If we go back to New Orleans I would stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District – Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,625 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing