We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Schaumburg IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hampton Inn was a pleasant surprise and great value for the French Quarter. Room was very spacious. Free breakfast was well worth getting up for. Staff was very friendly and informative. Great location.

Room Tip: Walking distance to French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary659497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    620
    147
    38
    24
See reviews for
416
623
76
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We hade a one night post cruise stay in this hotel. We arrived very early (8AM) and were pleasantly surprised when we could go to our room straight away. Another surprise was the size of the room: it was very large, at least 20 by 20 feet (7 x 7 meter).

The location in the city is excellent, just one block away from Canal Street and the French Quarter. The streetcar and bus stops are just down the road, as is a CVS pharmacy.

Staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPKraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Check in was easy, location was very good. Desk staff we very nice and answered all questions. Breakfast was adaquate and well prepared. The room we had was very large and quiet. the one real negative was the maid service which were not responsive in cleaning our room. At 4:00 pm our room had not been cleaned so we requested maid service when she came up she had an attitude I thanked her three times and she ignored me. This is a budget hotel and we received what we expected.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bigvic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I must first say that I have traveled to many cities both in and out of the US so I have a lot of experiences with hotels. That being said, I honestly believe this hampton inn was the best hotel experience I've ever had. I was hesitant about booking this hotel chain but I am so glad I did. As soon as I arrived, they hooked me up with one of their suites, which was just fabulous. The front desk staff was super helpful and kind. Anytime we needed anything they were excellent. The breakfast provided is better than I expected. The location is amazing. 2 blocks over, carondelet turns into bourbon street after canal st. Doesn't get any better for the price. So you definitely don't need a car when you stay here for your visit. It's a 10-15 walk to Jackson square, the heart of the French quarter. But I liked that it wasn't IN the quarter BC it's quiet and comfortable yet still close to everything. The bell staff is phenomenal and will help you get a cab or hold your luggage while you check out. Also, the lobby is super nice and clean. The room itself was also very clean. Bed was perfectly comfortable, bathroom was nice and all other amenities were perfect. Even the little details like an adequate amount of electrical outlets and everything flowing in the room. Totally over exceeded my expectations and I will absolutely recommend it and return one day!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Efficient and cheerful service throughout our stay. Only complain was doorman getting us cab to airport. All other service was immediate and competent. I would recommend this hotel without question and will definately use it when I return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank buzzieb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

...is a great place to stay. One block off Canal Street, this Hampton Inn is close enough to the Quarter to be able to walk there in five minutes, yet far enough away to be out of the noise and the smell of beer. Plus, it's only about a 10 minute walk to the Mercedes Benz Superdome. The staff was helpful, accommodating, and friendly. Breakfast is okay -- and includes REAL oatmeal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

the hotel was great, in a great location. the only downfall was that we had a big party (22 people) and there was not enough staff to get us checked in on a timely basis The staff was great and very freindly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing