We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn saves the day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was scheduled at the Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel on May 29. Hotel is in mid-renovation. The entire lobby is a hole in the building. The door is difficult to find. When I was set to check, the desk clerk, who was behind a table in a room off where the lobby will be, told me that the water in the hotel was off, but would be on at 5PM that day. This sounded unpromising. She assured me that my prepaid reservation would be refunded if I wished, which I did. When Southwest Airlines, where I booked the room, called to confirm, the desk clerk honored the cancellation.

Went across Carondelet Street, where the hotel is located, to a Hampton Inn. Bright and new lobby, then surprise--cheaper rate!--this is without a reservation, just walking up to the desk and asking, this with free breakfast and Internet access. So hats off to the Hampton for saving my stay from disaster, and good luck to the Cotton Exchange...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here on our first trip to New Orleans. We were close to the French Quarter with just a short walk to lots of things. The trolley stops right outside so for 3 dollars a day you can get everywhere in the city. Prices were good and the service was great. We stayed in a room with a view of a building about 3 feet from our window. We were ok with this as we spent very little time in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you don't want to be looking at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skytate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

With the exception of a scant lobby, this hotel exceeded our expectations. They told us of their 100% guarantee and they made good on it without us asking. What a pleasant surprise. Although not technically in the French Quarter, it is so close to not matter. A block from the St Charles streetcar stop, and walking distance to everything else it's is convenient to all things New Orleans. Our room was nicely appointed and quiet. Breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare and crowded but it's New Orleans so skip it and treat yourself to some truly fabulous food at one of the many close by restaurants, I particularly enjoyed the Mother's Restaurant breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerNYC-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was concerned that this hotel was not in the French Quarter. However, that was a non problem. it is only 11/2 short blocks from Bourbon St. The Street cars pass just by the door. I suggest that visitors buy a day pass ( only $3.00 per person). This allows you to get on and off any street car line at your leisure. You buy them from your car driver. Great buy for lots of fun..
The breakfast was perfect with hot and cold foods.
The staff was very nice and helpful in arranging tours.
They do have only valet parking. It is about $29.00 per day. A bit expensive but probably, competitive.

Room Tip: The mini suites are worth the difference. Very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjmsuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hampton Inn was a pleasant surprise and great value for the French Quarter. Room was very spacious. Free breakfast was well worth getting up for. Staff was very friendly and informative. Great location.

Room Tip: Walking distance to French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary659497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We hade a one night post cruise stay in this hotel. We arrived very early (8AM) and were pleasantly surprised when we could go to our room straight away. Another surprise was the size of the room: it was very large, at least 20 by 20 feet (7 x 7 meter).

The location in the city is excellent, just one block away from Canal Street and the French Quarter. The streetcar and bus stops are just down the road, as is a CVS pharmacy.

Staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPKraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Check in was easy, location was very good. Desk staff we very nice and answered all questions. Breakfast was adaquate and well prepared. The room we had was very large and quiet. the one real negative was the maid service which were not responsive in cleaning our room. At 4:00 pm our room had not been cleaned so we requested maid service when she came up she had an attitude I thanked her three times and she ignored me. This is a budget hotel and we received what we expected.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bigvic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,580 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £96 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing