We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
somers, United States
1 review
“Went for Conference”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was my first time staying at a Hampton Inn. I had to go to New Orleans for a business conference. I was happy with the room, service (when needed) and the FREE continental breakfast! That was a nice perk of staying there. The room was clean and I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    628
    152
    39
    24
See reviews for
432
632
76
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
367 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This property was built out of an old building the rooms are great. My room was a junior suite with ample room to strectch out. The room are clean the beds are up to date and modern. Breakfast is more than good here, and the location is hard to beat. This property is 2 blocks from Canal St. and runs directly into Bourbon St. Well worth the visit for any reason to be in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECU1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I'm always pleased with Hampton Inn properties. This was our first stay at this location. The kids were disappointed that there was not a pool. Overall the room was clean and the staff was courtesous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank lessleyf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Whenever I travel, I always try to stay with Hampton inn, it's consistently clean, and staff is great! Nola can be tricky, staying in the busy CBD, and I have had some 4-5 star hotels that weren't so great. This place was comfortable, clean, and the staff is amazing! I also had windows all around the room, and could see the city and loved it! At night I closed these curtains and it was dark, quiet, cozy. Will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 654heathera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort worth, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you are in town on business, this is the best place to stay - clean and in a great location at an affordable price. The staff was excellent. They made sure I could find my appointment and helped with items I had forgot to bring on the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I just had 16 people stay at this hotel (I own a travel agency) before & after our cruise. The staff, location, rooms, breakfast - everything was great. Being within a few blocks of Canal & Bourbon was perfect.

Check in was seemless. Staff was professional. Rooms were great - large, with microwave & minifridge. A small area with a few food items to purchase to snack on in the room was great for the kids (microwave popcorn, mini frozen pizza, etc). The hotel is sort of wedged in the middle of the block, so I didnt have any "view" other than a building next to us. If people want a view, this is NOT the place.

The free breakfast in the morning had plenty of choices & the restaurant area was clean with many tables for guests.

The location is walkable to Walgreens & CVS for any last minute purchases or forgotten items ... as well as being walkable to Bourbon Street for nightlife.

For those who want an inexpensive French Quarter alternative with no expections of seeing anything out their window ... great place.

The only downside was the taxi rates we incurred from the airport to hotel ($56 for family of 4), then $28 from hotel to the cruise ship and another $56 from the ship back to the airport. We spent more than $150 with tips on taxis. I would suggest finding a transfer company that might be less ??

The trip was great - service awesome - HIGHLY HIGHLY suggest this place for a New Orleans trip - especially for families with kids who dont want to be in the middle of Bourbon-Street-craziness but close enough to check it out.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 14th Floor and had 2 queen beds with a sofa sleeper. Great for larger families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank domenvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

For the price paid this was a very good, even excellent, deal. But do not fool yourself, this is an average hotel with caring staff located two blocks ( a bit rundown 2 blocks) from the French quarter. My first room was pretty small, had very loud & clanking air conditioning with a TV that pixilated- they did switch us to a bigger room and made sure all was in working order. George the mechanical engineer was wonderful!
Little things throughout our stay did concern us- like the elevators that would silently appear without any advanced sound (bell was muted?) and then would close the doors very strongly. Not sure our room was fully cleaned since the cereal bowl was still by the sink with leftover milk in it... Maybe they thought we were saving it?
The hotel was full so they must be doing enough right, the rate was a good one but we will probably look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
676 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing