We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a must stay if you are in New Orleans. The staff and service is wonderful! The staff is excellent, rooms are like being at home, and breakfast is great. I would recommend this hotel while in New Orleans. The hotel is located near convention center and two minute walking distance to Bourben Street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Room was very nice, zero view but that was fine.. front desk and lobby area were bad, valet was slow and not friendly. Location however was great. We just walked down to Bourbon with no problem. Expect to valet cause they sure aren't helping with explaining other parking options to you. If you can look beyond the construction and lack of employees there helping you.. then you will like it cause the rooms are nice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank MeredithR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Thanks Hampton Inn for a great stay..you were under reno's, but your service and friendly welcome made up for that. Our room was so spacious and lovely...enjoyed it very much..great way to get to know New Orleans..thanks again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel lobby has elevator security. Room was comfortable an spacious. Complimentary breakfast wa awesome! I appreciated the business center to print my boarding pass for my return flight. Oh, and hotel is centrally located for walking to sites and entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay in this hotel and it was worlds better than another hotel in New Orleans I'd stayed at previously. The rooms here are very spacious and modern, extremely clean, and it is a refreshing place to come back to after a long days' work.

The front desk staff is knowledgeable and very polite, and the valet personnel are very professional. The hotel is in a good location; there are several restaurants and a few fast food places within a few feet from the hotel, so you don't have to walk far at all to get a bite to eat.

You CAN walk, though, if you want, since Canal Street and Bourbon Street are just a couple of blocks away. It's nice that this hotel is tucked away on a secondary street; not extremely busy like Canal, but not eerily quiet, either. As a female traveling alone, knowing I'm not staying in an alleyway and having restaurants/shops nearby are very important to me.

There is currently some minor construction going on in the hotel lobby, and the area in front of the elevators needs to be updated, but overall this is a gem of a hotel. Excellent place to stay, and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pammommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn, New Orleans on Carondelet St. during a quick work trip. It was the most affordable hotel in the area.

The building the hotel is in is a historic building and even though I arrived on Sunday, there was construction in the lobby. This was not an issue, just surprising.

Check-in was quick and easy. All of the desk clerks I met during the stay were friendly and knowledgable, offering restaurant directions and directions that were spot on. The hotel is secure: you need to use your key to activate the elevator. I like this in a hotel.

The room was fantastic. Very high ceilings, a lot of free floor space, large clean bathroom with plenty of shelf space, very comfortable bed, big desk, microwave, refridgerator, and even a safe. I was lucky and received a corner room and was able to get a lot of sunlight into the room.

The internet was easy to connect to and very fast. The fitness center was great, especially for a Hampton. It has dumbells to fifty pounds, a lot of machines, etc.

I do not care for Hampton breakfasts but this one was above average. Fresh fruit and fruit salad, and a few other healthy items were available.

This hotel was a good $50 less expensive than the others I was considering in the area, and therefore was a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fenwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The room was much bigger than I anticipated and ended up being a better value than the conference hotel I was going to for my meetings. Not thrilled that there was construction in the lobby during our stay, just an eye sore.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £97 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing